We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place, excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration Package
Ranked #1 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beautiful place, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I didn't stay at this place, but met a friend here for dinner, The grounds are immaculate and the buildings gorgeous. No expense was spared to build this place. My friend has actually stayed here and said the service is out of this world. We met at the bar (exceptional service) and had dinner at the restaurant. Food and service were both excellent - I hated to leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    78
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
324
414
19
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just returned from an exquisite weekend at the Grand Del Mar. We were upgraded to a Terrace Room by the adult pool and spent every morning with coffee and paper soaking up the rising sun. The room was phenominal, we didn't have to leave - but we did! The golf course was in great shape and our fore-caddy helped us keep our scores low. The restaurants (Addison and Amaya ... but Addison especially) are superb! We loved our stay and would highly recommend the hotel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels on the West Coast - from Vancouver, BC (Canada) to San Diego (California), This is, BY FAR, the most incredible RESORT I have stayed at on the West Coast. From the incredible rooms to the service to the expansive grounds - ALL Top Notch ! And, Addison, their signature restaurant (located in a separate building) is breathtaking ! This resort is a MUST if you want to experience a Five Star Plus situation.

Room Tip: Suite 151/153 is INCREDIBLE ! A Palazzo Suite, as I recall. NOT inexpensive but an experience NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Spa at the Grand is definitely a quiet oasis. Going back and forth from the jacuzzi to the pool while having your server bring drinks and lunch makes for a great day of rest and relaxation. The gym isn't a great place to have a good work out. But, I did have a nice jog on the treadmills. I always go to the Grand when I want a peaceful day of R & R. If you're looking for a fun and exciting day at the pool, then I recommend La Costa Resort & Spa up north in Carlsbad. They are two completely different experiences so it just depends what you're in the mood for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

From the minute you enter the property, until you leave, you feel completely pampered and special. The staff are truly wonderful & genuine. The adult pool was a welcome experience. Most resorts will have an adult pool, but allow kids. Not here! Not only is the service great, but they actually bring you water in a cup!

We did the Sat. nature hike, which was really nice. It was 2 hours - 4 miles, with a botanist. if you like this type of stuff, it was great.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreland Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are looking for a top of the line luxury resort, look no further. The Grand Del Mar rivaled our stays at Four Seasons' and Ritz properties around the world for incredible service, and the architectural details there were top notch no matter where you looked! We enjoyed the Relaxation Pool several days during our stay (which piped spa music underwater) but let you relax to the sounds of nature and water otherwise. The Spa was intimate and delightful with lots of private spaces to relax. Go early and enjoy! (We had the best couples massage we have ever had there!) The food in the restaurants (and the ambiance) was so good you might find yourself moaning through your meal. But the service is truly what sets it apart. My husband forgot his tie for a wedding we were attending and the Assistant Manager called several staff to our room to find the right one to match his suit.

Room Tip: I recommend splurging on a suite here. They are spectacular and larger than most with special featur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our second time here in 2 months, because we liked it so much! This hotel was a big part in our decision to come back to San Diego. The service is exceptional. Always greeted with a smile, and not a fake one. The staff is great, they treat you right but nothing pompous. The architecture is amazing and the surroundings so peaceful. Don't know if i can say anything bad as this is the best hotel we've stayed in (and we are always in 4-5star hotels), so this says a lot. Loved how they will organize a little set-up for you if you want to go to the beach. It might feel a bit expensive but once you experience it, it is worth ten times what you pay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Loved facing the adult pool because you get to see the beautiful architecture of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 25 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#7 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,929 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#73 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in California. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.