We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great leisure stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Del Mar

Save Saved
You added The Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Complimentary
Ranked #1 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
1 review
“Great leisure stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

This is a great hotel with first class service. I don't see how anyone can write the service was poor at this hotel. Everyone seemed very friendly and really went out of their way to help us. We were originally scheduled for a one day stay. After staying one day (Sunday), we left the hotel for a two day stay at the Ritz Carlton in Dana Point (ocean view room). While the view of the beach was great, the older rooms at the Ritz Carlton don't compare to the rooms of the Grand Del Mar. The Grand Del Mar rooms are first class. They have free internet service, beautiful furniture, great televisions, super nice bathrooms, and in room mini bars. We ended up leaving one day early from the Ritz Carlton and returned to the Grand Del Mar. At the Grand Del Mar, we had a fairway view room both days that was great (standard king room). Our $435.00 package (room was a little more because of fairway view) included a $65 breakfast credit and free valet parking. The second day we got the same room for $325.00 with no breakfast credit. You should be aware that San Diego has a 12.5 percent hotel/resort tax that gets added to your bill. I didn't play golf this trip, but I will next time. I never saw a lot of players on the course. I believe it would be a great course to play because it looks like a top notch course and I doubt there would be much of a wait between holes. The fitness center was really nice with a lot of high end equipment. The pools and grounds are beautiful. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    765
    59
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
249
332
15
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Guests of a wedding, and didn't want to leave! Most beautiful hotel in San Diego

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I spent our anniversary at The Grand Del Mar. It was absolutely amazing! Treatments at the spa followed by a relaxing afternoon and lunch at the pool was simply perfect. The pool attendents make sure your every want and need is attended to. The entire staff is wonderful and very welcoming. We've already booked our next visit for December to celebrate my birthday. I'm looking forward to making this our yearly getaway!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Eggo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here for our wedding weekend in October 2009. When you're engaged/getting married/newlywed, you get kinda used to getting away with special requests on things and it's quite the treat. However - nobody treats you as well as the Grand Del Mar.

The service on all levels [even/especially from those who didn't know about the wedding] was above and beyond anything I've experienced at any establishment. These people know how to treat their customers with respect and make them feel welcome.

Beyond the service - EVERYTHING about this place is amazing. I could walk the labyrinthian halls for hours just staring at all the beautiful appointments on the ceilings, walls and floors. Gorgeous place. The food at the restaurants, even the little cafe, was astonishingly good. Beds are crazy comfortable. Views are stunning. The spa has two of the best masseuses we've ever met by far. Can't wait to go back to see Madeline. She is amazing.

Short version? If you can afford to do so, stay at the Grand Del Mar. You will never be disappointed by this establishment or their amazing staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We went for a quiet getaway and we're very impressed with this hotel. The rooms are spacious and elegant. The adult pool is luxurious with comfortable padded lounge chairs, underwater music, and frozen grapes. Sunscreen, magazines and cold water always available. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was our 'home' during our visit to Comicon. The rooms we spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was magnificent. As beautiful as the hotel is, the staff was so much more. They bend over backwards to accommodate any of needs while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Absolutely beautiful & lovely. Relaxing. Free wi-fi, free water bottles,free valet parking. HUGE closet. 2nd TV in bathroom. Delux furniture. Beautiful pools. All surrounded by an award-winning golf course and very green rolling hills of Torrey Pine Reserve. A great bike trail and walking trail. A mere few minutes to a very swim-able beach.
It felt so far away and relaxing. Having spent a couple of weeks in Europe this past summer, I felt a renewed appreciation for what we have right here in so. cal - nature, uncrowded beaches... The Grand has an amazing staff. Very helpful in every which way without imposing. Loved the stay. Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, The Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at The Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;