We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool vibe with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel San Diego to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep With the Fishes
Ranked #57 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Forest, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool vibe with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at the Hard Rock San Diego for four nights. This is not your standard business hotel. Rooms have a modern, hip feel. Staff members are casual but extremely friendly and helpful. Location is outstanding - right in the Gas Lamp district, across the street from the convention center, a block from the baseball stadium, and close to the Bay. Excellent restaurants abound. A very unique property. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    678
    239
    106
    99
See reviews for
228
639
138
932
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just returned from a business conference at the Hard Rock in San Diego. I thought the staff was excellent; they were very helpful and friendly --- and all very nice looking! The food was EXCELLENT. I had room service delivered one night, in addition to the meals provided for our conference.

The memorabilia around the hotel was cool: handwritten letters from musicians, original, handwritten songs by the stars complete with cross-outs, etc., great pictures, signed instruments, and musician's costumes are all over the place.

The room itself was just okay: I got the sense that they don't keep up on the maintenance as they should (granted, it's a Hard Rock Hotel, so who knows what kind of partying goes on in these rooms --- I guess all the maintenance could get a little expensive!) For example, my toilet paper holder was loose on the wall, and each time I used it I thought the toilet paper was going to fall off. I only had one wastebasket in the room, which was very inconvenient. I actually had to bring it out and leave it in the doorway between the bedroom and bathroom so it was close to me wherever I went. The maid didn't pick up on this, though, and I spent the entire 4 days with just one.

I ALMOST bought a Snicker's bar from the snack tray, but when I picked it up it was sticky on the bottom, like someone might have spilled a drink on the tray or something. My room was right in front of the T line, so every so often I heard the whistle as the train went by.

No coffeemaker in the room! This really sucked, since I had to get dressed and go down to the lobby right out of bed! Another pet peeve of mine (maybe not yours): no sleep mode on the remote.

Other business associates said they could hear the partying at the club all night long, but I didn't hear anything, since my room was probably not right on top of it.

Can't comment on pool, spa, area attractions, etc., since this was a business trip and I didn't use any of these.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is located near the glasslamp quarter, so a nice location, unfortunately you can hear the trains passing by in the early morning. The rooms are newly made, offer a very cool look and are clean. The hotel is very modern, the service is ok, but could be better. There is only expensive valet parking available. The meeting rooms are very nice and modern. The price is a little to high.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A different hotel compared to the normal 4-5 star hotels. Sunday was the Last Intervention Sunday which brings a large crowd. Security is very good, the hotel is located in the gas light area near restaurants & bars. A fairly young crowd. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Only down is there are no coffee pots in the rooms. A nice hotel, I would recommend and return

Room Tip: The pool area can be loud so if you plan on turning in early choose a floor above 6 or away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We enjoyed the attentive staff and modern accomodations of this hotel. We stayed 4 nights in King Suite, which was very comfortable. The location was perfect across from the convention center and in the Gas Lamp Quarter. All of the staff were helpful and polite, in particular the room service personnel. The pool bar was a great outdoor atmosphere to hang out at night (not on a weekend). The only negative was the noise from the hotel and street below on Saturday night. Overall, would recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at Hard Rock with a group for a Bachelor Party and couldn't have been more satisfied with the accommodations provided by Hospitality staff. Jeremy was extremely helpful in planning for our large party's stay. I would recommend this hotel for both large groups or a romantic stay for 2 any day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed two nights in two rooms. Great atmosphere, clean and quiet rooms. Ate at the restaurants on property and they were pretty decent, served late after we came back from a night out on the town which was perfect. Valet and Bell was fast. Check-in was a breeze.

Room Tip: Get a suite, they're definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Business Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.