We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #14 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I'm a big fan of the Hilton Garden Inn. I've stayed several times for business. The staff is friendly, the hotel is extremely well maintained and the food is great. I also like that they have a well stocked bar to get a glass of wine or a beer and watch the game.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Kristi R,

We appreciate having you as our loyal guest. The team and I are thrilled you enjoy our food, drinks and overall service we provide. It is an absolute compliment to hear your kind thoughts and we look forward to having you back again during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    144
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
166
133
35
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I traveled across southern Cali with two daughters to visit colleges. I always like Hilton Garden Inn's because they are consistently clean and in good shape. This Hilton was no exception. The next time I am in the Del Mar or La Jolla area, I will plan to stay again at this Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Thank you to all of the Hilton Garden employees! The softball team really enjoyed theirselves. Absolutely, everything was excellent during our stay. We really appreciated the hotel going out of their way to accomodate our breakfast needs. The breakfast was delicious and the servers were awesome! Thank you to the sales manager Kimmie for making the transistion to schedulae all of our rooms simple. This was very convienent for our team and we would love to come back next year. I cant say enough on how pleased we were with everything. Great job Hilton Garden Inn!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Jeanette G,

The team and I truly appreciate your fantastic review. We are very happy you were so pleased with our delicious breakfast and overall service. It was our pleasure to have your Meniffee softball team stay with us and we can't wait to have you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel! The beds, pillows, sheets and comforters were amazing!! The service was also great!! The people were so nice and helpful. It was also nice to have access to the spa. Their service was great as well!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
J Alvarado,

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. The team and I are very excited that you were happy with everything from our bedding to our "excellent service". Our spa is an absolute hidden gem and I am glad you were able to experience their services. Thank you again, and we all look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is modern and clean; the staff welcoming and accomodating. The balcony rooms are the best. The cook to order breakfast is great as well. Unfortunately the hotel is a little out of the way - located in a quiet residential area north of San Diego. Bonus - parking is free and rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are the best; giving the appearance of being larger than they actually are. A gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Wonderful stay!! I was here last week visiting the San Diego area for the first time in a very long time and this hotel was the perfect choice.

Upon check-in, Maria was the most helpful! The check-in was effecient and easy. When I had an issue with my debit card, Andrew went above and beyond to assist me. Throughout the stay, Lindsay and Courtney were always welcoming and very helpful! GREAT Front Desk staff!!

We visited the bar the first night which was such a good choice. Gen was so nice, very friendly, and makes good drinks!! The food was delicious as well--which brings me to the breakfast. LOVED the fact that you pay a flat price for the option of the buffet AND/OR menu items. Food was wonderful and the servers, Adam, Hector, and Gerardo, made the experience enjoyable.

The staff as a whole was very wonderful from all the names I listed above to the workers in HK that assisted us at any moment we needed.

I liked that the hotel was kind of hidden away--it was quaint and quiet. The only negative I had was the WiFi in the guest rooms. It was not very strong (the att or hhonors) and I lost the connection multiple times during the day, however having a business center downstairs made up for that!

Thank you so much for the great experience and anytime I come back to SD, I will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Kandahar, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a very great hotel. We really liked our room, it was very comfortable and roomy. The pool and spa area was really great. The kids were down there and had a blast as we (the adults) went down there for a drink. The location of the hotel is great with plenty to do in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#3 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.