We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration Package
Ranked #1 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

When you combine an amazing property with outstanding service and a delightful climate, the results are fantastic. The Grand Del Mar deserves it's reputation as one of the best resorts in the world.

Guest rooms are very spacious, well appointed and make it tempting to never go outdoors. From the oversized, luxurious bathroom to the extremely comfortable bed, these rooms are amazing.

The grounds are very well maintained and the list of activities can keep you quite busy. For those seeking rest and relaxation, you are in store for a treat as the hotel offers several swimming pools and other areas to unwind in a beautiful environment.

The fitness center is very well equipped and the spa exceeded my high expectations. Service provided to guests is first class from the moment you arrive until your departure.

Overall, the Grand Del Mar stands out as a superstar among 5-star resorts.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    78
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
324
414
19
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel grounds were phenomenal. From the moment you enter the drive way into a private road it makes you feel like you are in a private villa in Italy. I loved the details in the design and architecture. I was there only one night and I wished I would have stayed longer to explore the property. So many amenities offered! My favorite detail was the french press in the bedroom! The bathroom was amazing, it was so spacious it could be another bedroom.
I was concerned about taking my one year old to a hotel like this but It was very family friendly. While we were checking in the wonderful front desk offered my daughter to pick a toy from the toy chest they had there, how thoughtful of them! Will come back with out a doubt, even though I did not receive my morning newspaper but I was able to get a copy during breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We came for 2 days for my husband's birthday and every person we encountered couldn't have been nicer. The property is beautiful with all materials imported from Europe. No detail has been left out. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, and have espresso machines in them. The furnishings make you feel like you are in a very wealthy home. The public areas are stunning and comfortable, and the golf course, hiking trail, and grounds are convenient and accessible. They offer many activities at the fitness center. We also enjoyed the massage and hair salon. A very nice getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I would say this is the nicest resort hotel in the U.S. and would recommend it for a romantic getaway or for a family vacation. There's no watersides but they have kids camps and it's still very kid friendly. The golf course is an excellent resort style course and there's please of trials to hike or horseback riding (they have stables). In addition, there's tennis, swimming pools, spa, croquet and lots of lawn space for kids to run around. It's close to Del Mar racetrack but it's about 5 miles to the beach. The restaurants in the hotel are great but pricey. They will shuttle you around the Del Mar area but it's first-come-first-serve so book the shuttle early with concierge. The service and staff are amazing and will treat you like royalty. Just remember…your stay won't be cheap but it will be amazing!

Room Tip: If you want quiet/romantic, don't have a room in the courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights for my birthday and were upgraded to a king room on the top floor overlooking a beautiful fountain and gardens. The cost is a bit over $600 a night.
The pools are beautiful and the patio dining was really great, especially for breakfast. The setting is tranquil - peaceful - expansive. The staff is extremely accommodating, gracious and very customer oriented. The only issue we had was with one concierge when late afternoon I asked where the Addison restaurant was located. She responded, then looked at my husband and said in a somewhat condescending tone - you can't wear shorts to Addison. I later returned to explain how rude I thought her response had been.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent place ...the rooms are great ..very serene and calm place . Excellent service and great landscape .

Perfect get away place for a quit vacation. Great views . Really liked the pool area . Amidst an excellent golf course

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a very elegant property with perfect service. The staff caters to your every need. The golf course was in great condition, not too many players and fun to play. We had some of the best massages we've ever had too - great spa. We ate at Amaya and it was very good - we skipped Addison's because we weren't in the mood for a big foodie experience this time but may do that at another visit. For us this hotel was a little over the top - everything was perfect, we're just a little more casual.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 25 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#7 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,928 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#73 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in California. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.