We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you get....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Mission Valley to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Camino del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #117 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Murrieta, United States
1 review
“Overpriced for what you get....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Although the staff was friendly, the room wasn't very appealing and the A/C didn't work. The ice machine was broken and the front desk didnt offer to have someone get me ice when reporting it. The furniture seemed abused and in bad shape. Our floor had trash on the floor and tables near elevator. The room was $200 and simply not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    174
    110
    37
    23
See reviews for
139
66
25
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels to stay at when traveling to San Diego for business. The rooms are always clean. The staff is friendly and helpful with all my needs from more towels to how to get on the trolley. The gym is a bit small but still has all the things you need. The location is great....within walking distance there are a plethora of stores...shopping, grocery, hot yoga, etc. You can get to the well known Gaslamp District either by a quick cab or just hoping on the trolley. The options are limitless. After you've have a great sleep in the comfortable bed....you must have their breakfast. You can order off the menu or do the buffet. The buffet is one of the best that I have tasted. It isn't just full of carbs like most hotel breakfasts contain. If you are in San Diego I recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good location, easy on and off the interstate, good bar and grill with very friendly and efficient wait staff. Gym could use a more weight equipment. Parking fee seems a little high. Near several shopping areas with more dinner choices

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice Hilton with great modern and quiet rooms. No fridge or mwave in all rooms though...but, they try to sting you with $16 to park which is outrageous as this is not a city center location...park in the street is possible but not easy...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The front desk and service were quite good. Breakfast service was non-existent. For dinner, service in the restaurant and bar were decent, but food prep was marginal at best. Twice, I ordered medium rare and it came back medium well or well done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were travelling with my husband and 2 year old to Southern California for 10 days and we stayed here for 3 nights. While we won this hotel on priceline we never experienced any subpar treatment like in some other hotels, quite contrary, our room was perfect- on high floor away from elevator, facing freeway, but it was super quiet. The hotel by itself has mix of styles while lobby, elevators even rooms are more of old style renessaince/ glamour feel to it, the lobby had odd red rather modern looking lamp/ chandelier. Which I felt like did not fit in. Same goes to lobby furniture- too modern for the overall style I felt. Something more chateau like would suit better. Room was spacious with king bed facing panoramic window. Large clean bathroom with great comp. amenities. Only negatives were the charge for parking and Internet....but we parked on the street for free which was fine. Overall very good and deserves its 3.5 stars

Room Tip: Higher floors are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We used Hilton Honor awards points for this 2 night stay so the value for us was great especially considering the full, well-executed hot breakfast buffet which was included (usually $13 each).

The rooms were fine with a medium sized updated bathroom. There is road noise on the highway side (?north). We faced the hill....not a great view but fine.

The pool is outside, fairly small and a bit cold but swimmable. The hot tub was on the hot side but nice. We were excited to swim as a family the morning before we departed. When we arrived at 10am, a maintenance person said we couldn't swim because he had just added chemicals. I do not appreciate being told an amenity is available 6am -11pm only to have this happen. My daughter took it pretty well but really, this is poor management. The fitness center was above average.

The restaurant staff seemed to be in training. They only opened a few tables in a sports bar. We would have preferred a more formal option. The menu was broad and the items we got were done well. I would plan to dine out if staying here except for breakfast.

This property did not have the elegance factor I expect from Hilton. It felt like a Hilton Garden or business travel chain.

There is a mall within .5 miles with anything you could want.

It was an easy 3 miles or so (10-15 min) to Sea World.

Room Tip: Self park is $18/day. Choose the mountain view vs. freeway view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Mission Valley

Address: 901 Camino del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most ideal location in San Diego! The Hilton San Diego Mission Valley hotel is centrally located off the 5, 8, 163 and 15 freeways. Easily accessed from all San Diego businesses and attractions. Just minutes away from all Military bases and offices too. Perfect for both the business traveler as well as the family vacations. Just minutes to the Airport and all of San Diego's beaches. Our Mission Valley hotel is the perfect place to start your trip for what ever reason brings you to the most perfect place on Earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego
Hilton Mission Valley
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.