We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Mission Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3761 Riviera Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Reserved Parking
Ranked #1 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Gem in Mission Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Tranquil, restful, quiet, friendly, casual, inclusive, and perfect are just some words to describe this BB. Norm and Linda were friendly, helpful, respectful of my priavacy and absolutely made my experience all that I wanted and needed it to be.
The breakfast bar in the room is more like a fully stocked kitchen with everything you would want and need for breakfast. Having this set-up allowed me to eat when and what I wanted in the privacy of my room or out by the pool. The cozy cottage that I stayed in was immaculate and furnished with high quality sheets, towels, soaps, and other furnishings. They have a 3 inch "resource" binder filled with restaurant suggestions (with menus and maps), places to go and see, nearby shopping and coffee shop ideas and if something was not in the binder, Linda was always willing to help with other ideas!
I hesitate to say too much more about this gem because I want to keep it a secret hideaway for the next time I need to "escape" to San Diego!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, it was our pleasure to serve you and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
226
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wesson, Ms
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I recently went to San Diego for summer vacation (July 23-28). It was by far one of the most memorable vacations we have ever taken. San Diego is BEAUTIFUL, and the Beach Hut B&B made it that much more enjoyable. Norm and Linda met us as we arrived and were so accomodating to our needs. They had everything ready for us and welcomed us with open arms. They thought of everything from bedding and linens, to food, and the "big adventure book." Linda had a huge binder full of things in San Diego to enjoy, as well as, food. She had the addresses ready as well. She was our own personal tour guide. They answered any questions we had and were so pleasant to speak with, however, they kept their distance, as their motto was "this is your vacation." The location was also perfect, we rented bicycles and rode around the bay every afternoon. When I return to San Diego I will most definitely stay at the Beach Hut.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay here at the Beach Hut BB. I am pleased to know that my 'big adventure book' was so useful to you. Our guests tell us that it gives them an immediate feeling of familiarity with the area so they can start enjoying themselves right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I wanted to avoid staying in a big resort on our recent trip to San Diego. We happened upon this adorable and beautifully appointed B & B, read the glowing reviews, and booked our stay. The cozy and well-stocked room where we stayed adjoins a pool and patio garden area with lush flowering plants, a small pool and patio tables where we were able to entertain our son and friend. We informed our hosts that we are vegans and could we please have soy milk for our coffee. The kitchenette was loaded with everything we could possibly want to eat for breakfast including soy milk and more (no breakfast "schedule" was great). Location is convenient to everything you might want to see in San Diego, especially the beaches and great restaurants. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of our B & B. We are happy to accommodate our guests dietary needs and we are pleased to hear that we did it right for you. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed 5 nights, had both rooms`as travelling with family. Both rooms were fab, particularly the one in garden by the pool. Linda & Norm were great hosts & we loved the location, away from the action, but close enough to walk to the beach, restaurants etc. Especially liked firepit in the garden which Linda kindly lit for us on more than 1 occasion, making it perfect for relaxing with a glass of Californian wine (bought from liquor store conveniently 5 mis walk away!) into the evening. I would not hesitate to stay again next time we are in San Diego

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let others know what a great time you had at our B & B. We look forward to your next stay and having the pleasure of your company once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gate, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

WE had a wonderful time. It was a wonderful experience. The room was fantastic.
Choice of Breakfast items was unreal. ( Mostly Trader Joe's)
K cup coffee maker is perfect for just the two of us.
( the supply of coffee was great... Service was wonderful... not ever bothered but we knew that if we needed anything all we had to do was ask)
Room was very neat and clean.

Linda met us at the door and explained the facilities ( including a very private pool and patio area)
She also took time to show us the collection of maps of the San Diego area and the tours and eating places close to the B&B
We enjoyed it very much and plan to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We're looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed at the Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast for a weekend while attending a wedding in San Diego. Norm and Linda were very welcoming. The room was very comfortable, spacious and stocked with everything you could want for breakfast. So you could eat when and where you wanted(in the room or outside). The patio was relaxing and beautifully landscaped. We enjoyed the easy access to the beach(about a block away) and there was a place we could lock up our bikes on the property. There was plenty of information in the room on sights and restaurants. Plus there was a parking space which is a necessity in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, it makes our day to know that you 'felt like home' while staying here. We're glad for the feedback, so we know what we are doing is working!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bed and Breakfast for 4 nights and loved it. Linda and Norm were very welcoming and helpful in answering any questions we had. They had great recommendations for things to see and restaurants to go to. The room was very nice and the refrigerator was always stocked with breakfast items. We could get up when we wanted in the morning and eat outside on the patio area. We relaxed many afternoons by the pool and enjoyed the fire pit at night to have a drink by. Would definetly recommend to stay here if you are traveling to San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful and relaxing time at our Beach Hut BB. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3761 Riviera Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in luxurious linens in a deluxe Queen Bed, go for a jog/walk on the 6 mile Boardwalk around the Bay, frolic in the Ocean waves, see all the major San Diego attractions, all within 1 to 10 miles, and then relax and enjoy the ambiance at our Pool/Patio/Fire Table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hut b&b
Beach Hut Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.