We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay, awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky D's Hostel

Save Saved
You added Lucky D's Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lucky D's Hostel
615 8th Ave., San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Long Branch, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“short stay, awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

not much to say for me. I had a couple of friends working there, but the whole stuff was very personable and friendly. many thanks to Giada and Erica for making the experience unique. the cleanest hostel I've ever been to. breakfast and a couple of dinners a week are included. really liked the atmosphere!

Room Tip: it's a hostel, just go with the flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    70
    29
    11
    9
See reviews for
4
30
113
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

not impressed of the place.. staff service sucks, and parking here sucks really bad...
I would give this place half a star if I could and will never stay here in the future. and the staff does not care about anyone! They were rude and extremely unprofessional and made us feel uncomfortable. The whole place is dirty they don't even have enough bathrooms for everyone. There are definitely better hostels in the city to stay at!!!

Room Tip: If you want have fun to not go to life there, there a lot of better place in san diego
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hostel is very good, very cheap and in a perfect location.
The breakfast is included and there is a common area to hang out with other people. The staff is very friendly. The wifi is in all the building and there is also an iPad that people can use to surf the internet.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi Albero,
Glad you had enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of all the amenities we offer. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our stay in San Diego was very good, and it's thanks to Lucky D's Hostel. No expansive, clean, staff is young and welcoming. All evenings there is lots of people in the common room, to meet each other, discuss, drink and play alcohol games. And after everyone go together in the town, the hostel has some privileged prices in bars, nightclubs !
And there are also free breakfasts, free dinners 3 times a week..
All was perfect, so just let it go ! You wont regret, I promess :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the kind words Tristan! We are so glad you had a great time and got to enjoy the full Lucky D's experience. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was definitely one of the best hostels I've ever been to. The walls were decked out in an eclectic combination of posters, paintings, mirrors, and other colorful paraphernalia that really set the tone of the stay. Staffers Tom and Sebastian made for a great, exciting time with pub crawls, beach trips, etc.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have advantages--4th floor is more private, 3rd floor has the kitchen, 2nd floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We're really glad you enjoyed our vibe Bryan! Come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

One of the best Hostels i've stayed in, very clean and great value for money in one of the best cities in the USA. With lockers in the rooms, free breakfast, free wi-fi, power points next to beds, free movies/Netflix, Pete and all the staff were very friendly, recommending heaps of things to do and see in San Diego, would highly recommend to anyone going to San Diego!

Room Tip: Any room is going to be good, you'll be in the central city so expect your average city noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Glad you had a good stay with us Gee and thanks for the review. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Perfect location just a walk away from Gas Lamp area full of restraints and shops
free breakfast every morning and 2 free dinners per week
Extremely clean ..staff are helpful and friendly
I Would defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi Lydia,
We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for giving us a glowing review. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucky D's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky D's Hostel

Address: 615 8th Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lucky D’s is a wonderfully located hostel in downtown San Diego. Offering you the best fun and value for your dollar is our goal. We offer Free Internet (wired and wireless), Free house phone (call anywhere in US and Canada Free), Free weekly Pub Crawl, Free evening meal three times a week, Free all you can make waffle breakfast every weekend morning and Free cereal and toast every morning. We also offer Free tea and coffee all day and Free use of our linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Lucky D's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky d`s Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky D's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.