We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, welcoming, convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, welcoming, convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

This hotel has everything a business traveler needs: Extremely friendly and helpful service, good restaurant, nice spa attached (!), and quiet, comfortable rooms. They even provide free shuttle service to anyplace within 5 miles. I couldn't have hoped for a nicer experience. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Dear RHTraveler67,

Thanks so much for staying with us during your visit to San Diego and the comments with regards to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar. We are so pleased that you enjoyed and liked the amenities that we provided for our guests from the Bistro 39 to the Serenity Spa and Salons as well as the complimentary shuttle services.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Y. Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    132
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
163
124
34
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

The hotel gave away my room, despite my having a reserved a room in advance through a major travel agency. To make matters worse they sent me to a nerby hotel that was a throwback to the sixties, and "had only one room left" that smelled like a smoking room.

All this after I arrived after a long day at the office, needing rest for an early meeting in the morning. I would not recommend this hotel to any business traveller!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear BVT_71,

Thank you for your comment. I am so sorry that you experienced a poor stay on your recent trip to our hotel! It was not our intention to give your room away; unfortunately we experienced a maintenance issue, so we made the decision to find you accommodations elsewhere. I appreciate your feedback regarding the hotel that we sent you too, I will be sure to review our policy of paying for guests to spend the night at that hotel in the future. Our goal is to make your day great and I am deeply sorry that we were unable to do that for you.

Sincerely,

Y. Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

The staff was terrific. We were there for the Golf Tournament and they did everything possible to make our stay great; shuttle rides to and from the tournament, recommendations on restaurants and places to see and directions for everything. Thank you and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear chc 4134,

Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our team members. It is our goal to accommodate our guests in all areas, I’m glad that you have received the service from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Y. Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

All in all, I felt like the majority of previous reviews have hit the spot on this place. I'll just go through some of the main points:

Location: if you don't want to be right next to the beach, this is a good place. As others have said, it's in more of a business area, well away from the ocean. (When I jogged to Torrey Pines State Beach, it took just more than 3 miles.) The good thing about this is it was a quiet place. No children, mostly business people. So that was nice. It takes 15-20 minutes to get to the Gaslight Quarter from here. Also about a 15 minute drive to get to Del Mar Beach.

Accommodations: standard Garden Inn. No better or worse than what I've been from other places. We did have an issue with a couple ants in the room. But that was about all.

Amenities: pool and hot whirlpool. Both were fine, though the whirlpool was a bit sudsy. Decent fitness center with treadmill, recumbent bike, a few weights. What I liked about it was a restroom is attached to it, so you don't have to go looking for one. Fitness center could use a fan, though.

Restaurant: they've got one, but I didn't use it. The first night, we were told it was closed for an event. Later learned the event was an off-site staff party. Which was fine, but it would've been nice to be told when reserving that it'd be closed. The second night we were there, it was very, very busy.

Staff: again, standard Garden Inn. If there's one recommendation I'd give them, it's to remember that the business center is attached to their offices. So customers using the business center will hear everything that's being said in the office. Also, for travelers, be aware that there's no Hilton Honors recognition, if that's important to you.

All in all, a decent stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Dear kcboy,
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at our property, it is guests like you that help us improve! I am so sorry that you were unable to have dinner in our restaurant. At the very last minute the staff we had scheduled to work in the restaurant (from another hotel) called to say they couldn’t make it. So we made the decision to close the restaurant so that our entire team could attend the annual Holiday Party; therefore we were not able to contact all of our guests ahead of time. I hope that you were able to enjoy one of the many panini’s, salads and sandwiches that our Executive Chef prepared and put in the Pavilion Pantry.


Thank you for reminding us about the business center. It seems that is almost no insulation between the two rooms! I have asked our Chief Engineer to look into a solution.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Diego as a valued Hilton Honors Member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We were in town for a family function and picked this hotel for its proximity to the event and price. The rooms are very comfortable, restaurant and bar are very good -- even better than many more expensive hotels I have stayed in for work. It seems very well-maintained. Special thank yous to Joanne at check in and Chanda in the bar for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that our people were able to make your trip so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in San Diego.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We arrived on a rainy day but the welcome was warm and friendly. It was a very pleasant stay.

The firmness of the beds are adjustable so we had no problem getting a good night's sleep. There are two types of pillows so that solved our usual dilemma when staying at a hotel too.

The room size is average but good. Housekeeping is good and clean.

The only thing we had issue with was the noise from the ventilator in the bathroom. The humming sound was rather annoying when we tried to go to sleep. If there is a switch to turn that off, we hadn't found it. Next time we will ask if we are to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Del Mar. We are very proud to offer our adjustable beds, and we are even more proud of our staff. As far as the exhaust fan for the bathrooms, it is louder in some rooms than others. Although 99% of guests never even notice it, we will do what we can to accommodate you if it happens to bother you. We hope we will see you again soon!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I stay at this hotel quite often. Location is good, and I like Hilton brand, but the reason I keep coming is the staff is the friendliest and most accomodating staff I have ever dealt with. The staff makes an effort to always address you by name, get to know you, and will make sure you are happy and comfortable during your stay.
The only thing lacking is their fitness center is small, real small, but the equipment is at least newer/nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Thank you for your glowing review of our property. We always try to make things more comfortable for our business travelers. Many times, something as simple as remembering a guest’s name can ease some of the stress from their day and make them feel more at home. Also, if our gym is ever not enough, we have arrangements with the neighboring hotel. Let someone at the front desk know, and we’ll make the rest of the arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#3 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.