We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Thai Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amarin Thai Restaurant

Amarin Thai Restaurant
3843 Richmond St, San Diego, CA 92103-3315
16192966056
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #727 of 4,366 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb Thai Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I finally dragged myself away from my San Diego Oceanaire obsession (see my other review) to a less expensive but excellent Thai restaurant outside the gaslamp district.

This restaurant doesn't need yet another rave review. They fill all of their tables because the locals know they're in for a treat, and it can be moderately priced if you choose wisely and get their special prices. Make sure you reserve your table in advance.

I ordered Tamarind Fish (about $16.00), and it was all I could have hoped for and more. I hesitated before ordering something that was fried, but remembered that when a good Thai chef fries a fish, or crabs, they come out light and not oily. This was certainly the case with this fish. It was crispy but still tasted like fish. I suspect that was the case because they started with a fresh fish and not something pulled out of the freezer. The sauce was one of those you hope to get in a Thai restaurant--exotic, slightly spicy, and enchanting.

If you arrive and order before 7, even on Saturdays, you can get their happy hour specials. The table card is misleading, however. Not all bottles of wine are 50% off before 7; just certain ones are, so you need to ask which ones are included. They also have special prices for appetizers and bar drinks before 7, so take a look. Of course, many of the bars and restaurants on University Ave. also have fabulous happy hour deals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank taifu379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hillcrest area Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Loved it! Great food. Had the Tom Yum soup, vegetarian curry puffs, then one of the house specialities - Mambo Mambo Chicken with red curry and mangos. Fabulous! Staff were all dressed in brightly colored traditional gowns. Waiters and owner were very pleasant and courteous but not intrusive. Good wines. Wonderful experience! Fun area outside on streets for people watching after dinner too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destrehan, Louisiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“tasteful decor, ethnic dress, and spectacular cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

From the outside, this place looks like a little hole in the wall. But once you're inside, the tasteful decor, ethnic dress, and spectacular cuisine transport you to another world.

My "Thai Princess" appetizer was a delightful self-assembly of grilled shrimp, peanut, ginger, red onions, lime, roasted coconut shavings, wrapped in fresh spinach leaves with ginger sauce.Highly recommended, good to share. Tip: do not omit the lime wedges; I know it doesn't sound right but you even eat the peel.

My green curry fish might possibly be the best entree they serve. It is a large serving of very tender steaks of a mild white fish in green curry sauce with both crisp and stringy veggies. The curry saturates all, bringing about maximum flavor. Served with white or brown rice, you can specify your preferred level of heat; I can testify that level 5 is tasty without being "challenging". Since I normally prefer spicy food, next time I would get level 6 or 7.

Diners are dressed casual to sporty. Tables just outside the entrance are covered by an awning and provided with portable heat on chilly evenings. Service is neither rushed nor slow, and although it is not cheap, prices are very reasonable for the quality and quantity of what you get. ($35 incl. tax for this meal, with a glass of wine)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StCharlesLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Delicious! Flavorful! Nice presentation! Good romantic atmosphere! Good Hillcrest location! Probably $$-$$$ depending on what you get! Great service. They know their menus! I love this place. This is my second or third time going and have never been disappointed yet. They also do a great job of food segregation as I am vegan...so great vegan options. They acknowledged that!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego,ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost don't want to tell you abt it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

we're locals who eat here abt twice a month. A family member who has lived in Asia for decades told us abt the restaurant and they know great asian food! The best advice I can give is To go to the back of the menu (skip the standard "touristy" dishes..except the appetizer spring rolls) and order off "curries"... No this isn't Indian curry which we don't like. you select "red" , "green" or "yellow" sauce..and then decide if you want beef, chicken, shrimp, or just veggie. The "green" is a basil sauce, yellow a more hardy sauce with potatoes in it..we love them all but the green basil shrimp curry is heavenly! also in the back of the menu are the noodle dishes to which you add the type of meat you want- the noodles are perfectly tender and mix well with sauces and meat. Prices are reasonable and it's a very pretty restaurant, with white table cloths, beautiful Thai wall hanging and wait staff in gorgeous Tai silk garb. This is popular and weekends it's packed, ESP holidays. We eat here week days..so, go and enjoy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatharineE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarin Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amarin Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing