We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Club Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Relaxing Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I could not have chosen a better hotel for our vacation than the Bay Club Hotel. Shelter Island is a very relaxing spot, with walking trails and the harbor right across the street from the hotel. The staff at the hotel was incredibly friendly and helpful and the shuttle service can't be beat. The restaurant in the hotel was good and there were several other restaurants within walking distance. The room was a good size and clean and the views were great. My husband enjoyed watching the ships in the harbor from our balcony. We will definitely return to this hotel; I wish we could be there now!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    388
    111
    40
    19
See reviews for
343
505
33
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our stay at the Bay Club was fantastic! The hotel is a little dated, however, the rooms were a great size, and the beds were comfortable. All of the rooms have a great view whether it is the marina or the bay. The location is excellent!! (We made smores across the way on the beach. There are bonfire pits!! ) Dinner at the restaurant was delicious, and the ingredients were extremely fresh. Clam chowder was phenomenal!! Breakfast and the service was delicious also! I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in Bay Club for one night after a long flight from London. As a stopover before the start of our holiday it could not be beaten. Easy to get there, fab view of the marina and a good size room. The breakfast in the morning was very good and the views from the breakfast room were great - a lovely way to start a holiday. They did add a charge for the cot that I had requested in my booking. When we were not charged at any of the other hotels I booked this felt a little strange. But this is a minor gripe - all in all a great hotel. My only other slight ngetaive would be I'm not sure it is 'special' enough to spend 7/14 days there.

Room Tip: Marina side and high up - but most looked pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Bay club for our last 2 nights in the US. It was a nice way to end our trip. Check in was easy, and the staff were extremely helpful. We had a corner room on the second floor with great views. The room was large and plenty of room. Everything was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, enough to choose from including fresh fruit,cereal, eggs, sausage. We were fortunate enough to be able to use our hotel club points, and they had a special sale thru TA so we ended up only paying $180 for our two nights, so for us it was great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the Bay Club and feel it is the only place we will stay when we return to San Diego. I booked a bay view room,( which was good size), and we were happy to see that our room had a city view, which we weren't expecting. It was beautiful at night. It was very easy to get to everything we wanted to do within minutes, so a great location. The staff was very helpful and friendly, in fact one let me take 2 shirts from the gift shop to try on in my room so I could choose the correct size. What service! Breakfast was enough to get us going in the morning, the fresh fruit was delicious! I hope we can return to San Diego and would definitely stay at the Bay Club.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

hotel has a great view. Breakfast and coffee need most improvement. the cleanliness of the room was sufficient. check in was terrible. check out was great. Amanda was what made the place tolerable, she pretty much helped us do everything we wanted to do.

Room Tip: Great views :) almost everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. This hotel has a superb staff, good breakfast, great view, delicious dinner menu, and a beautiful view of San Diego bay. . . .the water, plus naval vessels, and cruise ships. As an alternative, they offer a marina view, which is probably very quiet. The room rate was fair (check their specials!) and Shelter Island is close to many area attractions. Great happy hour with lower price drinks and half price appetizers. Their house wine is very good. The hotel is not new, but there are definitely some recent updates. Our second floor room had a small, private balcony. The view from the dining room and bar looks out over a marina. This was a quiet hotel and we like that aspect. We would recommend it to anyone traveling in the area. This hotel takes good care of their guests. Deloris M

Room Tip: If you want a good bay view, ask for the second floor. Room 203 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is San Diego's Best Kept Secret. The finest of San Diego's Shelter Island hotels, we are a proud recipient of Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence Award for the last 5 years. Relax San Diego style in our spacious non-smoking guest rooms featuring breathtaking waterfront views of San Diego Bay, Shelter Island, our private marina and Point Loma. You will appreciate our unrivaled, friendly and accommodating service. As our guest, you'll enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck. The Quarterdeck offers Shelter Island's best and most stunning panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. We have a great selection of craft beers, a delectable wine list, patio and outside fire table dining and great prices. The Quarterdeck Bar offers an NFL package for watching all your favorite team's games. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday with drink specials and half-off appetizers. The Quarterdeck's dining room offers are quieter, more elegant fireside venue for an intimate or professional dining occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Club Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.