We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic access to convention center, gaslamp” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel San Diego to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic access to convention center, gaslamp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed there for one night (a Saturday), our first in town, while attending the ESRI conference (then moved to another hotel for the rest of the week - wanted to try out the HR and could only get one night at the conference rate). Stayed with my 9 month old baby and a friend.

PROs:
Mary Jane's is fantastic for breakfast and right downstairs - big plus. Also the convention center is right across the street, as is the trolley stop. You can't beat the location.

CONs:
Yes, the HR should probably not be your first choice when traveling with a baby. I knew this going in. If I had been traveling without a baby and in the mood to party, it would have been more enjoyable. But I would say that if you want to sleep sober you might want to choose a different hotel or just make sure you end up on a high floor. The noise was very loud, even in the room, up until about midnight and then it actually got louder. I was on the 3rd floor so maybe it's not such a problem higher up. And maybe it's only bad on Saturday, but I doubt that being the gaslamp. The gentleman who helped us with our bags saw the baby and warned us, but also said they were full so there wasn't going to be anything they would be able to do about the volume. Again, self inflicted wound but I wanted to give the place a try.

The mini-bar had not been checked when we checked in. We were contacted after checkout to try and charge us for items which were missing from the mini-bar. We explained about the mini-bar not having been checked before we got there and the bill was taken off our credit card without any issues.

The shower and bathroom area are pretty big and lovely. The bedroom is tiny - very little space to move around the bed. I don't think I would have been comfortable spending much time in the room with 2 people in the room - 1 might be the max.

I would only stay there again if I could get some kind of confirmation that I would be on a higher floor. For the money and convenience of access to the convention center, I think I would choose the Omni next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We do read every post and take them all very seriously. We're sorry that your stay with us was anything less than fantastic. Traveling with a little one is always tough and we're sure the noise didn't help matters. We always try to accommodate a room move whenever possible, especially in cases like yours, but unfortunately sometimes it's just not possible due to high occupancy. We do hope that you stay with us again. If you call a few days before you check in to request a high floor, we will do everything we can to make sure that happens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,587
    775
    269
    121
    102
See reviews for
266
727
145
1,083
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for a conference held at the Hilton a short walk away. The hotel is ultra modern with tons of music memorabilia hanging around. That's fine. Service was attentive. Very comfortable bed. Good shower once you figure out how to turn on and off the dual shower heads. The mini bar is outrageously expensive. Really. But at least the prices are there for those dumb enough to partake. Example is the love kit (or whatever it's called) for $28. Some lotion and condoms. Enjoy. Also, the tenth floor where I stayed ALWAYS had a funky smell in the hall. It was around the door leading to the staff elevators. I stayed four nights and the smell was there every day and every night. No, I didn't complain, which is my fault, but I'll mention it here since I see that the management reads TripAdvisor reviews. You really should address this. Overall, I'd stay her again in spite of the funky smell. Nice location close to the gaslamp district and hundreds of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. You're right, we DO read each and every Tripadvisor review and take our guests' comments very seriously. Of course we do hope that guests communicate any concerns while still on property so we can address them right away and improve their experience, but we will definitely investigate the reason for the smell issue you had and do whatever it takes to fix the problem. Obviously funky smells are not acceptable! We're glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope you come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayland,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

this hotel was great, the restaurants at the hotel were delish. If you just wanted to sit and relax you could sit by the pool or in one of the bars. The rooms are spacious and the beds were comfortable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Jennifer in the VIP lounge was so helpful and accommodating and Bertha in housekeeping went over the top to make our stay great. They made our stay great instead of good. We were using a free stay and instead of making us feel lesser for it, Jennifer made us feel like real VIPs. Bertha offered to get our ice for us and was above and beyond!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Awesome! We want each and every guest to feel like a VIP when staying with us. We'll be sure to pass along your comments to Jennifer and Bertha. Thanks so much for mentioning them by name so we can recognize them! Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I booked this hotel via the "mystery" deal on Expedia for a stay during a conference at the convention center. I was pleasantly surprised when I checked in. The room had lush carpeting, a great view and location, and trendy and comfortable furniture. There was a huge mini bar (I've never seen so much alcohol in a hotel fridge), a well stocked snack bar, and "interesting" items for purchase, like a intimacy kit! (massage oil, shimmering powder, etc.) This really reflects the fun party vibe that this hotel is going for. Even though I was there for a conference, I appreciated the trendy nature of the hotel and thought the party-oriented youth checking in on the weekend were humorous. I had to take one star off for the noise level though. Wednesday and Thursday nights were fine, but the bar in the hotel was hopping Friday and Saturday night, and you can certainly hear the bass up on the 6th floor. It kept me up on Friday, but I was so tired on Saturday it didn't disturb my sleep. Perhaps try to get a higher floor if you're a light sleeper? Highly recommended for its location, and fun level, even if you aren't in town to party!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor if you aren't there to party, and try to get a room on the opposite side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We always welcome feedback from our guests - good or bad. We do strive to always have a fun atmosphere that anyone can enjoy, whether you're a business traveler or a local San Diegan just coming down for the weekend, so we're glad that you understand and appreciate this about our hotel. We do try to do everything we can to limit noise issues, especially on the weekends, and always try to accommodate room moves. We hope to have you back again soon and definitely feel free to call ahead and ask for room on a higher floor next time. We're more than happy to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at the Hard Rock in October for 3 nights and absolutely loved everything about it (helped by getting a great deal on the rate). If you haven't stayed at a Hard Rock the concept is as you would imagine and everything was done very well. The whole feel of the hotel is young, cool and sleek, from the lobby all the way to the rooms, which are very comfortable and trendy. We had a room on the 11th floor and the view was impressive, Coronado Bridge is a great backdrop. Had breakfast in the Mary Jane Cafe downstairs, which was very nice and reasonably priced.

I would say this is the perfect hotel for young couples or groups as it is in the heart of the Gaslamp District with perfect access to the many restaurants, bars and clubs and is very lively during the evening. The pool area was great and well worth spending a few hours lounging here. From my perspective the only downside was not being here on a weekend as that is when it really seems to pick up and get lively in the club downstairs but if I travel back to San Diego I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 11th floor room had a great view and was high enough to avoid too much noise from the club downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Wow, thanks so much for your glowing review. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Room was gorgeous- sleek, clean modern suite in a great location. The bathroom was a little odd, however. The toilet room has a frosted glass door and doesn't give much privacy. The management is a different story. I was slammed with hidden fees when I was told my card would be used for 'incidentals'. I was charged for using something in the mini bar which was NOT the case. I would NEVER pay $5 for a bottle of water. I disputed the charges but they wouldn't remove either charge. Lastly, I left an item in my room and it has been a series of being placed on hold, transferring and getting the run-a-round every day for a week with no answers. Very frustrating. It was a good one time experience but I'll never go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We've chatted with our housekeeping and security staff about your missing item, but unfortunately they were both unable to locate it. We do have a very firm polity in place for left behind items and adhere to this diligently. Regarding the hidden fees, our front desk agents are instructed to give each guest a run through of any charges that they'd incur, and our finance department is always available to discuss any bill disputes over the phone. It did seem that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us, so its unfortunate that these two issues sullied your experience with us. We do hope you'll give us another chance to wow you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.