We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool And Impressive Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel San Diego to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep With the Fishes
Ranked #54 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Cool And Impressive Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at the Hard Rock in October for 3 nights and absolutely loved everything about it (helped by getting a great deal on the rate). If you haven't stayed at a Hard Rock the concept is as you would imagine and everything was done very well. The whole feel of the hotel is young, cool and sleek, from the lobby all the way to the rooms, which are very comfortable and trendy. We had a room on the 11th floor and the view was impressive, Coronado Bridge is a great backdrop. Had breakfast in the Mary Jane Cafe downstairs, which was very nice and reasonably priced.

I would say this is the perfect hotel for young couples or groups as it is in the heart of the Gaslamp District with perfect access to the many restaurants, bars and clubs and is very lively during the evening. The pool area was great and well worth spending a few hours lounging here. From my perspective the only downside was not being here on a weekend as that is when it really seems to pick up and get lively in the club downstairs but if I travel back to San Diego I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 11th floor room had a great view and was high enough to avoid too much noise from the club downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Wow, thanks so much for your glowing review. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    700
    245
    108
    100
See reviews for
239
674
140
955
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Room was gorgeous- sleek, clean modern suite in a great location. The bathroom was a little odd, however. The toilet room has a frosted glass door and doesn't give much privacy. The management is a different story. I was slammed with hidden fees when I was told my card would be used for 'incidentals'. I was charged for using something in the mini bar which was NOT the case. I would NEVER pay $5 for a bottle of water. I disputed the charges but they wouldn't remove either charge. Lastly, I left an item in my room and it has been a series of being placed on hold, transferring and getting the run-a-round every day for a week with no answers. Very frustrating. It was a good one time experience but I'll never go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We've chatted with our housekeeping and security staff about your missing item, but unfortunately they were both unable to locate it. We do have a very firm polity in place for left behind items and adhere to this diligently. Regarding the hidden fees, our front desk agents are instructed to give each guest a run through of any charges that they'd incur, and our finance department is always available to discuss any bill disputes over the phone. It did seem that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us, so its unfortunate that these two issues sullied your experience with us. We do hope you'll give us another chance to wow you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Husband and I had a blast there. Room was great and everyone is friendly. Club 207 was awesome. Just a few problems though, $35.00 day to valet and drinks were way to expensive. Looked at my bill and was charged an extra $17.00 day (for what I dont know) waiting for an itemized bill. Other than that had a great time there and enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post about your stay with us. We're so glad you liked the room, the club and our staff! Regarding the valet parking cost, it's priced competitively with the rest of the hotels downtown, but there is also a secure lot right across the street that is available for about half the cost of valet. Additionally, the $17 a day charge is for use of our gym and access to wifi anywhere in the hotel as well as our business center. Our front desk agents are instructed to tell each guest about this fee upon check in, but perhaps whoever checked you in failed to mention this. We will be sure to talk to the front desk team about the importance of explaining this fee. Thanks again for your feedback. We read each and every one of these reviews and take them very seriously. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a great hotel for a conference. Just across the street from the San Diego Conference Center. The best breakfast in Mary Jane's restaurant. The best hash browns I have ever had. Within walking distance to the Gas Lamp Quarter which has all the restaurants and bars anyone would need. The trolley is just steps away and can take you to all major shopping areas within 20-25 mins. Hop a ferry and go to Coronado Island. This hotel is the heart of it all and only steps away from an exciting fun time in San Diego. Clean rooms spacious and quiet. The best!

Room Tip: Make sure your room is NOT above the nightclub esp if you are there on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Wow, thanks for the great review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotel is very trendy, music memorbillia throughout, they ask you what kind of music you like at check-in and have it playing in your room when you get there. Clean and comfortable. The location is fantastic!!! Right near the harbor and at the entrance of the gaslamp district. Great club inside the hotel. I had money stolen from my purse that was in my hotel room. Not nearly enough light in the room or bathroom. Can't work at the desk if the TV is on as the TV sits on top of the desk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're so glad you enjoyed the hotel. Our security team is aware of the missing money and the director is personally doing an investigation to try to resolve the issue. Thanks for your patience in dealing with this matter. We hope to have it resolved asap and hope you'll come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a beautiful modern hotel with staff so cool it's almost painful, though they couldn't have been more gracious or welcoming. Check in was painless and smooth. They ask you what kind of music you want greeting you in your room so that you feel at home.

I had a room with a queen bed, a view of downtown, overlooking the pool deck and exterior bar. The modern room was very comfortable, immaculately clean, and quiet. I had a room right next to the elevator, and it was still very quiet. I heard no plumbing or mechanical noise, and the hallway stayed quiet as well, but for one loud group that went through in the early evening, but apparently didn't return to the floor or were significantly quieter when they did return. There was a long, low desk, flat screen tv, leather chair for the desk, plenty of power plugs for devices, and drawers for storage. The closet had an automatic light and was large enough for my luggage, so I was able to stow everything away and keep the room spacious and uncluttered. The bed itself was large and very comfortable, and I got a great night's sleep.

There's a little wear and tear on the custom furniture and room corners, but minimal and not unexpected considering the hotel's location and busyness.

The bathroom is beautiful, very clean, with room to stow toiletries and extra towels as well. The glass walled shower had both a wall fixture and a ceiling fixture, so you can choose how you'd prefer to shower. My kids would have enjoyed trying both fixtures.

This hotel could not be closer to Petco Park and is on the outskirts of the busy Gaslamp quarter. It's close to the Convention Center,and also close to the airport, so taxi fees are reasonable. If you are staying for a couple of days and not traveling far or off the beaten path, you won't need a car, as public transportation is extremely convenient. There's a bar downstairs that gets a lot of traffic, and apparently has an enforced dress code. There's plenty of nightlife in the Gaslamp itself, if you're so inclined.

I found this to be a really nice place to stay, and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I found the room very quiet - overlooking the pool deck. There was no event held there when I was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, and the TripAdvisor community. We couldn't be more pleased that you enjoyed your stay enough to give us this great write up. We hope you are able to come back and stay with us again soon. Next time, try checking out a free bike for a cruise around downtown San Diego, or maybe a free Fender guitar to rock out in your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent hotel. Great location, walking distance to everything (Ball park, convention center, tons of bars and restaurants). Beautiful perfectly kept modern rooms, excellent room service and nice rooftop deck.
If I had to find a downside: there was an unexpected $17 extra charge, but for what.......not sure.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank your for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay. The charge you mention gives you access to the gym, 24-hour business center, and wireless internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Business Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Amex, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.