We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Best Western gets it right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #64 of 269 hotels in San Diego
London, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“This Best Western gets it right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After my last stay in a Best Western PLUS, I was ready to kick the entire chain to the curb. However this hotel gets it right, and should be used as the standard for all Best Western PLUS hotels.

For an older property I had zero complaints. Location was great. The renovated room was spotless. The bathroom was in perfect working order and even the grout and caulking in the shower looked like it was just installed. Clean. I wanted to take the mattress with me it was so comfortable.

Bayside view room was great. Complete with balcony, the oversized patio doors give you a great view of the harbour. Which you can open and use the balcony.

Easy parking and just blocks from the Gaslamp district and a short walk to Little Italy. And of course the harbour.

Last note was the free breakfest. Perfect. Clean restaurant room. Great hot and cold choices.

I guess you can tell I was happy with my stay!

Room Tip: Get a bayside room with a view of the harbour. We had three rooms on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    322
    84
    15
    13
See reviews for
134
255
39
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A group of us flew down to San Diego to pick up a Coastal cruise. We chose the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn after reading the previous reviews. We certainly agree with all the comments so I have posted just to collaborate that you will not be disappointed in this hotel. Yes, the decor is very standart but it is very clean and comfortable. We asked for rooms that were quieter which are on the city view side and we had no problems with noise even though we were on floor 6. Staff was very friendly and check in was fast and efficient. The complimentary shuttle from airport to hotel and hotel to cruise terminal is a huge bonus as was the complimentary breakfast. Good value for the money. Even though we only stayed one night we can see that it would be a good place to stay for a few days as it is very central. Within walking distance of the waterfront, Little Italy, downtown and there is a Rite-Aid just a block or so away for any last minute things you may have forgotten to pack. Definitely will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city are quieter however the water view is prettier if you don't mind the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very pleased with my recent stay at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn in San Diego, CA. Beds, furnishings, bathroom, and 40" flat panel television all seemed to be recently updated. Comfortable bed and nice hot breakfast at the adjoining restaurant with large assortment of hot items. Minutes away from San Diego Harbor Bay attractions including cruise ship terminal, USS Midway aircraft carrier, "Little Italy", etc. Overall good value for nice, clean room in the heart of downtown San Diego

Room Tip: "City View" side will save you a couple bucks in the price rate. 14th floor (top floor) w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

You can't beat the location of this Best Western. Quick cab ride from the airport or from/to the cruise port. There is a shuttle service which we used from the hotel to the airport for a 7:30am departure. Shuttle arrived on-time and driver was super friendly and helpful even at that early hour.

We did not use the shuttle from the airport to the hotel. Unfortunately, we did not realise until we had walked over the pedestrian walkway from the airport terminal to the shuttle stop that the courtesy 'phones were back in the terminal. So, after waiting a short while, we decided to just grab a cab - the cabs line up directly across from the shuttle bus stopping area.

Check-in was friendly and efficient and even though we had arrived mid morning, the gal was only too pleased to provide us with a room that was ready along with a discount voucher for the restaurant next door and a free breakfast coupon.

Reception has lots of seating available and there is a computer with printer available for free use either to do your airport check-in or surf the web.

Room was lovely. Chest of drawers, tv, coffee maker, fridge and microwave, a couple of chairs and office desk and very comfortable bed. Loved the q-tips and cotton buds in the bathroom along with other standard items.

Service by everyone was wonderful. Super friendly staff, room attendants and maintenance guys too. The free-Wifi connection was excellent both in the room, on it's balcony and down by the pool.

The pool, though small was very clean, lots of towels were available and has chairs, umbrellas, loungers and tables as well as a soda and beer/wine dispenser.

As mentioned, the location is perfect. It is easy to walk to the waterfront and there are plenty of shops, restaurants bars and cafes etc. in and around the hotel. The attached restaurant where the free breakfast (we didn't take the breakfast on this occasion) is served, provides excellent service a menu with lots of choices and the food was excellent and in very large portions!

The wakeup call we had scheduled and the shuttle we arranged for an early morning departure were on-time and checkout was fast and friendly.

Definitely would stay here again for a pre/post cruise or airport stopover and it would be okay for a longer stay too.

Room Tip: Remember to use the courtesy phones in the airport terminal for the shuttle as there are none where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great location – close to Little Italy, Gaslamp and the pier.
They have airport and cruise shuttle services, great for cruisers.
Staffs at the Best Western were very friendly and helpful, we would not hesitate to recommend our family and friends to stay there while in San Diego. Good hot breakfast included - a bonus.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the pier. Did not even paid the extra $ for the view of the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Point, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was a terrific value since it includes a well-run hot breakfast buffet and quick pickup/dropoff at the airport or cruise terminal. We walked the few blocks down to board the sightseeing trolley (tickets available at the hotel's front desk or down on the waterfront at a booth) to have an overview of the city.

Just across the street, Little Italy begins, so there are lots of restaurant choices within walking distance. We also ate one night at the hotel's restaurant and it was fine.

We liked this place so much2 nights pre-cruise that we cancelled our post-cruise hotel and booked here instead for a night. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and modern, there's a computer just off the lobby where you can printer your boarding passes. All in all, this place does everything right at a fair price.

Room Tip: Join the frequent traveler program for the hotel chain. We showed the card and were given a room imm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days while exploring the area. Good location, walking distance to the waterfront attractions, Amtrack station and the city proper. It is more of a business hotel than a family-friendly hotel, rooms are clean and neat and just functional.

The self-serve breakfast was typical business-like, with only a few hot choices, plus make your own toast, porridge and awful coffee.

Great thing was the free shuttle to the airport.

Room Tip: Always take a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Business Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown San Diego, at the south end of the Little Italy the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is a convenient location for leisure or business travel. We have 122 rooms, all with Balconies and many with views of the San Diego Big Bay or Downtown Skyline. Amenities include a Restaurant serving complimentary breakfast daily and dinner Monday thru Friday. Our Lounge is open daily, Monday to Friday from 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Room Service is available. We have an outdoor heated pook and whirlpool, FREE WI-FI in rooms, pool area, lobby and restaurant for you to stay connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.