We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Eastern NC
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on business. Conviently located to the business I was working with. Bed and room were very cozy. Restaurant seemed nice, but i never dined. Would have loved to catch some spa action, but never did.

Room Tip: had a nice room with poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    132
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
163
124
34
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel in mid-April, and we had stayed here before last 4th of July. In both cases we had a great experience with staff service. The 2 Queen bed room was very clean, and we enjoyed both the adjustable firmness on the beds as well as the comfortable Herman Miller chair when using a laptop. With free parking and free wireless/wired internet in the room, it is difficult to match the value. In addition, we were able to get the breakfast package for 2 adults and 2 children under 12 for just ~$12/day extra for all four of us; the hot made-to-order breakfast and the buffet have significantly high food quality compared to most hotels we've been to around the country. Driving down to La Jolla, San Diego Zoo and downtown were all very easy (<25 min) and shortened our return drive up north. Note that this is not the type of hotel with any stores or malls or other attractions within walking distance, so a car is needed. If you are interested in good value between quality rooms, quality service and reasonable price, this is a location worth considering.

Room Tip: Call about the breakfast packages as they are not always shown on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I called the hotel and talked to the manager. I asked for the best rate possible. The rate quoted was different upon arrival. The explanation provided was the rate quoted was for an inferior room. Unacceptable,,,to me. I talked to the manager. He quoted me a rate on a room I had booked. When I got to the hotel I had a cheaper rate, but on a cheaper room. PLUS,, no parking!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Mr Meissner,

I am very familiar with your reservation and rate inquiries. You spoke directly to our revenue manager who offered you a discounted rate at your request which was honored at the time of your arrival. I personally checked you into your hotel room and upgraded you to a balcony room at no charge per your request. In addition, we awarded you extra Hilton Honors points at check out to ensure your satisfaction. My team and I strive to provide the best guest experience each day and I would hope to have honest reviews of our efforts, however it seems as if you have misrepresented the facts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I am a frequent stayer at this hotel. It's a great hotel in a nice area. The staff is very warm and friendly. Both the rooms and common areas are nice. There is a very good, reasonably priced restaurant on site which also has a very good happy hour Monday - Friday with great food and drink specials. There is also a great spa onsite that frequently runs specials and a deli as well. My experiences here are also ways good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Entire staff was friendly; just 7 minutes to Del Mar, where we were visiting family (could not find a room in Del Mar this weekend and were very pleased with this hotel and price). So appreciate the cleanliness and comfort. Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laflin, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Possibly the nicest staff I've ever encountered at a hotel. The hotel room was very clean and nicely appointed. The location is conveniently located if you visit La Jolla or Coronado.

Hotel parking is free. Th Bistro 39 restaurant was vey good. There is also a very good deli attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spend two nights at this cosey and nice hotel in March. It's perfet if you have to visit people in the Torrey hills area, but don't want to stay at their house. It's very clean with nice staff, great breakfast with reasonable hours and friendly servers, free parking, complementry internet, and rooms that are very spacious. I didn't get a chance to see if they had a pool or not, but the gym was nice and there was a spa right next door. Overall, holds up very well to what it's advertised at. Much cleaner and nicer than many "5 star" hotels including some Hilton hotels :). Would defensively recommend this place. The location is not the best if you don't have a car, but it's only 2 exits from Qualcomm campus and 10 minutes to la jolla.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Diego
#3 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.