We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Bay Club Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

great view and fulfilling complimentary breakfast, i just wish they had cream cheese and decaf tea) Close to old town, down-town and outlets. Quite and clean. Really nice affordable prices. Good restaurants are near-by.

Room Tip: marina-view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your five-star review of our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your suggestions for our breakfast. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back on your next visit to San Diego! Warmly, Aaron Willard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    341
    99
    35
    18
See reviews for
297
453
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful and bent over backwards to help us. They even shuttled us to a nearby restaurant one evening. The room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was awesome and free! I would surely recommend this hotel!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We truly appreciate your taking the time to share about your recent visit to our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff "helpful" and your room "spacious and very clean". We strive for the highest levels of guest service and are proud that it shows. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to America's Finest City! Warmly, Aaron Willard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Once again, I stayed at the Bay Club overnight on the way to visit family and as always, I thoroughly enjoyed the facility and staff. The Bay side room will be my choice on my next visit in the Spring.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking time to leave a review of our hotel! We are so glad to hear that you "thoroughly enjoyed" your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to sunny San Diego! Warmly, Aaron Willard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were unfamiliar with Shelter Island and chose the Bay Club mainly on price for our one night stay prior to a very early flight out. We found the hotel staff each wonderfully friendly and open, the facilities clean, and we arrived as they were finishing the decorating of a beautiful Christmas tree in the lobby. The piano player in the lobby also helped to greet us. We did not have a chance to try the dining, unfortunately. Looked like a nice dining room with nice view of the marina.

Room Tip: You can choose a marina view or bay view. We chose the bay view and watched naval and other ships fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your five-star review of our hotel! It is wonderful to hear that you had an "excellent stay" and that you found our staff "friendly and open". Indeed, we try our best to make each guest feel at home with us. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to San Diego!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Overall the stay was nice. The staff were friendly. But it was very loud on the marina side where our room was located. We may not stay here again next time when we're in San Diego due to the noise level.

Room Tip: If you like quietness, stay away from the marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. We are certainly glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and had a nice stay overall. I do apologize that you found the marina side of our hotel to be noisy. Indeed, due to our marina view rooms overlooking several tranquil private yacht marinas, the marina view is most popular with our return guests looking for a peaceful getaway. We almost never have any complaints of noise. I would definitely appreciate the chance to speak with you directly regarding your stay so that we might learn more about the source of the disturbance and have the opportunity to resolve the issue. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
(619) 224-8888 ext 318
aaron@bayclubhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The facilities look quite nice, but the walls are paper thin. We weren't to sleep either night courtesy of the people next door. We could hear virtually everything they did, and then the first night we heard snoring like a banchee. The second night whoever was in the room next door felt compelled to have a very loud discussion until 3:00 in the morning. And yet again, once their conversation concluded, snoring that earplugs couldn't conceal.

The staff was kind of indifferent. The second night the fire alarm went off (unbelievably loud) because of faulty wiring. There were no apologies to the guests who ran out of their rooms in shock and pajamas. Once we were advised to return, we could hear loud discussion about how this has been happening for three months.

We won't be coming back......

Room Tip: While a hot breakfast sounds like a bargain, the food was pretty terrible. A very disappointing exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the Bay Club Hotel. I would like to offer our sincere apologies for your experience. We did recently have some challenges with our fire alarm system, but are confident that the wiring issues have been resolved. We pride ourselves on being a very guest-oriented and caring staff and I am indeed troubled to hear that you felt our front desk staff was indifferent to your concerns regarding the volume of your neighbors. We would have been more than happy to relocate you to a different room.

If you'd be willing to contact me directly at the phone number or email address listed below, I would very much like the opportunity to invite you back for a one-night stay as a token of our sincerity. We'd appreciate the second chance to demonstrate our commitment to quality service and comfortable, relaxing visits.

Thank you again for your time. I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Sincerely,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
(619) 224-8888 ext 318
aaron@bayclubhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed over thanksgiving weekend 4 nites.ith our freinds Very comfortable stay Enjoyed seeing ships go by our window. Great breakfest start 2 our day. Everyone very helpful. Will deffinately stay here again. Hope to make the trip with our good freinds again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your taking time to leave a five-star review of our hotel! We aim for the highest levels of guest service and satisfaction and are so glad to hear when we succeed. It is wonderful to hear that you found us a "great place to stay", that you were "comfortable" and found our staff "very helpful". It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to sunny San Diego!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#65 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is San Diego's Best Kept Secret. The finest of San Diego's Shelter Island hotels, we are a proud recipient of Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence Award for the last 5 years. Relax San Diego style in our spacious non-smoking guest rooms featuring breathtaking waterfront views of San Diego Bay, Shelter Island, our private marina and Point Loma. You will appreciate our unrivaled, friendly and accommodating service. As our guest, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, complimentary airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle, complimentary WiFi and complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck. The Quarterdeck offers Shelter Island's best and most stunning panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. We have a great selection of craft beers, a delectable wine list, patio and outside fire table dining and great prices. The Quarterdeck Bar offers an NFL package for watching all your favorite team's games. Happy Hour is a must Monday through Friday with drink specials and half-off appetizers. The Quarterdeck's dining room offers are quieter, more elegant fireside venue for an intimate or professional dining occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Club Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.