We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but hotel a bit noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #67 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location but hotel a bit noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We arrrived before check in as was told our room was not ready, even though i had informed them before we would be arriving early. We are also reward members and never had this problem before.
Our room was clean, comfortable and big apart from the slamming of other guests doors throughout the night, and a bit of road noise, maybe we were just unlucky with the noisy guests. The room had a fridge which was handy and a microwave and coffee maker. WIFI worked well.

The location is great a few minutes walk into Little Italy one way and a few minutes more in the other direction to the habour. The Santa Fe station it is just down the road on the way to the harbour. We did not have a car so we made use of public transport it was easy to get around.

As for breakfast we must have been unlucky as the first day hot water and T bags had run out, although the staff were quick to replace the food if it run out, other days there were no knives, milk, and again hot water. As i dont drink coffee, tea is my only other option. Apart from that the breakfast was ok, we have had better but it did the job to set us up for sightseeing.

The hotel does have a pool which is behind the reception area, not sure if any one uses it as we never saw anyone in it.
We used the laundry service which was good you got it back the same day. The cleaning staff were always cheerful and said hello, reception staff were friendly.
I would recommend this hotel for the location,this is why i have given it 4, as i said before maybe we were just unlucky with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    328
    85
    16
    13
See reviews for
138
257
40
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived here after an 11hr flight, and then a 2 hr drive from LA. It was a relief to find that a) the parking was SO easy and convenient - and b) the check-in was easy, friendly, and quick.
The room (9th floor) was easily accessible by the elevators (2) and was comfortable and a good size. There WAS a damp patch on the carpet, but this had dried by the next day - so I'm presuming that this was an unfortunate leak - and not a regular feature!
Why we would stay here again...
1- Location. Only a five minute walk from the harbor front. We had a 'bay view' room, and you could just about see the water - but considering the price of a 'full view' hotel, we were happy with that! Also only a five minute walk to Santa Fe tram station.
2 - Nearby amenities. Five minute walk to harbor front sites. Twenty minute walk to USS Midway.
7-11 store a block away. NICE Italian restaurant ("Petrini's") literally over the road.
3 - Parking. EXCELLENT.
4 - Hotel appearance was really nice, with plenty of newspapers in lobby, along with nice meeting area sofas.
5 - The swimming pool looked well maintained - but as it was raining, we didn't try it out!
6 - The room had a SAFE. WooHoo! A REAL plus for us!
7 - The balcony was a really nice 'plus' for us. We left the doors open all night, and listened to the 'ting-ting' sound of the tram bell. Very comforting - if you don't mind a little bit of ambient city noise (which we really like).
8 - The Breakfast. This was a really nice surprise! For the price, we didn't have high expectations, but were totally blown away by the range of hot and cold items on offer. Even miso and rice for their Asian customers. Don't skip this. It will set you up for the day.

The only downside we encountered was a faulty hairdryer, which 'rattled'. As we were only there for the two nights, we didn't complain, but informed the receptionist on check-out. The receptionist was very apologetic, wrote an official 'repair' notice, and checked us out as quickly and efficiently as she had checked us in. All with a smile :)
All in all - this was good value for money, and would not hesitate to stay here again, or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After my last stay in a Best Western PLUS, I was ready to kick the entire chain to the curb. However this hotel gets it right, and should be used as the standard for all Best Western PLUS hotels.

For an older property I had zero complaints. Location was great. The renovated room was spotless. The bathroom was in perfect working order and even the grout and caulking in the shower looked like it was just installed. Clean. I wanted to take the mattress with me it was so comfortable.

Bayside view room was great. Complete with balcony, the oversized patio doors give you a great view of the harbour. Which you can open and use the balcony.

Easy parking and just blocks from the Gaslamp district and a short walk to Little Italy. And of course the harbour.

Last note was the free breakfest. Perfect. Clean restaurant room. Great hot and cold choices.

I guess you can tell I was happy with my stay!

Room Tip: Get a bayside room with a view of the harbour. We had three rooms on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A group of us flew down to San Diego to pick up a Coastal cruise. We chose the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn after reading the previous reviews. We certainly agree with all the comments so I have posted just to collaborate that you will not be disappointed in this hotel. Yes, the decor is very standart but it is very clean and comfortable. We asked for rooms that were quieter which are on the city view side and we had no problems with noise even though we were on floor 6. Staff was very friendly and check in was fast and efficient. The complimentary shuttle from airport to hotel and hotel to cruise terminal is a huge bonus as was the complimentary breakfast. Good value for the money. Even though we only stayed one night we can see that it would be a good place to stay for a few days as it is very central. Within walking distance of the waterfront, Little Italy, downtown and there is a Rite-Aid just a block or so away for any last minute things you may have forgotten to pack. Definitely will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city are quieter however the water view is prettier if you don't mind the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very pleased with my recent stay at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn in San Diego, CA. Beds, furnishings, bathroom, and 40" flat panel television all seemed to be recently updated. Comfortable bed and nice hot breakfast at the adjoining restaurant with large assortment of hot items. Minutes away from San Diego Harbor Bay attractions including cruise ship terminal, USS Midway aircraft carrier, "Little Italy", etc. Overall good value for nice, clean room in the heart of downtown San Diego

Room Tip: "City View" side will save you a couple bucks in the price rate. 14th floor (top floor) w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

You can't beat the location of this Best Western. Quick cab ride from the airport or from/to the cruise port. There is a shuttle service which we used from the hotel to the airport for a 7:30am departure. Shuttle arrived on-time and driver was super friendly and helpful even at that early hour.

We did not use the shuttle from the airport to the hotel. Unfortunately, we did not realise until we had walked over the pedestrian walkway from the airport terminal to the shuttle stop that the courtesy 'phones were back in the terminal. So, after waiting a short while, we decided to just grab a cab - the cabs line up directly across from the shuttle bus stopping area.

Check-in was friendly and efficient and even though we had arrived mid morning, the gal was only too pleased to provide us with a room that was ready along with a discount voucher for the restaurant next door and a free breakfast coupon.

Reception has lots of seating available and there is a computer with printer available for free use either to do your airport check-in or surf the web.

Room was lovely. Chest of drawers, tv, coffee maker, fridge and microwave, a couple of chairs and office desk and very comfortable bed. Loved the q-tips and cotton buds in the bathroom along with other standard items.

Service by everyone was wonderful. Super friendly staff, room attendants and maintenance guys too. The free-Wifi connection was excellent both in the room, on it's balcony and down by the pool.

The pool, though small was very clean, lots of towels were available and has chairs, umbrellas, loungers and tables as well as a soda and beer/wine dispenser.

As mentioned, the location is perfect. It is easy to walk to the waterfront and there are plenty of shops, restaurants bars and cafes etc. in and around the hotel. The attached restaurant where the free breakfast (we didn't take the breakfast on this occasion) is served, provides excellent service a menu with lots of choices and the food was excellent and in very large portions!

The wakeup call we had scheduled and the shuttle we arranged for an early morning departure were on-time and checkout was fast and friendly.

Definitely would stay here again for a pre/post cruise or airport stopover and it would be okay for a longer stay too.

Room Tip: Remember to use the courtesy phones in the airport terminal for the shuttle as there are none where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great location – close to Little Italy, Gaslamp and the pier.
They have airport and cruise shuttle services, great for cruisers.
Staffs at the Best Western were very friendly and helpful, we would not hesitate to recommend our family and friends to stay there while in San Diego. Good hot breakfast included - a bonus.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the pier. Did not even paid the extra $ for the view of the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.