We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Bay Club Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a nice quiet room on 2 floor with marina view. Room and hotel overall were very cleaned and well maintained . Staff is very friendly and helpful. Excellent complimentary breakfast. Airport transportation is also complimentary. Location is also great: close to public transportation, downtown, airport. A lot of good restaurants in walking distance. Our favorite was Umi sushi. I would certainly recommend this hotel. Hotel parking is 5$/day which is pretty cheap.. Wifi is complementary too.
I was surprised they charge for local calls 50c

Room Tip: Marina view on 2 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    340
    99
    34
    18
See reviews for
295
448
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BUFFALO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here over thanksgiving and we almost don't want to write a review, because we don't want everyone to find out about this place! It was very nice. Stayed alot of places in San Diego and this was by far the best. Awesome location on shelter island with walking distance to great food. Its a small place so don't have to deal with crowds of people. Parking was reasonable unlike alot of other places in San Diego. Room was modern, all amenities you need. Breakfast was great with a nice view of the harbor while you eat. The staff was SUPER friendly, always greeting you and smiling. Pool and hot tub are older, but work fine and were clean. We travel to San Diego 2 to 3 times a year and will be staying here very time from now on. Great value for the price!

Room Tip: The bridgatine and Miguel's are close with good food. And if you want a drink that will make you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is our go-to place to stay when we visit our son and d-i-l in San Diego! The rooms are comfortable, the people are welcoming, the views are awesome! Every morning there is a freshly cooked breakfast awaiting you- eggs, waffles, bacon, sausage, bagels, pastries, fruit, juices, coffee and more. We also enjoy eating nearby at the Bali Hai restaurant where we enjoy watching the sun set over the Bay and the lights come on over the city. There are unique shops in the area as well as stores for your basic needs. You feel like you're on your own little island!

Room Tip: We have stayed on the Bay side and on the Marina side- we like both! We do like the 2nd- 3rd floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your taking the time to leave a five-star review of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that we are your "go-to place to stay" when visiting San Diego! We aim to make every guest feel at home and we are so glad that you do. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all that Shelter Island has to offer. The next time you visit, be sure to stop by our Bay Club Bar & Grill, just off the lobby, and enjoy a sandwich, burger, steak, seafood, pasta ... no matter what you choose, you can't go wrong! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Diego!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Bay Club Hotel. The breakfast buffet was very good and the servers were attentive. The buffet consisted of potatoes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, a specialty egg dish, toast, muffins, and pastries as well as coffee and orange juice. We had a fillet mignon with crab cakes for dinner one evening which was very good. Parking was ample. We parked underground. The above ground parking has narrow spaces. We were able to take nice walks around the area. The rooms are a little dated, but everything was clean. It was cool so we didn't use the pool or the fitness room. The area was quiet with not much traffic. I would stay here again. The prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking time to let us know about your recent visit to our hotel. It is great to hear that you found our property to be a "nice place to stay by the bay." We strive to provide a pleasant experience for all of our guests and it is gratifying to hear when we succeed. Thank you also for your kind words about your meals in our Bay Club Bar & Grill. We will make sure your comments are passed on. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to America's Finest City!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

A great location away from the hustle and bustle of San Diego with the Marina on one side of the hotel and the bay on the other side. We had a great room with fantastic views. A good size, clean and very comfortable. I would describe the hotel as cozy and homely rather than high end but certainly one to be recommended. The 'free' breakfast was ok but there was plenty of it. Small pool outside the back was clean but had little sun in the morning. If we return to San Diego we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Its probably slightly quieter facing the marina rather than the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share with us about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you found us a "good value in a great location." We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to sunny San Diego!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, RI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived late and this was a close hotel to spend the night before we embarked on our trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and very clean. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that, even though it was just a "quick stay", you found our staff "very friendly and helpful" and your room "spacious and very clean". We truly hope you will return the next time your travels bring you to San Diego. Warmly, Aaron Willard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

great view and fulfilling complimentary breakfast, i just wish they had cream cheese and decaf tea) Close to old town, down-town and outlets. Quite and clean. Really nice affordable prices. Good restaurants are near-by.

Room Tip: marina-view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your five-star review of our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your suggestions for our breakfast. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back on your next visit to San Diego! Warmly, Aaron Willard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
#65 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is San Diego's Best Kept Secret. The finest of San Diego's Shelter Island hotels, we are a proud recipient of Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence Award for the last 5 years. Relax San Diego style in our spacious non-smoking guest rooms featuring breathtaking waterfront views of San Diego Bay, Shelter Island, our private marina and Point Loma. You will appreciate our unrivaled, friendly and accommodating service. As our guest, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, complimentary airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle, complimentary WiFi and complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck. The Quarterdeck offers Shelter Island's best and most stunning panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. We have a great selection of craft beers, a delectable wine list, patio and outside fire table dining and great prices. The Quarterdeck Bar offers an NFL package for watching all your favorite team's games. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday with drink specials and half-off appetizers. The Quarterdeck's dining room offers are quieter, more elegant fireside venue for an intimate or professional dining occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Club Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.