We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
The Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Complimentary
Ranked #1 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were able to stay here through our timeshare points, as there were no other locations available in SD that our timeshare could find so last minute. All I have to say is Oh My God. This place is over-the-top, out-of-control luxury at its impeccable finest. Lifestyles of the Rich & Famous is exactly what it is. To stay here is extremely expensive but once you enter, you almost never want to leave! At first, we felt extremely strange at the staff's behavior - they treated us like royalty, no matter how we looked or dressed. All the staff are trained in high courtesy standards as they do not greet with a "Hi" or "Hello". No sireebob. They ALL (even housekeeping and maintenance) greet us with a "Good Morning" "Good Afternoon" or "Good Evening". Extremely classy and I commend their treatment to all its clients. If I could, I'd come here multiple times a year to relax. And one thing to knock your socks off - when you go into their relaxation adult pool, you actually hear music under water. Pretty darn out of this world. Thank you Del Mar!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    63
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
261
348
15
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel has already excellent reviews and now i know why ! I cannot remember (and i travel a lot) when i received such an excellence service throughout my stay; and the hotel is sooo nice, even if i try hard, i cannot find anything negative. If i would come back in that area, i would go there again for sure !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The GDM represents over the top luxury tucked away in its own lttle (well, actually big) world in northern San Diego County. The main restaurant, where I didn't dine, is supposed to be one of the best in the region (sadly closed on Sunday and Monday--the precise two days I was there). The architecture is strongly reminiscent of the grand Mizner designed palaces in South Florida-very unusual to find in California. Public spaces are massive and designed in almost giddy luxury. My room--no balcony--had a big comfortable bed, huge bathroom, and high end furnishings (complete with gold fixtures). The hotel is surrounded by its own highly ranked golf course, and includes a couple of pools, riding stables, archery, etc. The beach is about a 15 minute drive away. In fact, if you stay here you should plan on staying on the premises as outside facilities aren't particularly close by. The staff--mostly young people--are friendly and extremely helpful. This is a great "getaway" destination if you plan on using the hotel itself for all your activities. It would not be a good choice for business travellers to San Diego or for anyone who prefers to spend a lot of time "in town." It's certainly not cheap, but, given the overall high quality of the accomodations, the rates are fair. Since I was attending a conference on site, the hotel was a good choice for me. I dined at the "second" restaurant (forgot the name)--it was fine, but not the destination experience the flagship restaurant is supposed to represent.

Room Tip: I didn't have a balcony and would have preferred one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We are here on our last day of a 6 night stay for a meeting. It is by far the nicest, most luxurious resort we have ever stayed in. We have stayed at Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, the Broadmore etc... and this is by far the most outstanding, a feeling shared by all the members here with our meeting. The staff and the service here is beyond compare. The espresso machines in every room has been a big hit and the bath tubs are truely big enough you can float in! The adults only relaxation pool is very peaceful and there are also several other pools. The restaurants on site are very good and they do an outstanding catering for meetings. And of course the San diego weather is incomparable.
If anyone gets the chance to come here don't pass it up! It will truely be the most incredible stay you'll ever have. You'll feel like royalty!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Summary: The hotel and all it's amenities are without a doubt 5 stars. Guest services (front desk/valet/concierge) would make someone with depression feel happy and special. Food and beverage (excluding Addison because it's closed on Sundays) was decent and the food/beverage service was good but nothing special.

Detailed Review: I was staying here by myself for one night only to see if this hotel/resort really lived up to the hype. And once you arrive at the front door you're welcomed with warmth and comfort by guest services. The room wasn't ready until past the check in time of 4pm but it was a convenient inconvenience because I was able to lay out by the adult pool and enjoy a cocktail. The drink service poolside was not very attentive and kind of a buzz killer. I then wanted to have a little dinner and people watch and concierge services hit the nail on the head by recommending a nice trendy restaurant in the Gas Lamp Quarter. They set me up with directions and reservations pretty much instantly. I was very impressed by how seamless concierge services takes all your requests and makes them happen with little issue. The room I stayed in was a basic King but it had to of been the most elegant hotel room I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. I went for dessert at the bar of Amaya. The dessert was decent but the service at the bar was mediocre. Being the only person sitting at the bar I was only made as comfortable as I had to be to eat a dessert. Nothing more. The following morning I wanted to visit the pro shop and it was also recommended to have breakfast at the grill of Club M. Again, the food was decent with mediocre service. Next, it was time to check out and guest services was again really impressive in getting me on my way and to the airport with a fabulous comfortable limo service that I would also recommend taking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho mirage
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I spent our fourth anniversary at the Grand Del Mar and from the moment we entered the lobby we were in heaven. The shear beauty of the place is something to be seen. You can stand in one spot and behold the beauty and detailing from ceiling to floors...and they are all
different, from room to room. We have traveled alot and stayed in many beautiful hotels, but none come close to this one. We were upgraded to a gorgeous suite and a bottle of bubbly was brought to us. We particularily appreciated being in the "adult" wing across from the side for families with children. The staff was the best we have ever encountered in all of our travels, and dinner at the Addison was a wonderful experience. This hotel exceeded even our very high expectations and made for a truly memorable anniversary. Of course, we'll be back next year, if not before!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for adult or children's wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I were in the San Diego area visiting family for the first time. I had chosen to stay at the Grand Del Mar based on reviews at this site. We could not be happier with the results. Our stay at the Grand Del Mar while only three days was so enjoyable and relaxing that we cannot wait to go back. The hotel itself is magnificent. The lobby, public rooms, restaurants and outdoor areas are all immaculate well designed and perfectly maintained. Our room which overlooked the golf course could not have been nicer or more comfortable. I played golf while my wife took advantage of the hotel spa and both were first rate in every way. While I obviously was impressed with the hotel amenities the real credit for our incredible stay at this hotel goes to the staff. From the valets to the hotel management each and every person we encountered could not have been more pleasant and accommodating to my family. There professionalism, kindness and hard work is what set this hotel apart for us. The service is both prompt and attentive without being intrusive. The management deserves credit for this impeccable service. I am grateful to all of the Grand Del Mar staff for making our stay at the hotel so enjoyable and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, The Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at The Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.