We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Club Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Sale 25% Off!
Ranked #61 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently for 2 nights. Its in a good location if you have a car, with the marina just on its doorstep as well as fabulous views of San Diego. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated. There is a large bathroom with a separate dresser type area. The hot breakfast is included and they have an excellent choice. Lovely pool and hot tub.Would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelArdelt, General Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Keane79,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that the new room decor, location, views and amenities were all to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    386
    109
    39
    19
See reviews for
340
498
33
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved it. It's perfectly out of the way but takes 5 minutes to get into San Diego. It's right across from the beach and the breakfast was included. The breakfast was delicious and I recommend sitting outside. They had huge counter space in the bathroom which was so nice!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Everyone at the hotel - from check in to departure, was very nice and helpful. The room was a corner unit with a nice view of the bay. I really liked having windows that open and a (small) balcony to enjoy the ocean air. The bed was very comfortable and everything was working well. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a upstairs bay view room and it was very quiet except for the outside street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay however I was greatly disappointed by our evening dinner. It was so horrible that I throw up, the lemonade had no flavor, the Cesar salad dressing was disgusting, I have been ordering Cesar Salad at restaurant and I have never had any has horrible as the one served by this hotel. I was told by the waiter the dressing had anchovy. When the main meal arrived the only thing I ate was the mashed potatoes, the ribs was pure fat the gravy looked like it was left overs from previous days and microwaved. My husband had lamb and it was the same. I complain to the waiter but his sorry excuse made me wanted to run out of the restaurant. I was looking forward to relax and enjoy dinner and some wine with my husband but instead had toe ace the hotel and go to chalsbad for dinner $50 dollars for a meal that neither of us ate was very aggravating. If I do stay at this hotel in the future I will not even purchase or eat anything from them. Housekeeping could be a little better they didn't clean our room until after 3pm. The suit we stayed in didn't have a microwave to warm up some food, there was none in the breakfast area or in the shopping mart. They had to take it to the kitchen to be warmed. Total disaster. The price we paid for the hotel could render better service set up

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We usually stay at the Island Palms next door but decided to try Bay Club since they include breakfast and had better rates. Even with construction we were very happy with the property. The rooms were clean, spacious and updated. The breakfast was good. The front desk was friendly, helpful and accommodating. The only request would be to have an in-room microwave. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The rooms are nice a spacious, with fridge, separate bathroom sink, balcony and comfy beds which were all important to us. The hotel was undergoing major renovations which was a bit of a bummer, but was not really a big deal for us since we really only slept there. The price of the rooms were a good value since it included a decent breakfast with hot options (eggs, sausage, pancakes, french toast). The gym and pool area were not that appealing in my opinion, but we only went down there at night. Overall a great hotel to use as a jumping off point to go do things in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Even though it's in the middle of a remodel the staff was very friendly. The remodel will probably effect prices in the long run but the room cost was very reasonable considering the great location. Easy location to get to all of San diego's events from.

Room Tip: Even the partial view rooms, bayside, have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is San Diego's Best Kept Secret. The finest of San Diego's Shelter Island hotels, we are a proud recipient of Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence Award for the last 5 years. Relax San Diego style in our spacious non-smoking guest rooms featuring breathtaking waterfront views of San Diego Bay, Shelter Island, our private marina and Point Loma. You will appreciate our unrivaled, friendly and accommodating service. As our guest, you'll enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck. The Quarterdeck offers Shelter Island's best and most stunning panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. We have a great selection of craft beers, a delectable wine list, patio and outside fire table dining and great prices. The Quarterdeck Bar offers an NFL package for watching all your favorite team's games. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday with drink specials and half-off appetizers. The Quarterdeck's dining room offers are quieter, more elegant fireside venue for an intimate or professional dining occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Club Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.