We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Club Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So much better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Even though we are a bit picky about hotels, we stayed here for the weekend strictly based on location as wanted to be near family living in area. Just about everything was better than we expected. The staff at front desk was exceptionally nice at check in. Our room was very spacious; really clean with an extremely comfortable king bed. We had a room with a patio and two chairs facing the city and San Diego Bay. The bathroom was modern and all the linens and toiletries were of very good quality. Also, the climate control in the room was perfect as we were there for the freezing cold snap and needed lots of heat. The free breakfast was a bonus. It was held in the bar and restaurant area where the view of the marina was really lovely. We also had a light snack in the evening and were surprised by the quality of the service, food and fair prices. It was too cold to use pool and Jacuzzi area but it was on a nice deck overlooking the marina with many lounge chairs. The only two negatives were minor. 1) We were charged $5 per day to park... but I do admit the parking here seemed convenient and safe as they had a parking garage under the hotel with elevator right to room. And 2) the bowls used at breakfast for the hot oatmeal were old worn out wooden salad bowls. I mentioned to the server that the breakfast was so nicely presented with that one exception and he said they knew this and were working on replacing the bowls. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor will have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    360
    102
    37
    18
See reviews for
319
466
31
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Last week was the second time I had the pleasure of staying at the Bay Club Hotel & Marina. It is very reasonably priced and includes breakfast. We had dinner at the restauant and had awesome service with great food. The staff at the hotel were always very friendly. The hotel is located right along San Diego Bay with a Marina in the back. Going to the gym (which could be updated) in the morning as it starts to become light you can check out the boats in the marina while running on the treadmill, walk around the front around 645 and you can watch the sunrise, fishermen out there, pelicans and their was even a seal in the bay. Although the hotel is dated, they were working on updating it, the pool was under construction by the end of the week and there were wet paint signs all over. Humphries is right next door that has live music every evening and 1/2 price food and drinks from 5-7pm. There are also restaurants within walking distance is you choose to go outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've been staying at the Bay Club for years and have always enjoyed it. I especially enjoy the view of the marina and Pt Loma, the location close the restaurants and shops at Pt Loma, and the interesting and pretty areas for walking. The location makes it easy to get into town or the local Navy bases in that area. The staff is very attentive and helpful and the rooms very clean, if a bit dated now. Breakfast is included, which is convenient, but it's not as nice as it used to be - only one morning did they have a 'full' hot breakfast, and only breakfast sandwiches the other mornings. They did offer toast and pastries, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in addition, so no one went hungry, but the breakfast was a highlight in the old days. The changes won't keep me from going there the next time I'm in town!

Room Tip: I like the second floor facing the marina - I like seeing the boats and enjoy the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Thank you for a memorable stay in San Diego! It was my first time (my husband had been there before) to enjoy the unique characteristics of San Diego. We were tired after driving six hours from Phoenix the first night, so we ate in the Bay Club restaurant for dinner. Oh, my! We both got the seafood combo dish--incredibly fresh, melt-in-your-mouth delicious! And such a reasonable price. Our server was wonderful. She took the time (even though she had several others to serve) to give us tips on what to see, where to park, etc. Thanks to her tips, we enjoyed a walk along the white sand beach to the historic Hotel Del Coronado, toured the Embarcadero including the Star of India tall ship, and even squeezed in a trip to the Point Loma Lighthouse.

The rooms were clean and comfortable--nothing too fancy, but pretty nice for the price. The hotel is a bit older, a bit worn around the edges, but has character. Bathrooms are a bit small and the construction noise in the morning from the house being built next door was unexpected, but not a huge inconvenience. The Christmas lights on the ships in the Bay added a touch of sparkle in the evenings. And free breakfast in the mornings was convenient although crowded (the servers work so hard...and not all the customers are on their best behavior). I wouldn't blame the hotel for charging for all that food--it might weed out the individuals who think it's cute to feed the seagulls out the door or the cell phone talkers blocking the poor servers from doing their job...sheesh!) Anyway...the staff was tremendously helpful, courteous, and out-of-their-way informative on local attractions.

