We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first stay at the Hard Rock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel San Diego to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep With the Fishes
Ranked #57 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My first stay at the Hard Rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Overall service from the front desk to in-room dining was very good. Although the hotel was very clean, our room was starting to show wear and tear. I would not recommend this hotel for families since there is a big party scene here on the weekends. All in all the Hard Rock is a great place to stay in San Diego while partying with friends or enjoying a romantic weekend the one you love.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    676
    237
    106
    99
See reviews for
224
634
137
930
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel. Very modern and chic. Roomy suite and everything you need is conveniently nearby. As with most things in the Gaslamp district, prices are inflated. Layout of the hotel is poorly designed as it is a haul to the elevators from the entrance. If you want upscale quietness, then this is not for you. The 20 something nightclub scene is alive and well here on weekends so you'll be dodging the young drunk girls in the lobby trying to stay upright in their new stilettos on a Sat. night. Somewhat amusing. Concierge not very good for anyone over 30. Overall nice place but not for me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel From Valet ,to check in time,the staff,the room service the check out it was all excellent ,and every body always had a smile,i have stayed in many hotels in san diego ,Hard Rock was the best ,now each time i go to San Diego ,i stay there.






  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. Location was very good, centrally located near convention center. Room was modern and clean. I did not like the location of my first room...it was too close to the night club. Shaun, the manager, was wonderful. He understood my concern and immediately moved me to a new room that was amazing. Thank you Shaun!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on 5th floor overlooking the bar. Loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a stylish (some might think aggressively stylish) and generally well-maintained hotel. We had a suite on the top floor of the north side of the building, away from the pool and bars. There were two distinct areas, separated by a movable curtain. Both the shower and the toilet are in separate rooms, across the narrow dimension of the room from each other. The vanity was out in the room. A bit unusual, but really not a problem. The shower was wonderful, with a rain tile above and a shower head mounted from the wall. The only problem was that water goes everywhere! Hope the staff didn't mind that we're enthusiastic showerers!

In the living area, there's a large screen TV, and connections for all sorts of electronics. There's another large screen TV in the bedroom. They were obviously TV over IP, and took forever to lock into a channel. But the picture quality was good.

The living area had a naugahyde couch that was close to the end of its life, but everything was spotlessly clean.

The bedroom was comfortable...great bed. Like almost every hotel I've visited, the drapes didn't pull fully closed - but a previous guest had thoughtfully left a large paperclip on the blackout curtain, so I could clip them closed. The room was very quiet and the air conditioner worked well.

There are a few caveats - first, when the concierge was present, he was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. But most of the time I couldn't find him! On Saturday evening (at least during the winter) Float - the pool/bar area - turns into a very popular club. It has more speakers per square foot than anywhere I've ever been. The crowd is large - and it is definitely a 20-something club scene. That didn't really bother us (it was kind of fun walking through all those raging hormones) until the drama moved into the hallway outside our room. Seems you get a VIP pass to the club if you're a guest. So if you want to party all night, just get a room, go to the club, then take the party anywhere in the hotel! (We knew we'd have an interesting evening when the room one down from ours was covered with faux police crime scene tape bearing the legend "Caution: Wild Girls". We eventually - around 1:30 am - call the desk and asked if they could send security to suggest that loud alcohol-fueled drama in the hallways wasn't making our stay any more enjoyable. The responded quickly, and the noise did die down.

All in all, the service was good, the rooms clean and contemporary, and we had few complaints. I would suggest, however, if you're not planning on partying - or if you're over around 30 - you might want to check to see when "Float" is open, and avoid those evenings.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, go for a high floor on the side of the hotel away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location for this hotel was great (Gaslamp district) and the room was fairly nice. But, some of the cons really took the rating down for me. I expected it may be loud, so I brought ear plugs. But, there were parties going on many of the rooms around us. But, the kids slept through it so while it was annoying it was okay.

The kids swam in the pool...the next day I had to take my son to urgent care with swimmers ear. The doctor said it was because they must not have been treating the pool properly with the chemicals...guess they thought it could slide since it was February. Staff there not helpful when asking about restaurants, or places to go for urgent care.

Oh, and when we checked in we did find corks from previous guests. And, we left one day at 7 am and got back around 5 pm....our room was still not cleaned,,,the housekeepers were just getting to it. We went downstairs and spoke to the front desk. They did not apologize they just said that we had a lot if people check out that day and cleaning those rooms rooms were priority.

I made the reservations through a travel site. I called Hard Rock directly and asked, was there any other fees that they will add such as resort fees...they assured me that with the reservation I had it was all ready included in the price. At the time of check out, they tacked on a daily resort fee charge.

So, all in all, we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback. We're sorry that you didn't feel our staff was helpful at a time when you really needed them to be. We can understand why you'd be frustrated. We have reviewed this entire post with our front desk staff to be sure they know this attitude is unacceptable here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Shaun Edwards and his guest services manager Ryan Armstrong are the standard of excellence. My experience at the Hard Rock Hotel, San Diego California was one that I will not soon forget. Their hospitality and and customer service can not be equalled. If you' re in the the San Diègo area, do yourself a favor and stay there. I promise you...you will not be disappointed. Thanks to the both of them for their extraordinary level of customer service and hospitality that I experienced at my recent stay. I will be returning to the Hard Rock Hotel upon my next visit to San Diego.

Thanks guys!
Steve From North Carolina

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for the comments. We'll be sure to commend Ryan and Shaun and look for forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Business Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.