We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel San Diego to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep With the Fishes
Ranked #59 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
1 review
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Everything was excellent. I have no complaints. The location and value were excellent. I appreciated the passes to the club i was given upon check in. I would gladly stay here again. The location was great. I really enjoyed the proximity to so many good restaraunts, bars, attractions, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words. We'd love to be able to give you a five star experience next time, so if you'd like to let us know what we could have done better, please email me: mdufour @ hardrockhotelsd.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    675
    237
    106
    99
See reviews for
223
631
137
930
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent some time there in the summer months and upgraded the room. It was worth the upgrade as it turned out to hold a few more people than we had anticipated. The hotel is definitely geared for a younger crowd that like their parties. We were there for a concert so that may have had something to do who it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We like think we offer a little something for all age groups, but we definitely do have a youthful vibe. We hope you can come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A hit was the availability of adjoining rooms so our young adult members of the family could have their own space. Another hit was being able to have a guitar in your room throughout the stay to play at leisure. The rock memorabilia throughout the hotel is very interesting and worth taking a look. The lobby is minimalistic in decor and really not a place to linger.. Concierge service was spotty and information was not always current. The nightclub is popular so quite noisy on the weekends when we checked in. Loved MaryJanes, the casual, rock themed restaurant.. french fries were so so but the rest of the food we sampled was all very good. Evening and late night service was superb and made you want to come back.( as opposed to breakfast which was ordinary). The bedrooms were comfortable... the casual chair in our room was visibly wearing. The two nozzle shower heads took some getting used to but we liked the large bathroom with adequate sundries. The rooms facing the front of the hotel and therefore the trolley line will bring you significant noise sometimes into the night so we had some difficulty with that.

Room Tip: not the trolley side as it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and are especially stoked that you took advantage of our PICKS program (free Fender guitar rental). We would never be satisfied with our concierge service being described as spotty, so we will sit down with our concierge staff to see where we may have gone wrong. Thanks again for sharing your experience with us. We hope you can make it back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whittier, ca
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a great hotel in an even better location. The staff and rooms were top notch, as was the entire hotel. Very nice pool area. Only drawbacks were the noise at the lower floors from the club, and small common area. There are dozens upon dozens of great restaurants located with just a few blocks, as are shopping areas. If you like that younger, hip style to your hotel, this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room in the back of the hotel, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to make this post. We're stoked that you enjoyed your stay! We do have two nightclubs on property that do get very lively, usually on the weekends. We will always do our best to place guests on a high floor or accommodate a room move whenever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at The Hard Rock San Diego for 12/26 for 4 nights..2 rooms since we were traveling with kids 13,10 and 9. It was clean...fun and in the perfect location. My 13 year old son loved overlooking Petco Park..home of the Padres. We were able to walk to many places to eat which we really enjoyed. It is expensive to eat at the hotels restaurants but we are from NY so nothing really shocks us anymore....overall, I would highly recommend this hotel..loved the memorabilia, as well.

Room Tip: Overlooking Petco Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strive to give each guest a "5 star" experience so we were glad to read we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Having been to the Hard Rock Hotel, San Diego, on numerous occasions, I've definitely had the pleasure of interacting with some of the most extraordinary (for all intents and purposes) staff in the hospitality industry in California. Nearly every time I go to HRH SD, I have a remarkable experience. From security (Head of Security-Matt), to the front desk (Nick- who is relatively new, but was VERY hospitable), to the new Guest Services Manager (Shaun Edwards- who provided Peninsula/Centurion-level customer service)....it's these key team members that make me want to choose Hard Rock Hotel over any other [pathetic in comparison] hotel in San Diego. I will continue to patronize this establishment, as well as recommend it unequivocally to my close friends and family, who can also appreciate exceptional service and substance.

Room Tip: Rock Star Suites are definitely worth the extra few bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for the kind words. We will definitely pass along "props" to everyone you mentioned. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here only one night during a two week vacation. I had never been in a HRH before so I really enjoyed displays of rock star memorabilia in the lobby and other places in the hotel. When we arrived it was hard to figure out where the check in desk was because there wasn't a desk, just kiosks. It took a few minutes for someone to notice me and check me in. (My husband was parking our car in a nearby garage - do not use the valet parking, much too expensive!) I didn't feel very welcomed at first and then the fellow who helped me with my bags was asking too many questions to try and make conversation. They do have your favorite music playing in the room when you enter, that was fun. We had a standard room which was decorated in a modern way which I liked. But it was small, although the bathroom was big and I loved the shower. The room was clean and the bed was luxurious! My main complaint about the room was that the closet was too short; if I had been there for a conference or business trip my pants would have been wrinkled. We did use the gym in the morning and it was well equipped. Overall it was a good experience. We used airline points for that stay; otherwise we might not have gone there because it is pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Business Hotel in San Diego
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.