We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GAVE IT ANOTHER CHANCE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #15 of 270 hotels in San Diego
La Puente, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GAVE IT ANOTHER CHANCE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My niece and I decided to give this hotel another chance, being that it's so conveniently close to the Del Mar Fair and we were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is under new management, remodeled, and overall much better. Of course, Jennifer Fine (Concierge) once again made our stay even more pleasurable by greeting us in her friendly, personable manner and making sure we were content with the service. We definitely will stay here again next year - maybe sooner!! Thanks.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    120
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
156
108
33
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here. We stayed in rm 203 super quiet. It was a beautiful hotel, super clean, and we were most impressed by the maid service. They cleaned our hotel rm very well, even bagged our dirty clothes, wrapped up my hair tool cords, and restocked everything perfectly. It was so nice they didn't work around our mess but picked up after us. Then the next day we didn't leave our room till after 6 for dinner and the front desk said the maids should have gone home but he'd send one up if he got ahold of one so we were ok with not getting our room serviced considering how late we pushed it back. We came back that night to a clean room. They are a staff who goes above and beyond and they earned my tip!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Heavenlit,

Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm very excited to share them with our housekeeping team. Our goal is to exceed our guests expectations and I hope we were able to do that for you. Should you have any further comments, questions, or suggestions, please feel free to contact me personally.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

At registration, the clerk couldn't get my check-in registration to print out on his terminal, so he had to redo it again from a different one. This made for a long time standing there while he tried to accommodate.

Parking was difficult, since they were having a function downstairs. This is no fun after a long day.

Room was clean, but I don't like when they put the energy efficient bulbs in the lamps. They are very irritating!

Breakfast is too expensive for what it is, so we opted out of that idea.

If you ask for a late checkout, the room maids just keep prompting you till you leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear A J A,

First, allow me to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. I truly am sorry to hear about the inconvenience you faced during check-in as well while parking. Our goal is always to exceed the expectations of our guests and it appears we were not able to meet yours and for that I apologize. I would love to speak with you further regarding you stay should you find the time, please feel free to contact me at 858-720-9500 or by email at Parris.Preston2@Hilton.com.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

no complaints! The facility is clean in all areas. Check in and check out efficient. Breakfast very good. Dinner is likewise very good. The room maid service is superb - very thorough and complete. The bathrooms are always cleaned well. Beds are comforable. All room appliances work. Quiet with little hallway noise. Stayed here in the past; a very good experience each time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Evan D,

Thank you for taking the time to create an account and for giving us a five star review. I'm very excited to be able to pass on all of your wonderful comments to our executive housekeeper about our cleanliness. I'm also very happy that you were able to enjoy breakfast with us. I sincerely hope that you continue to stay with us when you visit the San Diego area. Should you have any further comments, questions, or suggestions please feel free to contact me personally.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Good place to stay. We like HGI's as they are easier to access with a sleeping child on your shoulders through the back doors. Clean, standard Hilton Garden Inn. Personnel was pleasant and helpful. Good breakfast

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Love2travelmcarga,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us, it truly is appreciated. We appreciate you noting our cleanliness and our pleasant staff as we are very proud of each. I hope that you will choose to stay with us during your next trip to the San Diego area. Should you have any further comments, questions, or suggestions please feel free to contact me personally.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

First of all the breakfast here is good. The skinny gentleman was our server at breakfast was amazing. He took our orders and brought us great tasting food timely. The chef here is great too. We had omelet and it was cooked well, not all wet and slimy.

What we did not like was the light hair/fake blond girl at the front desk. She did a lousy job at check-in. She messed up at checking us in. We stayed several nights and she only put one night for our room keys. Guess what? The next day when we returned to our room, we got locked out. OUR KEYS DID NOT WORK! We had to come down to the front desk to get new keys because some idiots at the front desk was dumb at her job.

Then she tried to say that maybe we put our key with our cell phone? NO. NO NO. She did not admit that she made a mistake, but tried to direct it at the guests. Bad move girl. You might lose your job if you are that lousy at checking in.

They also have some convention thing going on that have a big loud crowd at the front desk.
No cookies anywhere to be seen, unless you asked the front desk. Then they will reply: "oh, the cookies are coming out of the oven right now." Then they might put our a few cookies for you.

THE FITNESS ROOM.
I like the fitness room, except there is a woman, dark wavy curly hair had a bed behind a door by the toilet inside the fitness room. She kept changing her clothes like trying to impress a guy from the convention. She kept coming and going back and forth every few minutes and slammed the door loudly while I was working out in the fitness room. Just RUDE and inconsiderate!

The pool was small but ok. It's the smallest pool we have seen from a hilton garden inn. Most other hilton garden inn pools are much larger in size than at this hotel. TINY TINY POOL and by the way, IT'S NOT HEATED. even though they tried to lie to you and said it's heated. We complained about it was cold. They sent a guy pretending to check something, and he never came back to say what's the matter with the pool. THEY DON'T FOLLOW THROUGH.

The only thing we found comfort in was the room and the breakfast server. He was a fine guy did his job well.

I will not return to this place. There are better options out there than having to deal with front staff idiots and a damsel lived by the toilet room inside the fitness room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I've Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn several times and I'm always glad I did. The hotel is clean. The Staff is friendly, and the location is great. I must say the staff is super cool and very attentive!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear SamT,

Thank you so much for taking the time to create a TripAdvisor account and for letting us be your first 5 star review. I'm very appreciative that you have chosen to stay with our property each time you have visited and that you shared such kind words about our staff. We truly look forward to seeing you during your next trip.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Diego
#3 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.