We really enjoyed the Bay Club and would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting the Bay Club Hotel for over 20 years and called it home. We decided to cut up our credit cards and keep two for emergencies only. We made the reservation with the visa debit and upon arrival from Colorado we were harrassesd by the desk staff about them wanting to use the cc and not the visa debit. I explained that we are using our visa debit more frequently now and to charge the entire 4 nights if the wanted too...they still did not want to comply. Finally we paid one night on the cc but after 3 nights they locked us out of the room and demanded full payment of the remaining days. Guess it doesnt pay to be a professional, well-off and debt free anymore. We are done with them. Breakfast has always been scarce and a joke...not much to offer really and the rooms are poorly dated with thin walls, In short...if this is how you treat people with money to burn...then GOOD-BYE! Looks like Vail will be a permanant addition for our family...they have always welcomed our debit cards. Maybe I will dispute the one night charge and see what that does to their policy?! Greg Mc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager51, General Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We appreciate the opportunity TripAdvisor provides us to be able to reply to guests' reviews. After discussing the specifics of your interaction with our Front Desk staff and management, I have ascertained the following: When you checked in, you indicated that you would like to pay cash -- at checkout -- for your stay. Our Front Desk Agent followed our standard operating procedure for guests wishing to pay cash, and advised that she would be happy to collect payment in full right away. I understand that you declined this and offered your debit card instead. Our Front Desk Agent, again following our established procedures, advised you the total amount that would be charged to your debit card and that, unlike with credit cards, no other charges would be allowed to the room. We instituted this policy in order to ensure absolutely no more money than necessary is being held on guests' accounts. You opted to leave a credit card. During your stay, we attempted to reach you regarding the card used, again following our standard operating procedures. When we reached you, we offered our apologies and compensation for the apparent miscommunication regarding payment. Unfortunately, despite our best attempts, you left dissatisfied. This is most regrettable to us as we are proud of our high levels of guest service and value our guests, most especially our repeat guests. We will most certainly use this experience as an opportunity to review our procedures and ensure the highest levels of guest satisfaction and communication. Mike Ardelt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location but the interior and exterior are dated compared to other hotels on the island. Staff was friendly but lacked professional atmosphere. Food was less than average. Full breakfasts but not very good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed here for years and was a little disappointed with the "new" breakfast they offer. We absolutely could not eat the hot meal one day it was so bad. I can see that they are trying to cut down on costs by changing things and if you have never stayed there I suppose you wouldn't know any different. It is still in a wonderful spot and good value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. While we certainly appreciate that you have stayed with us for years and that you find us a good value for the money, we are sorry that you did not like our new breakfast format. In response to comments from our guests, we did recently switch from a buffet style to a full all-you-can-eat hot breakfast with a daily special. Our Operations Manager, Shelley Griffin, would like the opportunity to discuss the specifics of your experience with you. Please contact her at your earliest convenience at 619-224-8888 ext 320. We look forward to your next visit. Warmly, Aaron Willard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is San Diego's Best Kept Secret. The finest of San Diego's Shelter Island hotels, we are a proud recipient of Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence Award for the last 5 years. Relax San Diego style in our spacious non-smoking guest rooms featuring breathtaking waterfront views of San Diego Bay, Shelter Island, our private marina and Point Loma. You will appreciate our unrivaled, friendly and accommodating service. As our guest, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, complimentary WiFi, complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck. The Quarterdeck offers Shelter Island's best and most stunning panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. We have a great selection of craft beers, a delectable wine list, patio and outside fire table dining and great prices. The Quarterdeck Bar offers an NFL package for watching all your favorite team's games. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday with drink specials and half-off appetizers. The Quarterdeck's dining room offers are quieter, more elegant fireside venue for an intimate or professional dining occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Club Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.