We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GIRLS NIGHT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel San Diego to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Murrieta, Ca
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GIRLS NIGHT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is like my 7th time staying at The Hard Rock Hotel, it's always my first choice when I visit San Diego. The customer service and vibe are unbeatable! Jessica C helped me make my reservation by email and she upgraded us to VIP check it which was really nice of her, we were checked in bypassed the line, and provided with a drink in less than ten minutes! We also recieved complimentary bottle of champagane and housekeeping brought us extra towels and toothbrushes, soap without asking!! The service was great as always and the experience was perfect, I'd highly reccomend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your awesome review! We’re so glad we’re your go-to San Diego hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,587
    775
    269
    121
    102
See reviews for
266
727
145
1,083
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

San Diego Hard Rock Hotel was a great experience!! The location is located in San Diego's Gas Lamp Quarter. I was able to book with a discount code, so that took some of the sting out of booking a upgraded room.. The float room with our own private patio.. The staff is very helpful and nice.. Our maid from house keeping was adorable .. Thank You Bertha, for your Kindness!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your review, Stacey. We’ll share your great feedback with our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Would recommend for the young-party types who don't want to sleep. Noise from downstairs clubs will wake you up, not to mention the constant noise from the trains and tram passing by. Wouldn't recommend for professionals visiting conference center. No easy breakfast options except for overpriced breakfasts at adjacent diner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Katherine, we appreciate your feedback and we’re sorry your stay was noisy. In the future we’re happy to try to accommodate you on a higher floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I wish I knew modern day lingo so this wouldn't sound like the review of a grandfather but you'll just have to know that THS place is COOL ! Great location, good value, WONDERFUL STAFF! We were there for Halloween and even though the joint was jump in' it was fun and secure. Every one there is the best... They keep an eye on you and deliver fun in the city.

Room Tip: Find the TV remote so you can adjust the volume of the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Nowellob, your review rocks! Thanks for spending Halloween with us and we’re thrilled you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the HR in San Diego for a week on business. These trips are usually long, boring and generally tough to take. Staying at the Hard Rock made a typically dull week outstanding. From the moment I arrived the staff was both cool and extremely accommodating. The restaurants were excellent and the pool area was great. I look forward to an opportunity to take my family to San Diego and the Hard Rock!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi Matt, thanks for sharing your awesome feedback. We’re glad your stay made your conference fun, and we hope to see you and your family soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a perfect place to stay after half the week at PacBeach. Gaslight district means everything downtown can be walked to.
Easy access to the zoo and the aircraft carrier. But, this is a review about the hotel.
The hotel is so cool looking- the kids loved it as soon as they walked in. The upgraded corner suite was also impressive to them and was well outfitted with couches, comfortable bedding and a sleek bathroom. We were there the same weekend as Hardwell, so the hotel was filled with young people ( not kids ). My 10 year old ( probably the youngest person on site, except for a couple of babies) was able to get a DJ mixing table brought up to the room, and loved being able to play around with that. The roof top pool worked for us in the afternoon, though drink (cocktail/beer) service for us was not great, and actually pretty lacking. My 14 year old loved the gym. The Concierge on staff the weekend we were there, had great restaurant suggestions for us and went out of his way to check in with us when he saw us in the lobby. All in all a great experience- but we knew what we were in for when we booked it...ie: the party atmosphere. IF you family is ready for this, it will be a memorable stay.

Room Tip: any of the suites, and the higher the floor the better...over look the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for sharing your amazing feedback with us. We’re thrilled you and your family had a great vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

All staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. The hotel is very unique. Manages to be comfortable with all amenities without being pretentious or 'fancy'. Pricey (I paid >$400/night with all taxes and fees included for a standard room), but comparable to every other hotel in the Gaslamp area. Located right across the street from the convention centre, walking distance from lots of bars/restaurants & Seaport area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for your excellent review, Avril! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.