We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in San Diego!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #80 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay in San Diego!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very impressed with our recent stay at the Bayside Inn. We had requested a room on a high floor, and from our 11th floor room we had a beautiful view of the Star of India ship in San Diego bay. Our balcony room was very clean, and included a microwave and refrigerator. The only thing we could have wished for was a nice comfortable chair; there was plenty of room. The hotel was quiet and within walking distance of most of the sights in San Diego. We walked the two blocks to Little Italy for dinner. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. We will definitely stay at this property again!

Room Tip: Opt for the bayside rooms; they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    383
    105
    19
    14
See reviews for
168
304
49
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here as part of a UK organised Tour Group for 2 nights in May 2013 but I doubt if we were given much preferential treatment because it was good anyway. As a group we were given a pleasant afternoon tea upon arrival while they sorted the registration with our Tour Guide and also putting the luggage in our rooms. Splendid. The bedrooms were nice with a balcony, comfortable beds, nice bathroom with all the complimentaries one would expect. Cleaning during the following day was good. We were not disturbed by traffic or other guests. Breakfasts were substantial with a good choice, so if you stayed several days you would not be bored, Yes, with tour groups there is often a bulge in dining rooms etc but then you get that anywhere. A free guest computer in the hall was welcome compared to what we found elsewhere. All staff very friendly and willing to assist. I would stay here again. It was the standard by which we judged the other hotels in California/Arizona/Utah.

Room Tip: Mention any special needs when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We arrrived before check in as was told our room was not ready, even though i had informed them before we would be arriving early. We are also reward members and never had this problem before.
Our room was clean, comfortable and big apart from the slamming of other guests doors throughout the night, and a bit of road noise, maybe we were just unlucky with the noisy guests. The room had a fridge which was handy and a microwave and coffee maker. WIFI worked well.

The location is great a few minutes walk into Little Italy one way and a few minutes more in the other direction to the habour. The Santa Fe station it is just down the road on the way to the harbour. We did not have a car so we made use of public transport it was easy to get around.

As for breakfast we must have been unlucky as the first day hot water and T bags had run out, although the staff were quick to replace the food if it run out, other days there were no knives, milk, and again hot water. As i dont drink coffee, tea is my only other option. Apart from that the breakfast was ok, we have had better but it did the job to set us up for sightseeing.

The hotel does have a pool which is behind the reception area, not sure if any one uses it as we never saw anyone in it.
We used the laundry service which was good you got it back the same day. The cleaning staff were always cheerful and said hello, reception staff were friendly.
I would recommend this hotel for the location,this is why i have given it 4, as i said before maybe we were just unlucky with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived here after an 11hr flight, and then a 2 hr drive from LA. It was a relief to find that a) the parking was SO easy and convenient - and b) the check-in was easy, friendly, and quick.
The room (9th floor) was easily accessible by the elevators (2) and was comfortable and a good size. There WAS a damp patch on the carpet, but this had dried by the next day - so I'm presuming that this was an unfortunate leak - and not a regular feature!
Why we would stay here again...
1- Location. Only a five minute walk from the harbor front. We had a 'bay view' room, and you could just about see the water - but considering the price of a 'full view' hotel, we were happy with that! Also only a five minute walk to Santa Fe tram station.
2 - Nearby amenities. Five minute walk to harbor front sites. Twenty minute walk to USS Midway.
7-11 store a block away. NICE Italian restaurant ("Petrini's") literally over the road.
3 - Parking. EXCELLENT.
4 - Hotel appearance was really nice, with plenty of newspapers in lobby, along with nice meeting area sofas.
5 - The swimming pool looked well maintained - but as it was raining, we didn't try it out!
6 - The room had a SAFE. WooHoo! A REAL plus for us!
7 - The balcony was a really nice 'plus' for us. We left the doors open all night, and listened to the 'ting-ting' sound of the tram bell. Very comforting - if you don't mind a little bit of ambient city noise (which we really like).
8 - The Breakfast. This was a really nice surprise! For the price, we didn't have high expectations, but were totally blown away by the range of hot and cold items on offer. Even miso and rice for their Asian customers. Don't skip this. It will set you up for the day.

The only downside we encountered was a faulty hairdryer, which 'rattled'. As we were only there for the two nights, we didn't complain, but informed the receptionist on check-out. The receptionist was very apologetic, wrote an official 'repair' notice, and checked us out as quickly and efficiently as she had checked us in. All with a smile :)
All in all - this was good value for money, and would not hesitate to stay here again, or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After my last stay in a Best Western PLUS, I was ready to kick the entire chain to the curb. However this hotel gets it right, and should be used as the standard for all Best Western PLUS hotels.

For an older property I had zero complaints. Location was great. The renovated room was spotless. The bathroom was in perfect working order and even the grout and caulking in the shower looked like it was just installed. Clean. I wanted to take the mattress with me it was so comfortable.

Bayside view room was great. Complete with balcony, the oversized patio doors give you a great view of the harbour. Which you can open and use the balcony.

Easy parking and just blocks from the Gaslamp district and a short walk to Little Italy. And of course the harbour.

Last note was the free breakfest. Perfect. Clean restaurant room. Great hot and cold choices.

I guess you can tell I was happy with my stay!

Room Tip: Get a bayside room with a view of the harbour. We had three rooms on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A group of us flew down to San Diego to pick up a Coastal cruise. We chose the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn after reading the previous reviews. We certainly agree with all the comments so I have posted just to collaborate that you will not be disappointed in this hotel. Yes, the decor is very standart but it is very clean and comfortable. We asked for rooms that were quieter which are on the city view side and we had no problems with noise even though we were on floor 6. Staff was very friendly and check in was fast and efficient. The complimentary shuttle from airport to hotel and hotel to cruise terminal is a huge bonus as was the complimentary breakfast. Good value for the money. Even though we only stayed one night we can see that it would be a good place to stay for a few days as it is very central. Within walking distance of the waterfront, Little Italy, downtown and there is a Rite-Aid just a block or so away for any last minute things you may have forgotten to pack. Definitely will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city are quieter however the water view is prettier if you don't mind the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very pleased with my recent stay at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn in San Diego, CA. Beds, furnishings, bathroom, and 40" flat panel television all seemed to be recently updated. Comfortable bed and nice hot breakfast at the adjoining restaurant with large assortment of hot items. Minutes away from San Diego Harbor Bay attractions including cruise ship terminal, USS Midway aircraft carrier, "Little Italy", etc. Overall good value for nice, clean room in the heart of downtown San Diego

Room Tip: "City View" side will save you a couple bucks in the price rate. 14th floor (top floor) w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.