We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #15 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Honolulu, United States
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Typical Hilton Garden Inn quality. Quiet but away from the activities. Little choice in near by resturants or shopping, but that adds to the charm. Adequate parking. Layout of the room was good for the little work that I needed to get done. Wireless internet connection was slow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    115
    16
    12
    3
See reviews for
151
104
33
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sherman oaks ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We knew we were going to San Diego for one night but put it off to the last minute. The day before. We were a little nervous about finding a nice hotel with good rates but found this hotel on line and thought we would call to see what we could get. The minute the desk clerk, Paco, answered the phone i knew i didnt have to call any other hotel. He was so friendly and helpful and already made me feel at home. The rate was great and he told us about the great breakfast deal they had. The next day when we checked in, we were lucky to be greeted by Paco. He made everything so easy for us and made sure we were comfortable. Everyone we came in contact with was amazing. from the front desk to all the great guys that took care of us at breakfast. We wanted to move in. All hotels should take this hotels customer service as an example and follow their guidelines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn San Diego-Del Mar is a great venue if you're hosting a fundraising event, Bar/Bat Mitzvah, or a reception. The staff was very helpful and eager to make sure our event went off without a hitch. The ballroom is a good size (we had almost 100 teens, plus tables, belly bars, lounge furniture, dance floor and dj stage) and the patio area is perfect for guests that need a break. The hotel is located centrally and if you live in Carmel Valley is perfect option for your guests. Although the inside of the ballroom is not the most glamorious, there are ways to really spice it up (I recommend speaking with staff for specific ideas). Overall, it is a great venue in a good location! Thanks again Hilton Garden Inn San Diego-Del Mar for hosting Rock Out for Hunger 2013! Your support, help and expertise was greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Maria who checked me in was very friendly. I booked a room with the breakfast package and forgot to add another person. Since we were 2 at the desk she immediately add a second breakfast voucher without even asking when she saw my brother. She was very proactive.
She also gave us recommendations about the area and it was very helpful since we're not from the area.
Had dinner and it was very enjoyable, had happy hour for a special cinco de mayo and the food was prepared very well.
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Vincent,

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the front desk service to the food quality. It is our goal to ensure your have a comfortable and relaxing stay, and can't wait to have you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn because the hotels closest to Seaworld wwere all booked and took a chance on a hotel a bit further away. We were very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. They had fresh baked cookies at the front desk and when they ran out of chocolate chips, the receptionist promptly went to the kitchen and got my sons fresh baked ones (as in still warm and soft).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located off I5 near the I805 interchange. Staff is very friendly, breakfast was very good and the rooms are comfortable. It is quiet and service is efficient. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and always plan to return. The rooms are a comfortable size, always clean and have all that I need. The hotel is typically very quiet, inside and out. I usually have breakfast at the hotel, and find the food and selection to be very good. I would say that the only downside in my mind is that the fitness room is is very small.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Diego
#3 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.