We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful five day at The Grand Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Complimentary
Ranked #1 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful five day at The Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just spent five wonderful days at this beautiful hotel and enjoyed every minute of our stay.
We felt like we were in Italy as the hotel looks like a villa with beautiful grounds and gardens.
The staff could not have been more friendly and inviting. Our room was a very nice size and well appointed.
The restaurants were amazing as well and the best part was that we were able to bring our small puppy with us. They provide you with dog bowls and a bed.
We can't wait to return to the wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    72
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
292
389
19
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hubby and I just spent three nights at the Grand Del Mar. I'm a tough critic and could not find fault anywhere with this experience. Bed- perfect. Food - perfect. Activities and amenities - perfect. Service with all the extras - past perfect. If you have the opportunity, stay here. And experience the Addison restaurant if you can afford - most expensive meal we have ever had!

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our second time at GDM. We first visited in 2009, at the depth of the financial crisis. We hoped they'd survive. Undoubtedly, they did. What a beautiful, incredibly decorated and detailed property. Truly 5 star. The service, every bit of it, was exceptional. The food terrific, with a great choice of restaurants. The facilities were great as well, from the fitness center to the pools with music piped in underwater (!). For golfers, the Fazio course is beautiful as was the practice facility - top notch. The only thing we'd do differently, when we visited again, would be to ask for a room on the first floor. The spa was also terrific. The grounds are so beautiful we wished we could have breakfast sitting outside our room or walk through the gardens and out to the pool or for a hike. The GDM was terrific in every way, very similar to Pelican Hill in Newport Coast, just north. Highly recommend, part of the Fine Hotels and Resort program if you are an AMEX Platinum Card holder....

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We only stayed there one night in October 2012 for a wedding but my wife and I were blown away. The Grand Del Mar is situated on an amazing piece of property. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are have the utmost luxurious feeling to them. If we ever need a future "getaway" weekend, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a working vacation at the Grand Del Mar. The property is beautiful and immaculately clean. The grounds are charming. The service was unbeatable. Every person we came into contact with made us feel so welcomed and at the ready to do whatever it was we needed to make our stay enjoyable. Our last evening we had a dinner for our group in one of the ballrooms and our waiter seemed more than happy to accommodate menu item changes for my dietary restrictions. There were no rolled eyes or the typical "let me see if we can do that," etc. He happily said no problem and took care of things perfectly.

I was fortunate enough to be able to enjoy both their spa and salon services which were nice.

They have both an adult pool and a family pool. We used the adult pool and enjoyed the service there as well.

The rooms are large and kept very clean. They offer twice daily housekeeping service. The rooms come with a Nespresso machine and the water is changed daily and coffee pods are also restocked daily. Despite never asking for it, our ice bucket was filled with ice nightly during the turndown service.

We enjoyed Amaya for breakfast. We were able to sit outside on the patio and take in the courtyard view. Our other meals at the Grand Del Mar were prearranged for our group at different locations on the property. The meals were all very delicious and the venues pleasing.

Although there are many beautiful hotels in California, the Grand Del Mar is definitely a winner. The weather can not be beat and as previously mentioned, the grounds, rooms and service are all top notch. While the Grand Del Mar does not have ocean views, it makes up for this by the service it offers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and had one of the most relaxing holidays ever.

The hotel is situated away from other properties and upon arrival it feels like you are arriving in a private estate. The building is exquisite! Our rooms were facing the adult pool and it has a balcony facing the pool.
The room was very spacious, bathroom had 2 basins and there was a beautiful desk and 1 corner couch in the room. We had room service 2 nights and the server set our table up and delivered our dish as if it was in a restaurant.
The adult pool was quiet and relaxing. We spent nearly 2 days by the pool and the service was exceptional.
I also signed up for a hike Saturday morning, it was very relaxing and knowledgeable with a local guide.
The gym was also very extensive and clean.

We ate at the 2 restaurants in the hotel and the for was good but wasn't exceptional as such。
Overall it was one of the most amazing experience, we felt like it was home away from home, it was super relaxing and the service was faultless. Truely a place to come and relax.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I live in San Diego, so go to The Grand Del Mar for events, parties and dinners with friends. Recently I attended an event in which a movie was screened (documentary called SOMM) and prior to the screening, both appetizers and various wines were served. It was a splendid event - each of The Grand Del Mar restaurants (Addison, Amaya, etc.) offered a delectable item (lamb, risotto, corn chowder with shrimp, kobe beef slider, salmon) with various wine purveyors. They also had a great cheese and charcuterie table. During the movie, they had tables with popcorn and candy. It was well executed and fun. The Grand Del Mar knows how to make events special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, The Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in California. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at The Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.