We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part 2...Even Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Del Mar

Save Saved
You added The Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Complimentary
Ranked #1 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Part 2...Even Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Back again at this terrific resort. This time had a suite that was large with a fireplace and two terraces outside the living room and bedroom.
Staff was just great and they are very helpful. From the complimentary shoe shine to the nightly turndown service the staff works very hard to make your stay outstanding.
The fitness area is great and well maintained. A wide variety of cardio machines and weights. Walking trails at and around the property are also good.

If you enjoy golf the course is very challenging and a treat to play. Wide variety of holes with elevated tees and challenging par 3s. The clubhouse is very nice and the staff superb. Play with a fore caddy who will take great care of you.

This is a large resort so if you have issues with walking request a room on the 3rd floor since that is the main floor.

Put this on your must stay list and this is from a fussy traveler.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    764
    59
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
249
331
15
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Rooms are wonderful, restaurants are great but the staff and service are unbelievable! I have recommended this hotel to many friends and they all say the same thing when they return...What a wonderful place to stay! Will definitely go back many times!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
551 helpful votes 551 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel once before and enjoyed our stay enough to want to make a return visit. It is easy to understand why this hotel drew us back. It is a very impressive and relaxing place to stay. The main public spaces are a step back in time to the gilded age of a hundred years ago. The grounds and exterior of the hotel make you feel like you are in Tuscany. The resort environment makes for a restful and comfortable place to unwind.

We stayed in a terrace room overlooking the adult pool area. We did not request this location, but were very happy with our placement. I like to swim and with the cool December weather, it was very nice to be able to return to the room quickly after a nice morning swim in the well heated pool. The terrace itself is a nice feature, as you have much more room to enjoy the outdoors with two comfortable chairs. Most of the rooms with balconies lack furniture because the space is too small. Our room was very plush and comfortable. Some may find it a little too regal and un-Californian, but we liked it. It did lack the window into the bathroom that makes the room more architecturally interesting. This feature seems to be in most rooms overall. The room also lacked the curved couch also found in most rooms, instead our room had a large lounge chair and ottoman.

As mentioned, the rest of the hotel is impressive and the kind of place you want to make sure you have plenty of time to truly enjoy. There are several nice places to have meals or drinks. The pools and spas are in attractive settings. The gym is pretty big for a hotel and can provide you with a full workout. We have never used the spa. The grounds are well maintained and worth venturing around with pathways and fountains.

The hotel is located on its own, but it is easy to get on the highway and be off quickly to wherever you need to be. We did have one issue during our stay that can happen at resort hotels like this from time to time. An epic charity event occurred on one night during our stay. We had to wait in a line for seventeen minutes to drop off our car to the valet after dinner out. Inside the hotel was overwhelmed and our chance to have a drink in the beautiful and very elegant bar was lost. We know hotels need to hold events like this, but we wished management had informed their guests ahead of time to expect this, just as a courtesy.

This hotel is a true full resort experience that sets itself apart with its elegant old world atmosphere that has been beautifully executed. A stay here should be very memorable.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms can be nice because they have more space to enjoy the outdoors - but with less privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful resort I have visited in California, the team members are all great. The rooms are more than comfortable and well appointed, the house keeping staff was attentive and delivering a persoalized service, the food at Amaya restaurant was of a very good quality as much as the server and sommelier. The food at the bar was good as well. They have a courtesy car as well. Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A wonderful hotel! The rooms were by far the best of all the hotels we have ever visited - and we have stayed in some pretty high-end places all around the world… The staff was warm and welcoming and very helpful when it came to discussing the Grand Del Mar as our potential wedding site. We took full advantage of all the hotel has to offer, including the scenic hiking trail, the olympic size pool, and the cozy restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

You will not be disappointed....from the moment the bellmen/doormen greet you to passing housekeeping in the hallway wishing you a genuine good day. Not a detail was missed. The building and property are spectacular. The wait and bar staff were top notch on every detail. In particular Megan and Alison. We never return to the same resort or hotel but we intend to return the Grand Del Mar.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the complimentary car service into La Jolla or Del Mar. Hiking trails were terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip; an offsite event that spanned 4 days. I could not have been more pleased with this hotel. The grounds are exquisite and I felt like I might be in the south of France. Had lunch on the Veranda, fantastic! Attended a party at the hilltop bar. We were treated exceptionally well and I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something very special. One of my absolute favorites!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, The Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at The Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.