We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now Our Home Away From Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3761 Riviera Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Reserved Parking
Ranked #1 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Now Our Home Away From Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

As a San Diego native now living ove 2100 miles away, and with most of my family living in the San Diego area, I try to visit a few times a year. My husband's brother and his family also live in the area, so we both have "reasons" (besides the great weather, seafood and other attractions) to visit. We have always stayed with family members, but that wasn't feasible this particular trip so we tried to find a hotel or other accommodation close to my Mother's house. My husband stumbled on the Beach Hut, which I'd never heard of although I was familiar with the Riviera Drive/Crown Point area. We will definitely be back! This is a quiet, lovely gem in the middle of a popular beach community, and Norm and Linda have made sure that every detail is A#1 in quality, attractiveness and function - from the wonderful custom-made mattress to the lavender-scented shampoo and conditioner to the Trader Joe's bagels and yogurt (and so much more) in the refrigerator. We made a list of features we liked so much we plan to duplicate them in our home. I especially loved the fountain in the patio, with it's soothing bubbles providing the perfect background non-noise 24/7. The pool is beautiful and we were tempted to use it but it was still a little chilly - so, next time for sure! Norm was so kind and helpful to us, and we look forward to meeting Linda next time (she was visiting her Mother this trip).

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room, which is perfect for a couple and very quiet as it's located on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Just wanted to make sure that we thanked you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you could rate us as a 'home away from home'!! We'll try to keep up the good work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
226
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Norm and Linda should be extremely proud of their fabulous little Beach Hut! My husband and I stayed in the Tuscan Room for our recent trip and we will never be satisfied with hotel standards after the exceptional accommodations here! The room was so luxurious- top quality linens, gorgeous fixtures, and a Tuscan theme that was divine. An assortment of breakfast items is stocked daily in-room, and we loved being able to wake up at our leisure and eat. The French Toast was delicious and the array of healthy and generally organic items was wonderful. All of that would have been more than enough to make a wonderful stay, but Linda and Norm truly outdid themselves! Linda provided so many wonderful resources- a binder organized with recommended area activities, restaurants, and attractions, as well as a thorough, personalized explanation when we arrived. She and Norm are some of the kindest, most hospitable people we have ever met. They even left a DVD title we had spoken of being interested in watching (on our counter after our arrival) loaning it to us from their personal collection! We came to San Diego with no itinerary and had an extraordinary vacation thanks to Norm and Linda and their exceptional Beach Hut! My only hesitation in this well-deserved rave review is that we hope it's popularity doesn't mean we won't be able to get a booking for our return as we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We just wanted to make sure that we thanked you for the wonderful review that you wrote. Our priority is ensure our guests the best time possible - it sounds like we are making our goals. Thanks for letting future guests know about our quality of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

Tripadvisor is my go-to resource before booking accommodation, so when my husband and I decided to head to San Diego at the last minute, I checked out the local hotels and various options on Tripadvisor.

The Beach Hut B&B caught my eye, and we decided to book in for a 3-night stay. Thank goodness there had been a cancellation.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Linda and Norm and shown to our room - The Garden Cottage.

First impressions - wow! Very clean, quality bed linens and a rather nice walk-in shower. Although not the biggest room/bathroom, it had everything we needed. Some features to note: comfy bed, flat screen tv with DVD player and DVDs, shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, private off-road parking, black out blinds, good quality features throughout.

It is clearly evident that Linda and Norm take great pride in what they do and I can attest to the fact that they have implemented many of the suggestions posted by previous guests. For example, you fill in a sheet to say how often you'd like clean linens, towels or the fridge restocking.

Some folks might not like that you are left to your own devices to prepare breakfast from a wide array of items supplied. However, for us, it was perfect as it meant we didn't have to wait until a certain time to get breakfast, nor did we have to make polite conversation with people you barely know.

The garden is lovely, and it was a shame the pool wasn't heated. One word of caution - it is a small pool, not a large swimming pool, but very tastefully done, just like everything else at this absolute gem of a property.

Thank you to Linda and Norm for making our impromptu visit to San Diego so enjoyable. You are true professional hosts and went above and beyond to make us comfortable. We will be back soon :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We are always thrilled when a seasoned traveler writes us a glowing review as you have done. Thank you for your extensive comments and comments. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to be so lucky as to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in early February, 2012 and agree with all the positive comments previously submitted. Location is very good.

Room Tip: Tuscan Room is where we stayed. Window looks out on Mission. The other cottage in the back might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I am a business women who usually takes a day or two extra when I travel to a nice destination on business. Last week I went to San Diego. I found the beach hut on tripadvisor and decided to give it a spin because of the glowing reviews.
I was not disappointed! This place was perfect, especially if you are a woman. Number one, it is pristine and immaculate. The room is all top of the line and brand new. The bed, linens, pillows and towels were plush and beautiful. The shower was heavenly. Every detail has been thought out from the fully stocked kitchen to the stylish Tommy Bahama beach towels.The garden outside my room was gorgeous and very private. I felt so safe and cozy.
Awesome location. I rented a bike and spent two days touring the park. Linda and Norm were attentive to every need. Linda warmed my heart by offering to help at a moments notice since I was traveling solo and touring by myself. Perfect mini vacation!

Room Tip: Love the room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you so observant of all the nice things that we try to provide for our guests. Thank you for letting our future guests know what a great experience is waiting for them at the Beach Hut BB!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in the Garden Cottage. Beautiful garden, very tastefully decorated room and convenience of being close to the Downtown, yet completely removed!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay. Thank you for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The Beach Hut Bed & Breakfast is a beautiful place to stay when in the San Diego area. The owners are wonderful, with every attention to detail and cleanliness in their property. Our room was decorated beautifully, with every amenity one could ask for- Linda even had a "Happy Anniversary" balloon in our room when we arrived! My husband said he could live in a room like this- it was like a miniature apartment! Linda showed us where every good restaurant and pub could be found, and provided us with detailed maps and information about places to go and things to do. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the San Diego area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We thank you for letting us know that you had a 'fabulous stay'. We are so happy to know that our maps and information helped you find places that you really enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3761 Riviera Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in luxurious linens in a deluxe Queen Bed, go for a jog/walk on the 6 mile Boardwalk around the Bay, frolic in the Ocean waves, see all the major San Diego attractions, all within 1 to 10 miles, and then relax and enjoy the ambiance at our Pool/Patio/Fire Table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hut b&b
Beach Hut Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.