We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service staff bumped up the rating from 3 to 4” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
The Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Complimentary
Ranked #1 of 269 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service staff bumped up the rating from 3 to 4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Check-in: Last minute change of plans meant that reservation was cancelled but then re-booked on the same day. Called the front desk from Houston to inform of late check in due to delayed flight. They said they would welcome us whenever we arrive in San Diego. Staff at front desk informed me that they could not find the booking when we reached GDM at 11pm. They had plenty of vacant rooms so they "accepted" us by assigning a ground level room which overlooked a nice garden setting. The person at front desk agreed to investigate the booking error/s and let us know what had happened the next day. Did not hear back from that employee after that weird check in experience.

Room: Impressive size and luxurious fittings are all around. Floor plan was interesting, the noise levels were hush quiet and the overall comfort factor was very high. Bed was squeaky and had cobwebs on the tall head side posts. Another mixed experience here.

Service: 11/10. Nothing more to say.

Eating options: The mini bar is filled with standard 5 star fare. Nothing exceptional could be found but still managed to run up a bill of $100 for the mini bar alone. In room dinner on first night was 8/10 which was somewhat expected because the chefs were probably snoozing by the time we ordered food. Dined at Club M the next day with prior reservations indicating that we would be celebrating our engagement. Welcome desk was not staffed when we walked in and we had to call them from inside the place to find and get seated at our table. Staff had reserved a nice table and along came the complimentary bubbly to celebrate our anniversary instead of the recent engagement. The servers apologized for the mix up and we were pleased with the overall experience. The complimentary cheese cake at the end was exceptional and definitely made up for the petty mix up at welcome. In room breakfast the next day was amazing.

Overall: 4/5 rating was solely secured by the service staff at GDM. All employees at GDM must pride themselves over the courtesy and accuracy of service extended to the guests and they rightly should. Zero personal touch from hotel and the staff with regards to the fact that we were celebrating our engagement was a miss. I expected at least a few nice flowers for my fiancée. There was no wow factor that would compel us to repeat the experience. Grand Del Mar was expected to be a rarity but it just turned out to be a norm.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDelMar, Manager at The Grand Del Mar, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Congratulations on your recent engagement, and thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us! We appreciate your detailed review and are working with our team to improve the experiences that fell short of perfection. It is wonderful to hear our colleagues delivered Five-Star service, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back. We kindly invite you to respond to our private message.

Sincerely,
Nenad Praporski, Executive Director of Rooms
The Grand Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    67
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
285
384
19
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
matfen
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Was fortunate enough to stay here for 3 nights, what an absolute pleasure. Everything about this place is perfect. The rooms are beautiful, the grounds amazing.The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Huge bathrooms with walk in closet and a tv, was lovely to sink into a deep bath and watch the tv. Customer service is second to none, was thoroughly looked after, the room maid neatly folded our cable ties with ribbons each day!!! We dined in both the Addison and the Amaya restaurants, both were delicious. My daughter had room service one evening, they bring it on a tray and neatly laid it out on the desk. It's very pricey here but worth it for a special treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I went for my niece's graduation from university in San Diego. I absolutely loved this hotel. The pool felt like silk and was the perfect temperature. I play 9 holes of golf and did really well until the sand traps on the 9th. The room was spacious and nicely appointed. I would love to go again but this was really a once in a lifetime for me so I'm happy I took advantage of it. Back to Bestwestern for me.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spend around 90 nights a year in luxury hotels all over the world, and rarely does a property stand out. The Grand Del Mar is one that really does. Nestled in a beautiful location 25 mins from downtown San Diego and around 15 mins from La jolly. This place is perfection on steroids. The rooms are huge and fully appointed with everything you could want. The service is great but not over bearing and the setting is heavenly. I loved this place. Granted you are not in the middle of the city and need a car to go anywhere, but that is a small price to pay to experience this amazing place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Found this hotel on the Internet and booked our stay based on outstanding trip advisor reviews. What a find! Everything was perfect! The room, the service, the grounds, the restaurants, were everything you could possible want from a top resort. It is recently built but has old world charm. There are 2 pool areas, we opted for the relaxation pool near the spa which does not allow cell phones or children. When a cell phone conversation from one of the nearby balcony rooms could be overheard at the pool, security was sent to alert the woman that her conversation was disturbing the serenity of the relaxation pool. Now that's service! We could not get a last minute reservation at the top rated Addison restaurant and instead ate twice at the Amaya restaurant. Each meal was delicious and beautifully presented. We are sure to return here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a true Luxury Hotel. I stay in hotels often that are rated 4 and 5 star, and this room trumps just about any other. the location allows for large rooms (our bathroom was the size of a NYC hotel room) and they spared no expense. I would stay here again if i was in the area for sure.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms around the gardens are great. they are away from the pool area and have a nice l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

First, this is our second stay at the GDM. We loved it so much we had to come back. This time, we went with 5 other couples all of whom have traveled extensively and have stayed in leading hotels all over the world. Every one of us said we could not think of one hotel that was better than the Grand del Mar. I defy anyone to find a single flaw in this spectacular resort. The Grand del Mar feels like a 'world away'... Thank you staff for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, The Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in California. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at The Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.