We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and very clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and very clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Maria who checked me in was very friendly. I booked a room with the breakfast package and forgot to add another person. Since we were 2 at the desk she immediately add a second breakfast voucher without even asking when she saw my brother. She was very proactive.
She also gave us recommendations about the area and it was very helpful since we're not from the area.
Had dinner and it was very enjoyable, had happy hour for a special cinco de mayo and the food was prepared very well.
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Vincent,

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the front desk service to the food quality. It is our goal to ensure your have a comfortable and relaxing stay, and can't wait to have you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    132
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
164
124
34
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn because the hotels closest to Seaworld wwere all booked and took a chance on a hotel a bit further away. We were very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. They had fresh baked cookies at the front desk and when they ran out of chocolate chips, the receptionist promptly went to the kitchen and got my sons fresh baked ones (as in still warm and soft).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located off I5 near the I805 interchange. Staff is very friendly, breakfast was very good and the rooms are comfortable. It is quiet and service is efficient. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and always plan to return. The rooms are a comfortable size, always clean and have all that I need. The hotel is typically very quiet, inside and out. I usually have breakfast at the hotel, and find the food and selection to be very good. I would say that the only downside in my mind is that the fitness room is is very small.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in April.

This a good budget friendly hotel if you want to be close to San Diego and the beach. Torrey Pines State Beach is about a 5 minutes car ride. Downtown Del Mar has a good selection of restaurants. Also a visit to Solana Beach is easy. You can enjoy the beach there or do some shopping on Cedros Avenue without having to pay for parking your car.

This Hilton Garden Inn has friendly employees. Rooms have a good size and are clean. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast was very good with your own choice of warm food and a buffet with some cold stuff like yoghurt, cereal etc.

If I go back to the San Diego area I would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

April 28th was the greatest day of my life as I married the love of my life, our reception was here and couldn't of been any more perfect!! The pricing was great, the food was amazing, and they decorated exactly how I wanted! My family and friends loved it and the reception was perfect. They really work with you and what you want. I would suggest this to everybody!
Thanks
The Bakers

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Mrs. Baker,

Congratulations on your wedding, it was our pleasure hosting this memorable event. I truly appreciate your feedback and the team was thrilled we could be apart of your special day. We wish you all the best in your marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My family and I traveled to San Diego on a whim and booked this hotel last minute. We checked in late Saturday night and Maria at the front desk was so kind and helpful. She explained the amenities, let me know there was a fund raising party going on downstairs until 10pm that we might be able to hear in our room, and even offered to change rooms if we thought it would be a problem. There was free parking, a restaurant on property, and a spa (which I hope to take advantage of next time!)
Once we got to our room, it was beautiful. We had 2 Queen beds and my kids loved the fact that it was roomy enough for all 5 of us. (a 5 year old, a 3 year old, a 2 year old, plus my husband and I)
We ordered the cookie a la mode from room service and they brought us 5 spoons and 5 glasses of ice water so we could all share. We all snuggled into our beds and enjoyed watching a little bit of tv. In the middle of the night, my oldest woke up sick. After throwing up all over the bed, we got him changed, stripped the bed and called the front desk again. Diego came up, changed out all the linens and remade the bed in the middle of the night. He even offered to get us some gatorade and more water for our little guy. I cannot stress enough how amazing the staff was there.
The next morning we were checked out by the General Manager, who was very friendly and asked about our little guy. No hidden charges at checkout and I have to stress again how friendly and genuine all the staff seemed. Every single one of them made eye contact, said hi to me and my kids, and answered all of our questions with a smile. We will definitely be returning here soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
It is such an amazing feeling for the team and I to read your fantastic review. We appreciate your wonderful comments and could not be more thrilled that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. Our team really is different in that hospitality is not what we do, it is who we are. I am excited to have built a relationship with your family and we look forward to having you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#3 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.