We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Why no 5 star reviews?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Cafe

Olympic Cafe
2340 University Ave, San Diego, CA 92104
(619) 692-9082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,170 of 3,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent! Why no 5 star reviews?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Consistently good food served by the absolutely nicest staff. There isn't much to the restaurant, just about 10 tables, a simple clean bathroom, and great Greek food served hot and fresh! My fiance always ordered the Greek salad with huge blocks of feta cheese, and I always ordered their chicken sandwich and french fries. A great value, too. For a while we would meet here for lunch maybe once a week. It's just too bad we can't transplant this wonderful cafe across the country...

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Been coming for over 15 years -- still tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I came with my family. We ordered 3 different Greek platters (comes with salad (or) soup) and pilaf (or) potatoes. We also ordered a tuna melt and a triple-pound cheese burger (with fries) to go. Essentially 5 orders, which totaled $43.

When I ordered, I asked the waitress if the Cafe was run by the same owners as 15 years ago, and she said, "Yes" (with a knowing smile).

The Greek platters were delicious. You eat and eat and never want the food to disappear. And it doesn't. Portions are satisfying. My son enjoyed his tuna melt, he took a bite and said, "This is good!"

I ordered the cheese burger to go, because when I ate my first one back in the 1990s, I remember thinking, "This is what burgers used to taste like."

We were too stuffed to order desserts, but they are made by the owner's wife. I'm sure they're memorable as well.

It's 5 minutes away from Balboa Park. But it's generally frequented by the locals, in a accessible location in North Park.

I've only eaten at 4 Middle Eastern restaurants in San Diego, but this is my favorite. Yesterday, I went to a "Greek" restaurant in the South Bay to save on mileage, but I wish I'd gone to Olympic Cafe. Lesson learned.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, GREAT value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I have been going to the Olympic for years. The food is always very good and, the prices, while they have gone up, are still super reasonable. The wait staff is wonderful and efficient. An added bonus is the good selection of delicious sweet treats made by the proprietor. The cafe is nothing fancy, but you really can't go wrong here.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Basic Home-style Greek Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I eat here several times a year. The lamb shank is my usual choice for lunch. It is tender and tasty. The sauce is not overpowering, allowing the flavor of the lamb to come through nicely. The meal includes rice and a good sized salad all on the same plate. The moussaka is also tasty. The spanakopita is not as crisp as I like, but everyone has their own preferences. The decor is basic, but since I'm here for the food, it doesn't bother me and it won't bother you either unless you're trying to impress a date. Athens Market is nicer and has better food, but then you'll also pay considerably more for the location and decor. Depends on what your aiming for. Both beat Daphne's hands down.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great greasy spoon breakfast!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

Great greasy spoon breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.