We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but convienent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #8 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Woodland Hills CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small but convienent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to visit our kids, and new baby. The hotel was not as close as some others but we choose Hilton Garden because it is always clean and is a Hilton property. It was only a 1 1/2 miles from our kids, so it worked out fine. Not very resturants around. The Del Mar Highlands Shopping center is were we ate and met up with our kids. Much more activity in that area. But close enough, so no complaints. We did not want to spend the upcharge to stay closer so this worked out just fine. And we got to spend a couple of days with our new Grand Baby!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    97
    13
    9
    1
See reviews for
123
94
28
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The breakfast was the highlight, but everything else was pretty disappointing as I explain. We were very disappointed that we paid extra for a double queen with a balcony, only to find out that the room actually had less space than a double queen without the balcony...which our friends were in. We felt taken advantage of as the balcony was less than a desirable space right over the parking lot. The beds were also horribly uncomfortable, regardless of the firmness setting. One night, we came back to the hotel to find that there was not one single parking spot available on the property, including the hotel next store. It took me a while to find an employee as no one was minding the front desk, and he had to move his car to give me a spot. It would have to be an incredible deal for me to ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for the double Queen with a balcony. It has less space, the balcony space is not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I would like to sincerely apologize for all of the concerns you explained in your review. It is our absolute goal to ensure every guest is extremely satisfied during their stay with us. I would truly appreciate the opportunity to have you back as our guest, and allow me to make this right. Please contact me at (858) 720-9500 and I would be happy to personally take care of you.
-Kevin Escoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was part of a work group that stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar in May. The front desk attendent Andrew Bernard was very helpful during our stay, especially the day/evening of our arrival when a colleague was ill. Andrew brought our colleage a beverage and antacid tablets, arranged the van and a great place for dinner in Del Mar.

The rooms were nice and the breakfast was wonderful.

When another group of colleagues traveling this week to the same area had booked another hotel down the road I convinced them to move to the Hilton Garden Inn. They have been happy there this week.

Thank you for making my work stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Perfect area between La Jolla and Del Mar. We cycle, so in the morning we are just a couple of (easy) miles from the beach for our coast-line rides!! Cook to Order breakfast ends at 10:30, so we ride and return for a great breakfast. This hotel location is excellent, especially if you want a quiet nights sleep!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is very pleasant as it is very clean and very comfortable with everything you might need at a very affordable price. You even get a complete breakfast which is included in the price of the room. Really the best value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a nice stay for three days in May. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping to restaurant staff was very pleasant. Rooms were quiet, clean and kept well stocked except for coffee. Beds were comfortable once we adjusted the mechanism (except one that didn't seem to work). We had the continental breakfast one morning. It was nice to be near Torrey Pines beach (maybe a 5 minute drive?). The lobby water cooler with fruit slices looked so pretty we stopped to have a cup every day. We had no problems with wi-fi and there was always at least one parking spot available. Checkout was easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. The team and I truly appreciate your kind words and are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to know that the service you recieved from housekeeping, our front desk and bistro 39 was consistently pleasant. The team and I look forward to having you back during your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We loved the hotel, staff was great and the property was clean and comfortable. We ventured out to find a place to eat and had to go downtown because the restaurants around there were not very good. Overall great hotel, just too far from any conveniences you may need to access on a trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.