We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Club Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking!
Ranked #57 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Really nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed five nights at the Bay Club and really enjoyed it. It has been nicely renovated and our room was very modern. The king sized bed was SO comfortable- it was nice to lay in bed in the mornings and stare out at the marina. The pool area was very relaxing and clean. The breakfast buffet was a nice way to start the day; there were so many options for food, from toast, English muffins, and cereal to hash browns, sausages, eggs, and porridge. Shelter Island is very, very quiet and relaxing. There isn't really a night life and while there are a few dining options right on the island, there are many more as you make your way back to the mainland. Overall a really great stay, we would come back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Marina are quieter, as the Harbour facing rooms also face out onto the main road on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    361
    102
    37
    18
See reviews for
321
472
31
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Older Hotel, renovated and looking good. Clean, comfortable beds, super customer service, no fighting for parking (underground if you want). Wonderful AM breakfast sitting out on the veranda overlooking the marina; living the life.

Room Tip: My advice is to skip the fee for rooms facing the bay; Coronado Naval Base is directly across. Inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

After not going back to San Diego for a couple of years we came back to The Bay Club for a week long stay. What a difference in the hotel. They are almost finished with a remodel, and the results are great!

We were so glad to see that many of the people that we have enjoyed in the past are still there! A special thanks to Codey at the front desk. Sometimes my husband has some mobility issues, and he was right there to give assistance.

One of the things I love about this place is the ability of the staff members to remember the past guests! When we went down to the bar I was happy to see John was still there. I said "Hi honey We're home" and he couldn't get out from the bar fast enough to give us hugs hello! The service he gives is top rate. We were also happy to see the smiling faces of Jody & Patrick welcoming us back.

The bay room views are amazing, full skyline view of the bay & the San Diego downtown area. The rooms are very nice and spacious & all rooms have either a bay or marina view.

We will be returning to our San Diego home again. Thank you Bay Club Hotel & Marina for being such a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelArdelt, General Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Rhionsnana, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the renovations we recently completed and that you enjoyed your visit with us again! I am very proud of our staff and their helpful attitudes, as well as their ability to remember guests. I hope that you will be able to return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Beautiful place. We had the best suite of the whole place. Clean, beautiful harbor view. Pool, jacuzzi, fireplace just out our door overlooking the harbor. Perfect room for just staying in. Will definitely book again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelArdelt, General Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I am so glad you had a good time with friends here. The new firetable and fireplace in the restaurant are really fun places to relax, have food or drinks and see the sunset. The concerts next door can be heard from the restaurant patio and cap off a great evening at a reasonable price. We hope to have you return again soon! Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our second stay at the Bay Club Hotel. The first was last year on our first anniversary. We looked around this year for another place to stay but could not find anything we liked better. Everyone was very nice, the room was great and the Harbor view can not be beat. The hotel next door was having a outside concert that we were treated to and the fire works from Sea World capped the night beautifully. We are going to make our stay there a tradition.

Room Tip: The bay view is nice but overlooks a road. Harbor view is quite and your window is full of sunset a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I went a week with very few options available to me. It was rated 3 or 4 stars..however, on my visit, I would barely give it a 2 star rating. The staff at front desk, and throughout were exceptionally friendly and helpful......and that saved my visit from a 2 rating.

The room as I entered was bright, and without close examination was clean, and very presentable. The furniture was a bit dated but functional....the bed was comfortable. There were a few things left dusty, but unless closely examined, you would never have found it.

The bathroom was the downfall. Poor chalking, tile, and grouting...was nothing to the noticeable mildew/mold. Since workers were visible taking items into the other wing....I could not tell if the rooms were the object of there affection.

The room was not well insulated, as the noise from above at times was a bit more than I would like and the ground level outside noise was also a detractor.

The parking cost an additional $5, and the slots were small and ding waiting to happen.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelArdelt, General Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Ski W, I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations on your recent stay with us. We are still completing some bathroom renovations in the rooms, and will finish with them by July. Noise is one of the things that is most irritating to travelers and we constantly strive to make sure our guests have a restful visit. I apologize if the parking stalls were too small since many of our spaces are designated as compact that predated the larger SUV's. We are generally able to find larger areas for guests to park when the lot fills up. I hope that you might give us another try and let us show you the better Bay Club experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It's not much to look at from the outside, though the stunning scenery of San Diego makes up for a lot of architectural shortcomings. As others have noted, this hotel is undergoing renovations, but even once that's done, it will still feel like a mom'n'pop kind of place. While I normally go for the comfort of a giant Hilton box, I found the Bay Club Hotel & Marina oddly charming. Upon arrival, and throughout my stay, not once did I encounter anything that made me think this hotel has been focus grouped. And that is oddly charming.

The front desk was fairly efficient. I had two beers at the bar--well, outside overlooking the pool and marina--and the staff was unfailingly pleasant. I ordered food from the bar to take to the room, and it was cheap and good, with no annoying add-on fees for so doing. The room itself was large, with very high ceilings, despite being on the first floor. It's nothing to write home about, but neither was there anything wrong with it. The a/c wasn't amazing, but it did the trick. There was a large flat-panel tv. The wifi worked fine. The bathroom is spartan, but again, suitable for what one does in the bathroom. I skipped the gym, but it does exist. There's a free, hot breakfast, which I also skipped, but I saw it when getting coffee and it seemed much more extensive than what one finds at a Hampton Inn.

All in all, though I didn't get any HHonors points, I did have a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#65 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is San Diego's Best Kept Secret. The finest of San Diego's Shelter Island hotels, we are a proud recipient of Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence Award for the last 5 years. Relax San Diego style in our spacious non-smoking guest rooms featuring breathtaking waterfront views of San Diego Bay, Shelter Island, our private marina and Point Loma. You will appreciate our unrivaled, friendly and accommodating service. As our guest, you'll enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck. The Quarterdeck offers Shelter Island's best and most stunning panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. We have a great selection of craft beers, a delectable wine list, patio and outside fire table dining and great prices. The Quarterdeck Bar offers an NFL package for watching all your favorite team's games. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday with drink specials and half-off appetizers. The Quarterdeck's dining room offers are quieter, more elegant fireside venue for an intimate or professional dining occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Club Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.