We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 nights gateway !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #14 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
los angeles california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great 3 nights gateway !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great locations for all San Diego attractions. All front desk agents are very friendly and helpful, from giving the best recommendations to directions to the smallest places to visit. The restaurant host a really good breakfast , all employees are eager to help or give info if need it. The little ones can enjoy swimming at the pool while you enjoy the weather. Jacuzzi next to the pool, and work out room very accessible. Beds are so comfortable and rooms are very cozy. Definitely coming back to enjoy the hotel and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Not near elevator it's so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    121
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
156
110
33
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here to come down to Del Mar for the races. Got more than we expected at $170 for this area. Good location, great staff and made to order breakfast. Omelets are bland but kids love the chocolate chip pancakes. Drinks were overpriced at the bar and there was a one armed (one arm casted) bar tender that was doing his best to get drinks out to the patrons. We enjoyed the stay and would stay again. Kids cribs need updating, they were the metal bar cribs and my 10 month old kept smacking his head into and waking us all up, but we should have brought our own. Didn't go in the pool but looked fine as well and hot tub area looked clean. Warm cookies upon entry made our stay start out well. Literally 10 minutes from Del Mar race track.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's got all! A nice quiet neighborhood not far away from the freeway, a great pool, a bar and a nice breakfast area! The rooms are clean, bathrooms perfect. Not a lot of HD channels available but overall a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed there four nights with my husband and I in one room and my son and his family across the hall. The room was quiet, the bed very comfortable, the room and service daily was excellent, plenty of space a refrigerator and mini kitchen, if that is your interest. We didn't find it necessary since they serve a full buffet breakfast, and believe it or not an evening meal with beer and wine. The food was very hot with many choices for breakfast and the evening meal changed every night. The service in the dining area was beyond belief, the kitchen manager Jose Fraire greeted us everyday and made sure everything was to our liking, I've never stayed at a hotel where all of the staff was so friendly, I want to commend the training staff of the hotel for doing such a marvelous job. We also met the Catering Sales Manager Terri Miller, she approached us to see if we would care for anything else before they picked up the food at the end of the morning buffet. We visited with Terri and she ended up giving us information about the surrounding sites and helped us get coupons. Wow. Thank you all for making our 5 day vacation the best it could have been.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I first want to start off and say that my wife and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Del Mar because of location and price. My wife had surgery and needed to go back the next day for a follow up. We live quite a drive away so we wanted to stay local. I arrived very early to try and get the room early because her surgery would be completed by 1:30pm, two hours before check in.

I was greeted at the front desk with a warm welcome and they accommodated me immediately! Not only did I get the room early, I was provided a room, next to the elevator for easy access and near the ice machine. Additionally I was provided extra pillows for my wife's arrival even before I made it into the room. I opened the room and the pillows were on the bed, the room clean and beds that were adjustable for firm or soft, you get to set it. They have Wi-Fi and Ethernet internet. You have a very nice coffee maker set up with the K cups and small fridge. TV reception could have been better for having a flat panel TV but we were there to recoup.

The location is quiet and has all the amenities that I needed. It has a Deli Café attached to the side of the building and was open for lunch. Employees were always a pleasure and held the door or elevator open for you whenever possible. The breakfast was the average continental style however offered the waffles. You also had the option for hot breakfast off of a menu for a fee if you preferred. Coffee or water laced with fruit was always available in the lobby. Many people went to the pool however we obviously could not go.

Many families and couples were there for local attractions. Restaurants were plenty and close by. Parking was ample and the area was very nice but private. We live in San Diego but if we ever wanted a "stay-cation", we would return to this hotel.

Thank you to the Hilton Garden staff for their caring and hospitality. We appreciate it!

Room Tip: 2nd floor near the elevator is still quiet and close to the ice machine. Easy in/out tot eh lobby or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great hotel, friendly workers, we loved it. Room very comfortable & clean. Great location, close to many popular attractions as well as to the ocean. Some great restaurants by the beach not far from the Hotel. Everything seems to be within 20 minutes drive.
Also, not far from San Diego & Sea World. Near by grocery store & Starbax. We had the best hotel experience ever & are planning to return in the soon future! We stayed at the Hotel twice & both times had wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed just one night with our two children. We found the hotel to be clean and well-appointed. It's a bit out of the way if you want to hit Ocean/Mission/Pacific beaches but it was a quick drive to Solana. The area is beautiful and being that it isn't too far from the freeway you really aren't too far out of the mix. If you are spending time around the University, etc., it's perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Diego
#3 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.