We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun stop: good food, great decor, large space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fred's Mexican Cafe

Fred's Mexican Cafe
1165 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-2906 (Pacific Beach)
858-483-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #871 of 4,094 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fun stop: good food, great decor, large space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We enjoyed this visit to watch football at 10am on a Sunday. Funky decor made me initially think they might be over-doing it, but I was really pleasantly surprised at how quality everything was. Good breakfast choices, I'm sure the lunch would be good too-- and the quality is better than the Tex-Mex you're expecting. The only downfall is a somewhat limited beer selection & a lacking local beer selection. Even still- really liked it. We may go back & bring a large group there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    65
    40
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good experience at Fred's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you want some good Mexican food, good atmosphere, great service go to Fred's. We ate at the Gaslamp location. Food not overly heavy for Mexican fare. We'll be back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not bad, But not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We visited Fred's in the Gaslamp district on a Sunday evening. There was no wait and the service was good. I had visited this location before and was very impressed, this time the food was average at best. The best part was probably the chips and salsa. Not sure if I will visit again as the food was not that great and was a little on the expensive side for what you get.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No wait and great quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not bad for carne asada fajitas. There's a children's menu, as well. Price is under $15 and $5 for children's. This is one of many restaurants on fifth street in the Gaslamp quarter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had a wonderful experience at Fred's Mexican Cafe. They served a lot of great food for a reasonable price and had satisfying service

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fred's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred's Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.