We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #14 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Nice Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

A very nice well maintained property. Check inn staff were very friendly and pleasant.

I had dinner and breakfast in the on property restaurant, and both were fine. Restaurant staff provided great service.

This property is located in a quite residential/commerical mixed use area. I heard no traffic/city noise throughout the evening. It is a short distance from Interstate 5 and and very easy to access.

I would stay here again and will when I return to the area

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    144
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
166
133
35
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stayed here for 10 days for work. Great friendly service from the front desk and housekeeping (spotless). Room amenities great for business trips - wired and wireless internet, lots of light, and good desk and chair setup.

Free carparking (I think) and you will need a car as there is nothing nearby. There is a restaurant and bar downstairs, both close at around 9pm most nights. Service and food in the restaurant was generally good. We had the buffet breakfast included in our rate, which made it good value. Front desk staff good at recommending nearby restaurants and directions.

Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

In-house laundry on 2nd floor - need to buy laundry powder from pantry ($1.50) and then 6 quarters for the washer and 4 quarters for the dryer.
Didn't try the pool or gym (24-hours). Or the day spa.

Only 4 very very minor issues:
1) bathroom ventilation is quite noisy and constant (but I guess I got used to it)
2) lack of boiling kettle for a cup of tea (perculator and microwave provided, awkward for those who drink tea).
3) Lack of utensils in room for when you purchase a frozen meal from the lobby pantry (not even a spoon!).
4) Lifts very slow. There are stairs, but these lead you outside so you have to walk around the building to come in.

Room Tip: Rooms with only one bed feel more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel is a real find. It has a great location, near the 5 freeway. The hotel food is excellent and reasonably priced. I had breakfast and dinner in the dining room every day during my business stay. It's nice that internet access and parking are free. Above all, the staff was very attentive and friendly, which really makes for a pleasant stay. I'd definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Property was in great condition and we felt welcome from check in. Customer service was excellent from the front desk to restraunt service. Pool was clean and relaxing after a day of sightseeing. Did not use the spa or exercise room, but they looked wonderful. Couldn't ask more from a hotel. We would definately stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I recently took a course at UCSD that required me to travel to Del Mar once a month for 8 months. This place is the best. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and include a microwave and fridge. The staff is friendly, and the restaurant was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here for a conference and loved it. The rooms were spacious, clean and modern. Parking was complementary. Coffee and water and wi-fi were also free.

Hotel was located about 10 miles from downtown San Diego in a nice quiet suburb in Torrey Pines. We didn't mind the easy drive to downtown San Diego since the commute was fairly easy and given the suburban location, i felt like we got better bang for our buck with the hotel.

Front desk was very helpful when we asked about road closures from the San Diego Marathon. Breakfast was $10.95 and included an all you can eat semi buffet. There was a menu you could order from (which included omelette, breakfast burritos, and sandwiches, as well as a serve yourself counter with bagels, waffles and fruit.

We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I rarely write reviews unless my experiences were awesome or very poor. This one was quite surprising, for the better. I've never stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn. I spend atleast 1/3 of the year in a hotel room due to the nature of my job.
This was a short trip to San Diego with my family and another family. We couldn't find any rooms near Downtown San Diego since we waited until the last minute (long weekend). I've read reviews about this hotel on Tripadvisor and they were right on! It's not an upscale hotel but everything about it was great! The rooms were clean & quiet, service was friendly, and the breakfast was really good (and free-one of the perks for being a HHonors member). Free parking and free wifi was nice, though it was impossible to find parking late at night and probably due to it being a long weekend with many travelers to San Diego. I ended up parking at the "no parking zone", as directed by the hotel staff.
The only negative about this hotel (and perhaps it is so since it's a "Inn") is the a/c wall unit. It tends to be a little loud since all of the plumbing is built into the unit, unlike the central airconditioning system. Spending 1/3 of my life in hotel rooms turns one into a picky guest, I guess :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#3 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.