We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forever Spoiled!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
The Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Complimentary
Ranked #1 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auburn
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Forever Spoiled!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wow...I could probably write pages & pages about our unbelievable expe reinvent we just had the past 5 nights here, but I'll try to be brief (but I don't want to leave anything out!)

Before we came, concierage was so helpful lining up outside activities! Holly even arranged for us to have a courtesy car take us to lunch in La Jolla one day (parking would be difficult the July 4th weekend), get us fron lunch to our kayak outfitter & after our kayak (this is a service the hotel provides). It was so nice!

The resort is simply exquisite. This was definitely a splurge for us, but after staying here, not one regret! Worth every penny. The detailing in the decor not just in the main areas but in the guest rooms...crown moulding in the bathrooms, great lighting, heavy wooden doors, even decorative a/c vents! The beds were so comfortable. The balcony off our room was so nice. Complimentary water bottles every night in the room & at the valet. Flat screen TV centered in a decorative frame on the wall. Huge bathroom with huge tub (Bath salts replenished each day & rose petals!), large shower, Dressing area.

Service: staff is so friendly and they remember your name. Our driver (Kirk) who took us to La Jolla two days before saw my son & struck up a conversation him about basketball (what they talked about before). When we realized after the gift shop closed that we forgot my son's contact solution, she called for security to open the doors. When we realized the gift shop didn't have any, an employee gave us some of theirs. The pool service is great- place towels out for you, food is brought on bed trays to make eating & lounging easier.

The fitness room was impressive! Although I did not take a class, workout classes were available every day.every workout equipment you could want was in this facility (even bands, Pilates rings, bosu & stability balks).

Lots of different areas around the hotel to sit, relax, enjoy a drink. The lounges were beautiful...again, the detail in the decor. No expense was spared in building & furnishing this resort. Even the lounge chairs by the pool were high end.

Coffee is complimentary before 8am FYI in their cafe.

Must try the smoothies- I had one every day. And their ice cream...homemade!

And even though this resort has the high class appearance of an adult-only resort, it was very family friendly. We were there from July 4-9, so lots of families in the beginning of our stay.

They have fun activities for kids/families each day. We participated the the Glow in the Dark driving competition.

I'm a germaphobe & I'll say this is the first place I never worried about cleanliness in the room (bedding included).

We have stayed at alot of nice places, but this blew them all out of the water. We are forever spoiled!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    69
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
287
386
19
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to spend a night here recently to celebrate our birthdays. From start to finish, I was thoroughly impressed by the standard of the service by all the staff who remembered our names and treated us like VIPs (thanks Brittany for organising everything so effectively in advance!)

We were delighted to find Prosecco and cake had been delivered for our birthdays when we got to the room. The room itself, a pool-side King room, is among the larger and most beautiful I have stayed in anywhere in the world, with an enormous bathroom and walk in wardrobe. Having access to the adult only pool from our patio was a plus and the poolside waiters looked after our every need (bringing around small snacks of fruit and smoothies regularly as well as setting up all the loungers/shade for us). The grounds are pretty and it's worth a walk around.

We ate at Addison, which has won various awards for being San Diego's top restaurant. The meal itself was delicious and the service impeccable but the restaurant was so large and there were so few diners inside that we felt a little bit as though we were eating in a big, empty hall (though we were there on a Wednesday so possibly a less busy day). I was very surprised (having not seen a menu or price list either on the website or in the restaurant itself) that the meal came to over $1000 (8 course tasting menu with wine matching) for two of us. This makes it more expensive to eat at than the double Michelin starred Le Gavroche in central London which is fully booked everyday three months in advance! Although more expensive than more acclaimed restaurants, we did have a great meal and great time.

Overall we had a great time and the Grand Del Mar deserves the highly rated reviews - come here and enjoy having your every need looked after!

Room Tip: We loved our poolside King room by the adults only pool- definitely worthwhile if you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just spent five wonderful days at this beautiful hotel and enjoyed every minute of our stay.
We felt like we were in Italy as the hotel looks like a villa with beautiful grounds and gardens.
The staff could not have been more friendly and inviting. Our room was a very nice size and well appointed.
The restaurants were amazing as well and the best part was that we were able to bring our small puppy with us. They provide you with dog bowls and a bed.
We can't wait to return to the wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hubby and I just spent three nights at the Grand Del Mar. I'm a tough critic and could not find fault anywhere with this experience. Bed- perfect. Food - perfect. Activities and amenities - perfect. Service with all the extras - past perfect. If you have the opportunity, stay here. And experience the Addison restaurant if you can afford - most expensive meal we have ever had!

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our second time at GDM. We first visited in 2009, at the depth of the financial crisis. We hoped they'd survive. Undoubtedly, they did. What a beautiful, incredibly decorated and detailed property. Truly 5 star. The service, every bit of it, was exceptional. The food terrific, with a great choice of restaurants. The facilities were great as well, from the fitness center to the pools with music piped in underwater (!). For golfers, the Fazio course is beautiful as was the practice facility - top notch. The only thing we'd do differently, when we visited again, would be to ask for a room on the first floor. The spa was also terrific. The grounds are so beautiful we wished we could have breakfast sitting outside our room or walk through the gardens and out to the pool or for a hike. The GDM was terrific in every way, very similar to Pelican Hill in Newport Coast, just north. Highly recommend, part of the Fine Hotels and Resort program if you are an AMEX Platinum Card holder....

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We only stayed there one night in October 2012 for a wedding but my wife and I were blown away. The Grand Del Mar is situated on an amazing piece of property. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are have the utmost luxurious feeling to them. If we ever need a future "getaway" weekend, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a working vacation at the Grand Del Mar. The property is beautiful and immaculately clean. The grounds are charming. The service was unbeatable. Every person we came into contact with made us feel so welcomed and at the ready to do whatever it was we needed to make our stay enjoyable. Our last evening we had a dinner for our group in one of the ballrooms and our waiter seemed more than happy to accommodate menu item changes for my dietary restrictions. There were no rolled eyes or the typical "let me see if we can do that," etc. He happily said no problem and took care of things perfectly.

I was fortunate enough to be able to enjoy both their spa and salon services which were nice.

They have both an adult pool and a family pool. We used the adult pool and enjoyed the service there as well.

The rooms are large and kept very clean. They offer twice daily housekeeping service. The rooms come with a Nespresso machine and the water is changed daily and coffee pods are also restocked daily. Despite never asking for it, our ice bucket was filled with ice nightly during the turndown service.

We enjoyed Amaya for breakfast. We were able to sit outside on the patio and take in the courtyard view. Our other meals at the Grand Del Mar were prearranged for our group at different locations on the property. The meals were all very delicious and the venues pleasing.

Although there are many beautiful hotels in California, the Grand Del Mar is definitely a winner. The weather can not be beat and as previously mentioned, the grounds, rooms and service are all top notch. While the Grand Del Mar does not have ocean views, it makes up for this by the service it offers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, The Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in California. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at The Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.