We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but a little disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Mission Valley to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Camino del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #117 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Irvine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice room but a little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We checked in for a one night stay and were helped by a very welcoming and professional front desk staff. We were given a spacious room on the ninth floor which we were initially very pleased. We quickly realized that we were not able to connect to the internet. Even though I was willing to pay to connect to the internet, I was informed that the network was experiencing problems. This was very inconvenient given that I had a lot of work to do. The agent whom I spoke with on the phone told me I could use the internet in their restaurant but I was anticipating working late into the night which would make it not feasible. I ended up working offline and were hoped to upload my documents to my work server in the lobby upon checkout the next morning. Checking out took a long time because there was only one staff member working. The front desk staff did not ask me how my stay was. I asked about lobby internet and she said its complimentary but she cannot guarantee that it would work nor did she offer to help. Ultimately I was not able to connect and had to find a Starbucks to complete my work.

For a hotel the calibre of Hilton's, not offering internet service should be unacceptable. The guest should be notified at check-in and be given options or somehow be compensated for the inconvenience. If it wasn't for the lack of service, I would have rated the comfort of the hotel 4 or more stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    174
    110
    37
    23
See reviews for
139
66
25
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des moines, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

nice hotel but major renovation made this stay rough. staff is great. location is easy access to many amenities including shopping and restaurants. plan on finding many youth sporting teams staying with you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was at the Hilton for a conference and was very disappointed. The air conditioning was not working.The restaurant was under construction so they put us in the parking lot for lunch! It was in the sun and we had a great view of the cars next door at the dealership driving in for service. The food was a buffet that reminded me of wedding reception catering. I think my experience was probably not the norm but I think I would call ahead and ask about the air and if they have their restaurant back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janewon, Guest Experience Champion at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback Kathy. We regret we were not able to provide you with the dining experience you expected. We are renovating our restaurant and we regret you were not able to enjoy eating there. We apologize that your A/C wasn’t working either and we hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area. Our new restaurant, Polanco, has opened and looks fantastic! Please come check us out when you are in the area. We hope to better service you the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This Hilton is very nice looking on the floor we were on. It was renovated and modern. Although it had several inconveniences. The parking spaces for costing 18 dollars a day were super narrow. They dont offer free breakfast like other "less expensive hotels." Being a Hilton Honors member, i've had better experiences at a Hampton Inn. Also the elevators were super slow. I guess i'll think about staying here again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel was perfect for my trip to san diego to visit family I was there for 17 nights, The rooms are large clean and well kept. The staff are friendly and helpful, the view from my room was amazing, stretching right across the valley and nearby shops at night time view also spectacular. There are local supermarkets within easy reach and the trolley which i used daily to get to my sons house,
The rooms in this hotel have a mini fridge, decent bathroom with shower and bath great vanity space and comfy chairs to relax in as you take in the view. There is a desk for personal use if needed, and useful if you are using the hotel for business reasons.
The bar and restaurant were friendly too but as I ate out I couldn't comment on the food. What I saw looked good and plenty ate there. There is also a breakfast diner just up the road.
The little gem of this hotel has to be the pool and hot jaquzzi something I used daily. There is also a gym and laundry room which I also made good use of both.
The weather was gorgeous
I would definitely use this hotel again :)

Room Tip: The rooms higher up are the quietest but I was never bothered during my stay, I slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel was very nice and clean upon arrival. I went for San Diego Comic Con and even with all the madness the employees were always helpful. They even let us check in early to give us a parking pass so we wouldn't have to deal with comic-con craziness.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is one of these full service hotels that have a "central chiller" air conditioning system. The fan in the wall just blows past pipes full of water that flows throughout the hotel into the cooling/heating system in the basement where the temp is decided. If you like to sleep cold at night, don't stay here in the summer.
Otherwise, the hotel is clean and updated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Mission Valley

Address: 901 Camino del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most ideal location in San Diego! The Hilton San Diego Mission Valley hotel is centrally located off the 5, 8, 163 and 15 freeways. Easily accessed from all San Diego businesses and attractions. Just minutes away from all Military bases and offices too. Perfect for both the business traveler as well as the family vacations. Just minutes to the Airport and all of San Diego's beaches. Our Mission Valley hotel is the perfect place to start your trip for what ever reason brings you to the most perfect place on Earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego
Hilton Mission Valley
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.