We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3761 Riviera Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Reserved Parking
Ranked #1 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great weekend get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend of sun, flowers and amazing hospitality. Our room was very comfortable and it was such a treat to have our own little fridge nicely stocked that we could open any time of the day and have a snack or cold drink. The grounds are amazing and full of colourful flowers with names that even Linda could not remember. We had a nice intro to the neighbourhood upon arrival and "the Binder" was a constant reference guide. Thanks for a great time and we hope to see you again.

Room Tip: We liked the garden room in the back.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling was a nice surprise and all of our bottles, plastics and paper were all looked after.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed the garden flowers and the patio area. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
226
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

What can I say? My only complaint is that this is probably the last time we will be staying here. We have stayed here two years in a row in order to attend our son's races at the San Diego Crew Classic. It is a perfect spot for that event, as you can walk back and forth from the course in minutes. As always, Norm and Linda were the perfect hosts: gracious, welcoming and generally determined to make our stay thoroughly enjoyable and totally comfortable. I cannot say enough positive things about them. They even opened up their private kitchen to allow us a place to store mounds of food for our son's crew team (they burn 8000 calories a day, so do the math on the quantity). We actually took a few days before the races began and explored the neighborhood a bit. After looking around San Diego I can't imagine a better location. If you are ambitious you can easily walk to the main beaches west of here, or you can just stroll the sandy shores of Sail Bay. Plus in SD everything is always just a short drive away (I mean, this is So Cal, after all.....) Wonderful location, wonderful hosts, wonderful stay.....again. So, all around wonderful. :)

Room Tip: The room in front is bigger, but we like the cottage. Cozy and comfortable and you have the beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We so enjoyed hearing your enthusiasm as you returned from each Crew Race at Fiesta Bay in Mission Bay Park. Thank you for letting future guests know what a great location we have on Crown Point Peninsula with Fiesta Bay on one side, Sail Bay on the other and the Pacific Ocean just beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Beach Hut is everything you might wish for in a B&B: comfortable private accommodations - fluffy towels, comfy sheets, clean, tidy, well-decorated and nearly perfect. The back yard is beautifully landscaped and very inviting. Owners Linda and Norm seem to have anticipated all of our needs. Centrally located to everything, yet off the main drag and only steps to the beach makes this place an attractive pick. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMYork, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We thank you for sharing your experience at our B & B. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful place. We wish we could have stayed longer! Our hosts were great- very informative and genuinely interested in helping us have a nice time. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Shower was great and we had great selection of breakfast goods and snacks. The backyard is beautiful! You could sit there all day... The other thing I loved were the bed sheets- so comfortable and soft :) if you're looking for a beautiful, peaceful stay in San Diego-look no further- you've found your match!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDhappycamper, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences at our B & B. It's so rewarding for us to hear that our efforts are appreciated and enjoyed. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope you have many fond memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We were very fortunate to be able to stay with Linda and Norm for a few days on the front end of a business trip earlier this month. We always try to find a special B&B when we can carve out a couple days to ourselves. The Beach Hut is the perfect home base to explore the San Diego area. Very comfortable rooms, lovely garden/patio, convent location.

Our weather was unusually cool, but the fire kept us comfortable long into the night.

This is the perfect B&B to enjoy the company of your spouse. Only two rooms. We essentially had all the privacy we desired to relax, AND the company of your hosts Linda and Norm when our schedules aligned.

This is the first time we've stayed at a B&B where we'd be on our own for breakfast. I was a bit apprehensive, and we had plans to find a nice restaurant to start our days. We found that we really enjoyed preparing our own breakfast with the ample selections provided in the room. Honestly, we're from the east coast, so it takes me a while to get on west cost time, and being able to eat in our room, on our schedule was a real plus for us. If that's not for you, there's lots of great places within a few minutes of the Beach Hut to start your day.

Both rooms are very comfortable. Stay in the Garden Cottage, set aside some time to relax in the garden and you will have no regrets.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Beach Hut, and look forward to our next visit.

Thanks again Linda and Norm for making our visit to San Diego one to remember.

George & Ann

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDhappycamper, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We feel so wonderful knowing that you had such an enjoyable time at our B & B and that you appreciated our "Morning Kitchen" arrangement. Our guests frequently tell us that they really like this novel approach because they can eat when they are ready to and set their own schedule. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Being on the road 100 plus nights a year I have seen my share of hotel rooms and B&B's. Beach Hut B&B is very special. Linda and Norman were the best of hosts. The area is great, no street noise and everything was clean beyond compare. Loved the self-prepared breakfast available in your room, I am gluten-free and Norman then brings my favorite gluten-free breakfast , Vans Waffles, how sweet is that? Loved the linen, loved the gardens, I give this B&B my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Well, it certainly makes us feel good when a seasoned traveler has a 'Wonderful Experience' at the Beach Hut. We try to meet our guests dietary needs as best we can - I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a great location. The only time we heard any traffic was in the morning. Very close to the bay and not far from the ocean beach. Linda and Norm were great hosts. They had tons of great information available about the area. A lot choices were available for breakfast in the room. The garden area is beautiful and quiet. Norm and Linda spend a lot of time with the landscaping. It was a great place to relax with a glass of wine or beer. We felt like we were at home. When we visit the San Diego area again we will definitely stay there. We won't hesitate to recommend the Beach Hut B&B to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We are delighted that you had a 'Thoroughly enjoyable time!'. We certainly enjoyed having you as guests and we look forward to your return in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3761 Riviera Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in luxurious linens in a deluxe Queen Bed, go for a jog/walk on the 6 mile Boardwalk around the Bay, frolic in the Ocean waves, see all the major San Diego attractions, all within 1 to 10 miles, and then relax and enjoy the ambiance at our Pool/Patio/Fire Table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hut b&b
Beach Hut Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.