We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Club Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, California
1 review
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Bay Club on Shelter Island in San Diego, CA. for the first time. We come to San Diego often over many years. The staff couldn't be more accommodating, the rooms are very comfortable and well maintained and the complimentary breakfast is always a good way to start the day. Very friendly staff, clean room, clean bathroom, good food and friendly restaurant. Thanks, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    399
    114
    41
    19
See reviews for
352
511
35
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hidden gem on Shelter Island is not to be missed. Rooms are Hawaiian themed and the hotel is quaint, nautical and family freindly. Overlooking either the bay or the marina, both are wonderful. All rooms have balconies and are spacious and comfortable. Parking is a premium plus and is wonderful to watch the ships and harbor activties. Relaxing and enjoyable experience, but only negative aspect I found was the rooms are not quite as quite as would have liked as we were listening to the family next door. Most definetly would stay again...

Room Tip: Stay in a Marina room for a wonderful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

BALCONY BUILT OUT OVER WATER...look down at the fish! Worth extra for Marina view room
Free shuttle from airport and to the cruise ship....Breakfast buffet disappointing food dried up and not hot and poor selection

Room Tip: worth paying extra for Marina view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is located on Shelter Island with views of the yacht harbor or the bay and the North Island Naval Base. A buffet breakfast is included and the rates are very reasonable. We have stayed there many times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We recently returned from a visit to the Bay Club on Shelter Island in San Diego, CA. We have stayed at the Bay Club many times over many years. The staff couldn't be more accommodating, the rooms are very comfortable and well maintained and the complimentary breakfast is always a good way to start the day. We go there to escape the desert heat in the summer and we often stay there prior to flights out of San Diego. The hotel shuttle service makes the airport trip relatively hassle free. The area around the hotel offers spectacular views and great, safe walking along the harbor. We love to watch all the ship activity. There are a number of good restaurants in the area and someone at the front desk is always willing to print a menu and/or map. This property is in the midst of all that San Diego has to offer, yet the location is quiet and restful, away from any heavy traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is a nice place to stay. We spent 3 nights here within a 2 week period and the only thing that I can complain about is that on the second night that we stayed, we had a "suite" and I had requested a "king" and ended up with 2 beds in the room. I will give the front desk a big plus on sending my cell phone overnight to Hawaii, we left it in the room and I called from the airport on our way to Hawaii and asked them to overnight the phone and I received it within 2 days which I thought was great service. The front desk was very pleasant and would recommend this hotel to everyone. The rooms are a little outdated but beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Any place withing the hotel is a good spot. There are no "ocean front" rooms unless you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here from October 24-November 1 2012. We are from New Jersey and came out for just a few days to attend a family wedding, but ended up staying a little longer than expected due to Hurricane Sandy back home. So we had extra time to sample area restaurants and the hotel.....Our first stop was for lunch at the hotel which was out on the patio by the pool and marina. Very nice scenery and good food.
I liked this hotel; I need things to be clean - and did not have any issues here at Bay Club. Room was cleaned nicely each day. It is not a large hotel but yet i found our room (259) to be very spacious. Plenty of room for suitcases or a child's bed. It's a smaller, older building but easy to get around and maintained well. Front desk was friendly and recommended great restaurants nearby. I was very comfortable at this hotel. Breakfast is included in the price, each day it is basically the same but they do change it up a little- things like ham/spinach/peppers etc in the eggs, waffles one day, pancakes the next, etc. Weekdays they offer waitress service for coffee; weekends it is self serve. Estella works mornings and she is friendly and attentive. Once i got back to work on Monday morning, i was missing those meals by the bay! We had to extend our stay and the hotel maintained the special wedding rate for us- just had to ask a few times to make sure they definitely gave us the discounted rate.
I did one load of laundry which went fine; you can buy single use laundry supplies right there.
The scenery outside on the bay is gorgeous. Loved going for breakfast each morning and then a walk along the bay. There are a few places within walking distance/ short drive for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Once you go off Shelter Island onto Rosecrans Street the area is a little more sketchy; not necessarily really bad, but this is a neighborhood in a city environment, so be cautious and use common sense. The hotel is a few miles from the airport and across the bay from a US Navy air station. Watch out for the noise from the fighter jets! Wow they are loud! I did not have any issues at night with sleeping, i found it to be a quiet community other than those jets and some navy helicopters. After seeing what people back in NJ were dealing with, i was happy to have a clean room, a hot shower and good food everyday! Plus a beautiful view helps too! I reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front look out on the parking lot but also the bay. There is construction going on at o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear "spam3809",

Thank you so much for your five-star review of our hotel! It is wonderful to hear that you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly. I am also glad that you were able to enjoy meals in our restaurant in addition to our complimentary breakfast buffet. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service and are glad to hear that it showed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to sunny San Diego!

Warmly,
Aaron Willard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
1.7 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina. Our scenic waterfront location is conveniently close to the airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence from 2011 through 2015. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, fantastic restaurant and lounge and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch plasma HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers, complimentary morning coffee in the lobby, and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Don't forget to ask about our massage therapy services. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast from our brand new menu, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our fantastic selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our Dinner for 2 package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Club Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.