We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful friendly hotel with great service in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Club Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking!
Ranked #57 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Yuma A
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful friendly hotel with great service in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed at the Bay Club Hotel and Marina for four nights, using it as a base to explore San Diego and relax. Our room was beautiful - thanks, Tim - and the entire hotel was clean and comfortable. The hot breakfast (complimentary) was great, and much appreciated, and we also had a lunch and a dinner in the restaurant, which were very good. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
We found the location very convenient to get to, as we were arriving in San Diego on I-8, and also very convenient for downtown, the beaches, and Balboa Park. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    361
    102
    37
    18
See reviews for
321
472
31
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

My wife & I have stayed at this hotel on three seperate occasions and each time our experience has been wonderful. The hotel is situated on Shelter Island, close to the airport and Old Town, with a wonderful view of San Diego Bay and the Marina. However, the truly remarkable feature of this hotel is the 4 star service. The staff could not be more attentive to your needs. The food in the restuarant is very good. We would highly recommend this hotel to any visitors to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel was better than i expected. Great room, great price, great free breakfasr, great service, great location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Everything said in previous reviews is true. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The free breakfast is varied and quite good. The restaurant also serves a limited lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. Most rooms have wide windows/patios facing either San Diego Bay with its busy activity or the marina with lots of pretty sail boats. However, they have a few rooms with small patios & windows with oblique views of the bay. If you really want a good view of the bay or marina from the window, please be sure to request it. The promenade in front of the hotel along the bay is a great way to get exercise and enjoy yourself. The hotel is very well maintained and a delightful find.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We were visiting San Diego for 3 days and wanted a nice hotel centrally located with a bay view. The Bay Club did not dissapoint. Large room with a marina view that was nicely appointed. Free wi-fi, a large flat screen tv, cable with HBO, table & chairs and a desk. We chose the marina view for a little more and it was worth it. Parking in a covered garage for $5/ day (cheap for the downtown area). The breakfast buffet was a nice addition. All the staff were excellant and helpful. We ate one night in the restaurant, food and service were very good with reasonable prices. Public park on the bay side for nice walks. Would visit again when in San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Check in and check out was quick, efficent, friendly.
Room was nice size, clean, nicely decorated, great view of bay and dock.
Food and drinks at bar and restaurant were very good.
Breakfast was excellent.
All personnel were very nice and friendly.
We had a great time and will do it again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

This trip was with my wife and two sons, age 8 and 3. Our original room face the parking lot with a diagonal view of the bay. They were very accomodating in moving us to both a marina view and a room close to the main elevator (since I knew several nights I would be carrying at least one of the boys in).
The room was a good size with thwo queen beds, bathroom with tub, sink and mirror separate, a refrigerator (we did not request it...I don't know if every room has one), and a flat screen television. There was free wifi, too.
The complementary breakfast was a wonderful surprise. In addition to the the continental basics, there was a hot line. The hot food changed from day to day, but there was always a potatoe dish (home fries or hash browns), a meat dish (bacon, sauage, corned beef hash), two egg dishes (always a plain scrambled egg and another), and a bread dish like pancakes or french toast.
The staff was very nice, but we had little cause to interact with them as we had no issues. They have a laundry facility that takes quarters and they keep a healthy stock of them at the front desk. This was helpful allowing us to pack less.
I gave it five stars across the board as we will definitely stay here again if we come back to San Diego.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#65 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is San Diego's Best Kept Secret. The finest of San Diego's Shelter Island hotels, we are a proud recipient of Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence Award for the last 5 years. Relax San Diego style in our spacious non-smoking guest rooms featuring breathtaking waterfront views of San Diego Bay, Shelter Island, our private marina and Point Loma. You will appreciate our unrivaled, friendly and accommodating service. As our guest, you'll enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck. The Quarterdeck offers Shelter Island's best and most stunning panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. We have a great selection of craft beers, a delectable wine list, patio and outside fire table dining and great prices. The Quarterdeck Bar offers an NFL package for watching all your favorite team's games. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday with drink specials and half-off appetizers. The Quarterdeck's dining room offers are quieter, more elegant fireside venue for an intimate or professional dining occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Club Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.