We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand by name, Grand by nature - Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
The Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Complimentary
Ranked #1 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Grand by name, Grand by nature - Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The Grand Del Mar is truly one of the most outstanding hotels you will ever stay in - I cannot recommend it enough. Set in the grounds of acres of countryside (ideal for golfers), you could be forgiven for thinking you were in Italy or Spain. The luscious grounds and endless swimming pools provide a relaxing stay for anyone looking to 'get away from it all'. As you would expect, customer service is of a very high standard, and everyone is friendly and welcoming. Rooms are divine, I almost got lost in mine it was that big.. especially the bath! The small touches are lovely too - treats delivered to your room every day and hugely comfortable beds.
Foodies will love this retreat as it serves some of the finest food the area has to offer - no surprise when you consider there's a Michelin star restaurant on site.
The hotel is nestled in a quiet and peaceful area, but it is a taxi ride to the shops, beach and nightlife.
(Free WIFI for 24hrs).

Room Tip: Go visit San Diego Zoo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    64
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
272
368
17
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The hotel was beautiful, very elegant, felt like a grand hotel in Europe, except the room was condsiderably larger. I liked the expresso machine for coffee in the morning (very easy to use and everything was provided for it). The staff was welcoming and very gracious, every need attended to.

We were upgraded because we booked through this site and we received a resort credit and free breakfast the next day.

I would definitely stay there again and book through this site again!
LG/ San Diego

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011 via mobile

Possibly the best hotel I've ever been to. Yes it is expensive, but well worth it. A great place to relax after three weeks touring the USA. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We spent a terrific week here in April. I loved most things about this hotel and we plan to return to stay here again. Most of all I liked the friendly staff. When you travel with two children you can always tell if the staff is trained to be kind and helpful to children. This staff has had top training and are wonderful.
The rooms are very nice despite the decor which is fake Italian (i.e. mirrors made to look worn and distressed and lights made to look like dripping candles). It is true that you have to walk down endless hallways to get to them but they are nice. I asked not to have any air fresheners placed in our room and they listened. We had a little porch with two chairs facing a golf course. My father had a porch (facing a pretty garden) that was too small for even one chair. A big plus would be an addition of screened doors for the porch because it would be nice to have the fresh air without getting mosquitos in the room.
The family pool is not huge but is large enough when the hotel is not too busy. We had it almost to ourselves in April. The landscaping is attractive. The staff is helpful with towels, etc. The first time we used the pool the staff started to clean with a loud smelly machine and we left. I thought they might have waited until it was empty. Also, there was a bit of a mold problem around the pool drain areas that needed to be attended to.
The Amaya restaurant is a great place for breakfast and we tried to go there every morning. We liked to sit on their outdoor terrace. The waiters give top notch service and are super friendly. My kids loved the pancakes and the adults liked the salmon bagels. All were happy with the fresh squeezed orange juice. Once the gardner came around just as we sat down and kept mowing the same patch of grass in front of the restaurant. After several of our requests to make him stop a staff person finally went over to ask him to leave. The hotel should arrange that gardeners come after breakfast and before lunch to work in that area.
At night the hotel provides a variety of musical entertainers. We stayed up one night to listen to an older guy with a great voice play piano and sing standards. He even obliged us with a request for Billy Joel's "Piano Man" complete with harmonica.
The hotel has several walks on it's property and the surrounding area. We were lead by one of the staff to the beginning of two trails that started past the horse stables. We walked on the one that turned right (the less traveled one) and soon noticed that there were ticks crawling all over every one of us! Disgusting. We felt that the hotel should warn the guests that they have a tick problem on these paths and told them so when we returned to shower and change.
We took a stroll around the hotel property and were surprised when a dog came barking out of a ground floor room. The owners stopped it before it reached us. It made me think that I would not be very pleased to have a dog barking in a room near me. Not relaxing.
The spa is good one. My daughter and I went for a massage at the same time. She liked hers (my only complaint with hers was that the lady had a cold) and I liked mine.
For Easter the hotel made it fun for kids by having an egg hunt and other activities.
Advice to fellow travelers: stay at this place if you want a relaxed and upscale hotel with great service.

Advice for the hotel:
Get rid of that awful scented candle that is in the lobby area. It smells very artificial. Also, please get rid of all the fake books and yard sale non-English books that are glued together in the "library" area. Instead, get real books in English that guests can read while visiting you and leave for others. So much more refined and useful!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Had planned a romantic weekend with my husband but his trip to Europe was extended so I went without him and had a marvelous time anyway! The Grand Del Mar is like an Italian palazzo, transplanted to California - no expense spared, everything 100% perfect like it has been there for decades, vs just a few years. Every space is meticulously decorated in good taste, nothing flashy about it. Upon arrival had lunch by the family pool where the waiter recommended grilled fish tacos vs. fried - very tasty, perfectly prepared with a lovely view of golf course and canyons. The family pool is packed with kids in strollers so headed over to the quiet adults-only pool for some peace and quiet. Overheard in the jacuzzi "he's after her trust fund" which does describe the patrons here accurately, if not here for a splurge. Suite was spacious, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean. From my other reviews you will see I'm very picky/hard to please. the turndown service housekeeper is a magician, who tidied up all of my clutter left in bathroom and closet area. Love having a shower and separate tub, a wonderful thing when hotels are cutting corners with shower-only rooms. Had second lunch at Club M adjacent to members' golf club - very good tortilla soup. En route to Club M, checked out the helicopter landing pad..wishful thinking that one day I can return and fly in!

Room Tip: pick your view - pools or canyons
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Wife was at the Grand Del Mar on business and I was the pampered spouse. The place is all flowers and marble. The grounds are beautiful, the spaces are, indeed, grand, and the rooms are plush. Service was cordial and attentive. The pool(s) were nice. There's a golf course next to the hotel which was quite fine if pricy. I played twice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed here for a conference April 2-5. Truly word class service in every way. No hesitation to recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, The Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at The Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.