We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay-cation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
The Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Complimentary
Ranked #1 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing stay-cation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel grounds were phenomenal. From the moment you enter the drive way into a private road it makes you feel like you are in a private villa in Italy. I loved the details in the design and architecture. I was there only one night and I wished I would have stayed longer to explore the property. So many amenities offered! My favorite detail was the french press in the bedroom! The bathroom was amazing, it was so spacious it could be another bedroom.
I was concerned about taking my one year old to a hotel like this but It was very family friendly. While we were checking in the wonderful front desk offered my daughter to pick a toy from the toy chest they had there, how thoughtful of them! Will come back with out a doubt, even though I did not receive my morning newspaper but I was able to get a copy during breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    64
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
269
361
17
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We came for 2 days for my husband's birthday and every person we encountered couldn't have been nicer. The property is beautiful with all materials imported from Europe. No detail has been left out. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, and have espresso machines in them. The furnishings make you feel like you are in a very wealthy home. The public areas are stunning and comfortable, and the golf course, hiking trail, and grounds are convenient and accessible. They offer many activities at the fitness center. We also enjoyed the massage and hair salon. A very nice getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I would say this is the nicest resort hotel in the U.S. and would recommend it for a romantic getaway or for a family vacation. There's no watersides but they have kids camps and it's still very kid friendly. The golf course is an excellent resort style course and there's please of trials to hike or horseback riding (they have stables). In addition, there's tennis, swimming pools, spa, croquet and lots of lawn space for kids to run around. It's close to Del Mar racetrack but it's about 5 miles to the beach. The restaurants in the hotel are great but pricey. They will shuttle you around the Del Mar area but it's first-come-first-serve so book the shuttle early with concierge. The service and staff are amazing and will treat you like royalty. Just remember…your stay won't be cheap but it will be amazing!

Room Tip: If you want quiet/romantic, don't have a room in the courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights for my birthday and were upgraded to a king room on the top floor overlooking a beautiful fountain and gardens. The cost is a bit over $600 a night.
The pools are beautiful and the patio dining was really great, especially for breakfast. The setting is tranquil - peaceful - expansive. The staff is extremely accommodating, gracious and very customer oriented. The only issue we had was with one concierge when late afternoon I asked where the Addison restaurant was located. She responded, then looked at my husband and said in a somewhat condescending tone - you can't wear shorts to Addison. I later returned to explain how rude I thought her response had been.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent place ...the rooms are great ..very serene and calm place . Excellent service and great landscape .

Perfect get away place for a quit vacation. Great views . Really liked the pool area . Amidst an excellent golf course

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a very elegant property with perfect service. The staff caters to your every need. The golf course was in great condition, not too many players and fun to play. We had some of the best massages we've ever had too - great spa. We ate at Amaya and it was very good - we skipped Addison's because we weren't in the mood for a big foodie experience this time but may do that at another visit. For us this hotel was a little over the top - everything was perfect, we're just a little more casual.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The place blew away our expectations from start to finish. Aside from the stunning grounds and aesthetics, there were 2 themes to highlight in particular. 1.) Customer service- It may very well be the best customer experience we've had at a hotel. Everyone, from towel man to concierge, actively finds ways to delight you. In my view, good customer service is when you ask for something and you get it. Excellent customer service is when you get what you need, as well was what you didn't know you needed. They engaged in this consistently throughout our stay. It felt as though the staff was not just doing their job. They felt invested in us having an amazing experience.

2.) Family Friendly- Typically a hotel is either family friendly and lacking on the luxury-side, or vice-versa. In this case, the hotel seamlessly integrated the 2. When we checked in, we were treated with all the formality you would expect from a top-notch hotel. But then...after getting our keys, they bring our kids to a treasure chest to the side of the front desk where each kid got to pick out 2 prizes. Our kids, who were cranky from a long flight to San Diego, were elated. We get to the room and 20 minutes later, a gentleman shows up with 2 large cookies for the kids with our kid's names on the cookies, respectively. It was the perfect welcome that I could never have anticipated.

Room Tip: I really like being on the ground floor and having a personal patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, The Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at The Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.