We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay by the bay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Club Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early & Save 25%
Ranked #58 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
“Nice place to stay by the bay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Bay Club Hotel. The breakfast buffet was very good and the servers were attentive. The buffet consisted of potatoes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, a specialty egg dish, toast, muffins, and pastries as well as coffee and orange juice. We had a fillet mignon with crab cakes for dinner one evening which was very good. Parking was ample. We parked underground. The above ground parking has narrow spaces. We were able to take nice walks around the area. The rooms are a little dated, but everything was clean. It was cool so we didn't use the pool or the fitness room. The area was quiet with not much traffic. I would stay here again. The prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking time to let us know about your recent visit to our hotel. It is great to hear that you found our property to be a "nice place to stay by the bay." We strive to provide a pleasant experience for all of our guests and it is gratifying to hear when we succeed. Thank you also for your kind words about your meals in our Bay Club Bar & Grill. We will make sure your comments are passed on. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to America's Finest City!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pinner, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

A great location away from the hustle and bustle of San Diego with the Marina on one side of the hotel and the bay on the other side. We had a great room with fantastic views. A good size, clean and very comfortable. I would describe the hotel as cozy and homely rather than high end but certainly one to be recommended. The 'free' breakfast was ok but there was plenty of it. Small pool outside the back was clean but had little sun in the morning. If we return to San Diego we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Its probably slightly quieter facing the marina rather than the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0y0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share with us about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you found us a "good value in a great location." We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to sunny San Diego!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, RI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived late and this was a close hotel to spend the night before we embarked on our trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and very clean. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdigo1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that, even though it was just a "quick stay", you found our staff "very friendly and helpful" and your room "spacious and very clean". We truly hope you will return the next time your travels bring you to San Diego. Warmly, Aaron Willard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

great view and fulfilling complimentary breakfast, i just wish they had cream cheese and decaf tea) Close to old town, down-town and outlets. Quite and clean. Really nice affordable prices. Good restaurants are near-by.

Room Tip: marina-view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your five-star review of our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your suggestions for our breakfast. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back on your next visit to San Diego! Warmly, Aaron Willard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful and bent over backwards to help us. They even shuttled us to a nearby restaurant one evening. The room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was awesome and free! I would surely recommend this hotel!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MontanaBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We truly appreciate your taking the time to share about your recent visit to our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff "helpful" and your room "spacious and very clean". We strive for the highest levels of guest service and are proud that it shows. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to America's Finest City! Warmly, Aaron Willard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Once again, I stayed at the Bay Club overnight on the way to visit family and as always, I thoroughly enjoyed the facility and staff. The Bay side room will be my choice on my next visit in the Spring.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking time to leave a review of our hotel! We are so glad to hear that you "thoroughly enjoyed" your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to sunny San Diego! Warmly, Aaron Willard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were unfamiliar with Shelter Island and chose the Bay Club mainly on price for our one night stay prior to a very early flight out. We found the hotel staff each wonderfully friendly and open, the facilities clean, and we arrived as they were finishing the decorating of a beautiful Christmas tree in the lobby. The piano player in the lobby also helped to greet us. We did not have a chance to try the dining, unfortunately. Looked like a nice dining room with nice view of the marina.

Room Tip: You can choose a marina view or bay view. We chose the bay view and watched naval and other ships fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanGayleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your five-star review of our hotel! It is wonderful to hear that you had an "excellent stay" and that you found our staff "friendly and open". Indeed, we try our best to make each guest feel at home with us. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to San Diego!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pearl Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#57 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#65 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina. Our scenic waterfront location is conveniently close to the airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence from 2011 through 2015. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, fantastic restaurant and lounge and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch plasma HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers, complimentary morning coffee in the lobby, and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Don't forget to ask about our massage therapy services. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast from our brand new menu, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our fantastic selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our Dinner for 2 package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing