We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
The Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Complimentary
Ranked #1 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very pleased with our one-night stay at the Grand Del Mar. The staff was friendly and helpful. The facilities are amazing (some of the decor is a little over the top but fun to take in). Pools are great. Resort is kid friendly. Obviously not a budget hotel, but fair value. No resort fee (congratulations to the management for this!), reasonably prized breakfast at Amaya ($60 for two). This resort compares favorably to many Ritz Carlton Resorts that we have visited in the past (somehow feels one notch up from Ritz Resorts). Location is isolated, but this is part of the appeal. Hope to visit again soon and play some golf, as well.

Room Tip: Got the impression that all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    64
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
269
359
17
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our last stop on a weeklong California trip and the perfect way to wind down a tiring trip. Rooms, pools, restaurants and all public areas are beautiful. We loved that they offered different activities at the resort, such as kayaking, fitness classes, etc. The fitness center is also very nice. We would love to come back soon!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

It's a little out there in terms of location. Premises are kept really nice. Staff was ok not great. The room I stayed in was average, but I was expecting more. On positive side, rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDelMar, Executive Director of Rooms at The Grand Del Mar, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. While we are pleased to hear you found our grounds and room cleanliness exceptional, it is disappointing that every aspect of your stay wasn't as notable.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, I kindly invite you to respond to my direct message at your convenience.

Sincerely,
Nenad Praporski, Executive Director of Rooms
The Grand Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We spent three days at the Grand Del Mar and it is hands down, the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The Hotel and grounds are beautiful. We would leave out of the back of our room, which dumped into the gardens and just go for a walk around the grounds. My 9 year old daughter was in awe. The service on top of this, is what makes this place so special. It's spectacular yet down to earth, which to me make it's better than a Ritz from a service aspect. They never say "No", and genuinely seem to care about your enjoyment. It's as if everyone is invested in the property.

We have been to a lot of nice places, but I would say the Grand was heads and shoulders above the rest.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

After a year, I was offered a free spa massage after my initial visit (see my original review).

The spa services were wonderful, I received a glass of champagne with lovely chocolates to accompany.

This spa is lovely. I had a wonderful return. I will be back.

Thank you for extending this offer to me.

Room Tip: Spa visit only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel was not only incredibly nice, it was very family friendly. We didn't feel at all uncomfortable with our 2-year-old daughter at any of the restaurants or around the hotel. In addition, we called in advance to see if they would be able to let us check in early (we had a cranky, over-travelled toddler) and they accommodated us.
I have never stayed anywhere with such incredible service. Truly a remarkable resort, we hope to make an annual trip to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a few days with our kids during a week away in San Diego. As we had just been staying in La Jolla (right on the beach and during the Concourse de Elegance) this place was really quite and quite remote. If you are into the golf/retirement high-end spa type of isolation, then this is your place.
My one HUGE issue here was discovering that the equestrian facility was not only closed, but had been for some time and will, according to the staff, not reopen. Sad. A big part of booking this place was to scout it out for a company meeting where, as odd as it may seem, horses would be a focus for us. When I asked about future possibilities for a couture type meeting (with a small number of high-end/olympic level performance horses) I was completely dismissed by the staff without any further questions or attempts to assist. For a luxury establishment, that's really not the level of service expected. Still, this is likely not going to be the issue for most folks who book and stay here so I'll move on...
The rooms are lovely and every single thing is decorated to a "T" down to the inscribed sink drains. The tapestry is extravagant and tasteful and the amenities are lovely, really soaking you in the "luxury" feel. The grounds are spotless and, strangely, really feel like Las Vegas - so over the top is every feature. It's pricey, but kid-friendly with lots of options and luxuries should you choose to enjoy them. In the end, I'd say it's a 5 star setup, but still a bit rusty on the delivery. Below is a simple summary:

Pros: Gorgeous, quiet, golf, tennis, swimming and spa resort with equestrian facilities (now closed on site) nearby.

Cons: Service can be short and snooty, "shuttle service" never available, all requests were denied or ignored (room with pool view, no further info on private business meeting accommodations, etc.), expensive and remote (not many dinner options outside of resort)

Would I come back? Maybe, maybe not.

Room Tip: Be specific and make sure you get what you asked for at these prices. We found that other guests wh...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not a major focus that we could see, but have now read their practices.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDelMar, Executive Director of Rooms at The Grand Del Mar, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your thorough feedback and kind comments about our Mediterranean design and family-friendly offerings.

We are working to reopen our onsite equestrian center. In the meantime, we do offer offsite trail rides and horseback riding through a partnership with nearby stables. I apologize that our colleagues did not correctly relay this information.

I would like to personally ensure that you receive answers to all of your questions about hosting a meeting at The Grand Del Mar. If you would like to discuss future possibilities, please respond to my direct message at your convenience.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Nenad Praporski, Executive Director of Rooms
The Grand Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, The Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at The Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.