We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Del Mar

Save Saved
You added The Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Complimentary
Ranked #1 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Gorgeous grounds
Large bathroom
Decent sized room
Close (approx 15 to 20 min from legoland to La jolla) to major attractions
Great pools for kids - swam in November
Great pool for adults - lap pool
Delicious food, albeit expensive

Had a relaxing time with 5 year old and 9 month old. Accommodating with infants and little kids. Planning to come back next year.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    668
    53
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
211
290
14
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This trip was set up through work, but I can say that I have never been more happy to be at a resort. I never understood why people would spend so much money on a room, but this was well worth it. The grounds, restaurants, spa, activities, everything was great! My room was spectacular with views of the grounds. I enjoyed sitting on my patio reading while relaxing. An evening soak in the tub was great as well. I cannot wait to return here and eat at Addison where I had the best beef I've ever eaten (and I'm from the midwest where beef is king)! It is not right on the beach, so if you're looking for that beach experience, you will have to drive the 15 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great Resort with awesome facilities, I have hesitation is recommending this resort as truly 5 star resort. One of the best resort employees I have ever seen. We will keep coming back and keep recommending this resort to friends and family.

Room Tip: All the rooms are having amazing view of stunning golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dartford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

An impressive drive up to an impressive hotel, through what looked like an impressive golf course. First impressions were good and didnt disappoint. The service on arrival was excellent and continued throughout with champagne and even a cake delivered to the room for my birthday. Pool and hot tub areas were clean with under water music a new one to me. Dinner was superb and the bar areas also nice. We were only here a couple of nights but managed to relax totally after the mayhem of a Vegas trip before. Only small downsides were that we founf it quite a long way from anywhere we wnated to visit, so location couldve been better for us , but thats probably our fault, and we lost an item of clothing from our room, not that i thought it was deliberate as i think it probably got caught up in the linen but still a little annoying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I did not have the pleasure of staying at this fine hotel. I work for a company that provides hotel childcare. I've seen and interacted with the staff of all of the top hotels in the San Diego area. I received the best service from the staff at the grand Del Mar. They didn't have to cater to me I pay no one's bills. But they did, every single staff member that I came in contact with. The location is lively as are the rooms. But the real reason to stay here is the service.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Amazing amenities, room was spacious and luxurious, view was breathtaking. Very, very quiet at night - was looking foward to the live music but by 9/9:30 it was finished. Hotel arranged for a car to pick us up and take us into town for some live music. Very relaxing stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I just recently returned from 4 days at the Grand Del Mar and am trying to pinch myself awake from the dream. What an amazing resort, spectacular staff and a gorgeous and relaxing setting. The trip was work related, but still the experience was top notch. Every staff member was overly accommodating and there whenever you needed something. Food was fantastic at all outlets. I highly suggest the breakfast burrito at Club M and their fish tacos for lunch. The golf course facilities are amazing and the staff super welcoming. The only thing I didn't get to use was the spa but heard from other guests that it was top notch also.

After working years in the travel and resort industry I can honestly say that The Grand Del Mar is the BEST resort I have ever visited on every level.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous, the Grand Room is where we stayed and it was roomy for two people, nice pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Del Mar

Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
The Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, The Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at The Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.