We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get On the "List" & Save
Ranked #61 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Chula Vista, California, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had an awesome time here and will definately be coming back. I also was treated very well. i will be reccomending this hotel to all my friends and family. the rock shop was very useful also for having soda on hand. Perfect views and romantic since i was with my girlfriend that enjoy them more then i did haha :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,051
    432
    162
    87
    87
See reviews for
165
470
122
653
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I had a getaway night on a Saturday at the Hard Rock. Service was exceptional from check-in to check-out. After a speedy and friendly check-in, we easily found our room on the top floor with a balcony and view of Petco Park. Our room was comfortably furnished and trendy. Loved the double shower! We had a quick drink at Float, the hotel's outdoor bar, and was able to enjoy the fire pits and view before the club crowd arrived. The hotel is perfectly located in the Gaslamp Quarter and an easy walk to the bars, restaurants and clubs. We had a great dinner at a Thai restaurant recommended by the very helpful and friendly concierge staff member. We ate breakfast onsite at MaryJane's and it was fantastic! The food was excellent, complete with a very well made Bloody Mary.

I have to say although we were only there one night, we would definitely stay again. There is a very energetic and fun vibe at this hotel and every member of the Hard Rock team we encountered was so friendly. We've stayed at many chain hotels where it felt like staff was going through the motions, but every one we met at the Hard Rock really made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just decided to have a quick stay-cation seeing as we only live 30 min away. The Hard Rock always makes us feel like we are really getting away though. The staff is amazing and super helpful. The vibe of the hotel is always chill and we always meet cool people when we stay here. We had a great time as usual and will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We decided to go to Sea World during the Thanksgiving holiday and wanted to stay at a GREAT hotel and that we did. The Hard Rock Hotel in San Diego's Gaslamp District was fantastic! Thanks for everything...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank YOU! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hard Rock hotel is the best hotel in Gaslamp. It is in the heart of everything going on, The amenities are amazing, the pool party during the summer is like vegas in San Diego. The service from The time you get there untill the time you walk out is world class. I've stayed in many hotels due to traveling constantly for work and I can say that when in San Diego I will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We hope come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

From the minute you walk into the Hard Rock, San Diego (right by the Gaslamp district)...you know you're going to have a fun time (even if it's for work!)

Upon check in, you get asked what kind of music you like so that when you enter your room, it's playing. A great touch!

The rooms are extremely modern, very funky. I was assigned a room with a shower but switched to one with a tub and both rooms were lovely.

The hotel has a GREAT bar which gets really lively at the weekend, a fab coffee shop for a breakfast stop off and a pool bar which wasn't open when i visited due to the time of year.

The spa has some fab offers mid week and the treatments they offered was varied and well priced. The spa itself was very lovely and felt very seperate and relaxing in comparison to the rest of the hotel which was bold.

Would love to stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
What a great write up! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this. We hope you come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Hard rock for two days for fun. It was what we expected. The hotel was nice, clean and the room that we were was really neat, the location is right at gaslamp where all the bars and restaurants are. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I arrived at the hotel before my friends and the reservation was not on my name, so I could not checked in but the girl that helped me out at the front desk Deborah was really friendly and knowledgeable. She gave me some suggestion what I should do while I was waiting for my friends arriving at the hotel and she took my number to give me a call to let me know that they arrived.I definitely would recommend this hotel and I can wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely higher floor rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks for posting this. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll be sure to pass along your shout out to Deborah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock
Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Diego
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
#61 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Amex, Venere, Otel, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.