We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendor in San Diego - Italian palazzo/hotel Room 280” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Del Mar to your Saves list
The Grand Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Complimentary
Ranked #1 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Splendor in San Diego - Italian palazzo/hotel Room 280”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Had planned a romantic weekend with my husband but his trip to Europe was extended so I went without him and had a marvelous time anyway! The Grand Del Mar is like an Italian palazzo, transplanted to California - no expense spared, everything 100% perfect like it has been there for decades, vs just a few years. Every space is meticulously decorated in good taste, nothing flashy about it. Upon arrival had lunch by the family pool where the waiter recommended grilled fish tacos vs. fried - very tasty, perfectly prepared with a lovely view of golf course and canyons. The family pool is packed with kids in strollers so headed over to the quiet adults-only pool for some peace and quiet. Overheard in the jacuzzi "he's after her trust fund" which does describe the patrons here accurately, if not here for a splurge. Suite was spacious, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean. From my other reviews you will see I'm very picky/hard to please. the turndown service housekeeper is a magician, who tidied up all of my clutter left in bathroom and closet area. Love having a shower and separate tub, a wonderful thing when hotels are cutting corners with shower-only rooms. Had second lunch at Club M adjacent to members' golf club - very good tortilla soup. En route to Club M, checked out the helicopter landing pad..wishful thinking that one day I can return and fly in!

Room Tip: pick your view - pools or canyons
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    64
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
269
362
17
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Wife was at the Grand Del Mar on business and I was the pampered spouse. The place is all flowers and marble. The grounds are beautiful, the spaces are, indeed, grand, and the rooms are plush. Service was cordial and attentive. The pool(s) were nice. There's a golf course next to the hotel which was quite fine if pricy. I played twice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed here for a conference April 2-5. Truly word class service in every way. No hesitation to recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The Grand del Mar exceeded every expectation I had. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms (even the basic rooms) are huge and luxurious, and the staff was simply amazing.

Location: located in Carmel Valley, you are 5-10 minutes away from Del Mar and La Jolla. The hotel has a courtesy car and they were able to drive us to most locations we wanted to visit.

Staff: Simply amazing. We were politely greeted by every staff member. The concierge catered to our every need, and the wait staff at Amaya (the cafe at the resort) was superb. The car drivers were excellent as well.

Room: Understated luxury. Finest regular hotel room (non suite) I've ever been in.

Property: Awesome golf course with great views. The on campus nature walks were great as well.

One of the most luxurious hotels I've ever been in, yet everything was very relaxed and not pretentious at all.

I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to "get away" and be pampered.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We just spent 2 nights at the Grand Del Mar and it was lovely in every way! Friendly staff (we loved Jean-Pierre at the pool), great value at both Amaya and Club M for dining (delicious as well), the spa was relaxing and our room was incredible with an even more incredible view! We often stay at the St. Regis in Monarch Beach and the Montage in Laguna and this property is just as fabulous--even more so in many ways...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

The Grand sets out to be one of the very best hotels and achieves it in abundance.From the porters all the way through to the president there is a friendly attention to detail that makes staying there a warm, furry experience. Nothing is overlooked as each guest is seduced in a cocoon of comfort.

I know this all sounds a bit effusive but I was hugely impressed by the way they deliver all their promises. Accomodation, food, hospitality, golf, Spa ,welcome all exceed expectations
Unconditional recommendation.

Room Tip: You must eat at Addisons restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

First, we are well travelled guests. We have stayed at many amazing resorts, including (to name a few, but not limited to....) Four Seasons in many locations, Ritz, Capella Pedregal in Cabo, Kea Lani in Maui, many locations in Italy, Trump and Penninsula in Chicago, Atlantis in Bahamas, the Fountain Blue in Miami and most of the high end resorts in Vegas, and the Grand Del Mar is our favorite by far. We were back for our second visit and brought our friends who are also very well travelled and they were completely blown away.
The resort is independantly owned and the owner lives in a home on the grounds. You can tell he (Doug) has amazing pride. Every detail was thought through. The first time we stayed here was in terrace room at the adult pool and my husband and I had a wonderful stay. This time we were with our family (3 children-4, 6, and 8) and our friends who also have 2 children. We rented a villa and it was completely rock star. Totally worth the nightly rate and we will be back many times. I am already planning my 40th birthday party there for a destination party with friends. Tennis (most amazing tennis pavillion with great instructors-both Rick and Lynn are great! I have played with both of them and I have gone on tennis trips to saddle brook in tampa), amazing golf course, the kids love the explorers club (free to villa guests), great pools, fire pits all over the resort, and a brand new equestiran center with beautiful retired race horses. We did a group lesson with the kids and a trail ride-very beautiful and the kids loved it and it is steps away from the family pool.
We had a meal cooked for us in the villa on the grill and Matt from Amaya was a pleasure to work with and his staff was friendly (jose was great!) and the chef prepared our steaks and sea bass to perfection. what a treat that night was!!
The resort will provide a car for you within 15 miles-so you can get to del mar or la jolla for a nice dinner out.
For those travelling with kids-legoland was only 20 minutes away and we didnt scratch the surface of all the san diego sites.....
We worked with Amanda to plan our stay and activies and she was a complete delight. She was totally accomodating even though we kept changing our minds on daily schedules and activies.
I can't say enough. If you can get there either as a couple (I did a spa day the first time I visited and it was amazing!!!) or as a family.....it is a hidden treasure. You will be completely blown away by the beauty of the grounds.
If you can swing a villa, the most amazing vacation rental villa I have stepped into....I could go on and on, but totally perfect. My only feedback to management (if they read this) is when you build another phase of villas--PLEASE make them four bedrooms!!! 5000 square feet.....you should have accomodations for 2 families....3 bedrooms just is difficult.
That said, it was our favorite spring break and we will be back again and again and again...and if you build a four bedroom villa, we will buy a fractrional share...promise.
Thanks for a wonderful trip to the entire staff at the Grand del Mar-especially Amanda, Jon, Jose, Rick and everyone who helped make it a memorable trip!!!
Absolutely 5 stars....all the way....
oh, I forgot to mention Amaya...delish!!!!
and the workout room was top notch...and our kids loved the explorers club--totatly clean with tons to do!!!
Grounds make you feel like you are in europe somewhere....breathtaking

Room Tip: do the villa if you can, if not, terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDelMar, Front Office Manager at The Grand Del Mar, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
We're happy to hear you enjoyed another visit to The Grand life! Thank you for the feedback about The Villas. We'll be sure to keep that in mind for the next phase. On behalf of the entire Grand team, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, The Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: California's premier triple Five-Star destination and TripAdvisor's #1 Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 41 Five-Star spas in the world, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at The Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to The Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.